We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super hotel for a family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A super hotel for a family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Hotel El Greco is situated almost on the beach in the beautiful resort of Portinaxt in Ibiza. This alone makes it an ideal destination for families, especially if you have opted for an all inclusive holiday. You can take advantage of the beach facilities and then pop back for a drink and a snack. It is a beautiful picturesque beach, which lends itself well to paddling, swimming and water sports. Hiring a pedallo with a slide and using it as a base for swimming in the sea is highly recommended. The rooms at the El Greco are clean and budget smart. The food is varied and well presented; and the restaurant overlooks the fantastic scenery. The evening entertainment is cheesy at best but hey, this is seaside cabaret; it's best just to go with it, while you sample the plethora of ready made cocktails on the bars.

Room Tip: Don't rely on your holiday rep. to give you all the information on the hotel. There is a kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    567
    244
    76
    36
See reviews for
995
293
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first visit as a family my husband and our three year old to portinaxt, having been to beautiful Ibiza lots it didn't disappoint. Portinaxt is the quietest resort very little there but the beach is lovely and very pretty.

This was our first all inclusive holiday and it was fantastic for our 3 year old lots of ice cream! El Greco is in a brilliant spot right on the beach but there are lots of steps which would have been hard with a buggy. The waterpark across the road is small but as it was part of the hotel really kept my little boy entertained.

The rooms are small but immaculate and the maid service was brilliant fresh towels everyday and a lovely good sized balcony. The pool is very small but we went to the beach and waterpark so it wasn't a problem.

We had a great holiday but the reviews of the restaurant are really accurate. It can be like feeding time at the zoo with one restaurant, the food was ok breakfast lovely, salads beautiful, struggled a bit with evening meal. However the man who runs the restaurant is comedy gold he is so miserable and quite honestly should not be working in hospitality he gave me indigestion!!!!

The entertainment was alright but my little boy loved the kids disco so it didn't really matter!

I would well recommend portinaxt for a chilled out family holiday (the fish at the beach are amazing) the hotel needs a few tweaks but we had a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mharri1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed two weeks. Me and hubby with 15 year old daughter along with friends and their 16 year old daughter. The previous review says it all re rooms etc We were so looking forward to a relaxing break in a quiet resort. This is exactly what we got. The resort has bars restaurants and souvenir shops, but it is not a resort for those seeking a seafront strip of shop after shop selling the same old stuff and loads of bars showing Corrie and serving roast dinners, thank goodness! The hotel was clean and well run. All staff were friendly, Many having worked there for some years. The food was varied as other reviews have said. Can't think of any food type that wasnt available. We left on the 25 th July by which time there were lots of families. The restaurant became noticeably busier, but to be expected. Best entertainment was the fire juggler but maybe for the wrong reasons! Most nights though we took a stroll to the Zulu lounge or the beach bar above where the banana boat trips leave. Yes, we had to pay for our drinks but it's a lovely spot by the waters edge and they need people to leave their all inclusive occasionally so they can survive and keep the resort alive. We ate out twice locally as were celebrating a birthday. Ince at the chinese and once ar the restaurant that sits almost out over the sea lovely views.This is a low key and beautiful area and, although it may be too quiet and small for some, it was the chilled out break we all needed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriginalBabyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Returned on 25th July - for those of you that have read worrying reviews on this hotel dont panic:- 1) there are 27 steps to the beach, there is a reason why you dont build hotels on beaches, they would fall down !! It takes you 2 mins max, and there is a wooden paths leading you to the cental beach area to stop you burning your feet and a rinse off shower for your beach exit at the end of the day. 2) The food selection is really good, at least one traditional spanish dish, always cooking fish &/or meat on a hotplate, one traditional english plate, freshly cooked pizza plus really good salads, two other hot dishes and soups (plus fresh bread daily). Entertainment is geared 100% towards kids, upto 10 year olds will love it (beware of the juggler - you will understand if you were there !!). Rooms ultra clean and indeed the cleaners seemed to be cleaning all over the hotel all of the time. Just makes for a good family hotel. We dont tend to return anywhere twice as we like to see somewhere different each time but would consider going back here !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed there one week last sept,Hotel clean staff polite and obliging,entertainment fair,drinks very poor quality food was ok but not much room round pool or hotel and ended up at Hotel`s waterpark most days for a sunbed and away from stereo type British tourists and few odd germans.Portinax is a lovely small resort with lovely seaviews and beach and some nice walks(short)and good bars/resturants nr by the only thing that lets it down is this hotel. not a Hotel i`d ever return to or recommend to anyone i liked.too many Ron`s and Wendy`s for our liking whom return year after year. also there are quite a few steps which might be a problem for some people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently returned from the El Greco with my family (children 5 and 8 yrs) where we very much enjoyed our stay. I found the hotel spotlessly clean and the staff all helpful and friendly. The beach is beautiful and very child friendly with shallow, calm, clear waters full of inquisitive fish. We visited several other beaches on the Island during our stay and I can't say I thought any of them were more beautiful or better suited for young children than the one at Portinatx.
Food quality was a little variable, I had the worst lasagne I have ever tasted but also several very tasty dishes. There was always a wide variety of food on offer, so there should be something to suit everyone.
The only negative would be the fact that the pool was very small and became extremely crowded, however, if you want empty swimming pools, a Spanish tourist resort in July is obviously the wrong place to look. Other than that, it's what you'd expect from 3 star, not luxury by any stretch of the imagination, but everything you need for a good holiday is on offer.
Kids loved the waterpark, but it has seen better days, not sure it would pass a UK health and Safety examination. Good fun though. Our youngest also enjoyed the kids club & "mini disco" but kids older than about 7 might not be so interested in these.
There was entertainment for adults each night but personally I'd rather watch paint dry than a 2nd rate Karaoke singer or a parrot riding a bicycle. Most of the people there seemed to enjoy it though, so if you're into that sort of thing it's probably OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elphin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Went for a week with my husband and 16 year old son, what a gorgeous resort and a good value for money hotel; we where fully inclusive. The hotel itself is spotless as is the area and the restaurant in my opinion has a choice for everyone, we were there for a week but I do feel if there any longer then the choice of food could become quite repetitive, but overall cannot complain. Our room had plenty of space; we were on the 2nd floor and had a double bed each!
The entertainment during the day and at night was good; the entertainers Patricia and Bryan worked really hard to keep everyone involved.
The pool area is a little small for the size of the complex as is the glass size of drinks but this would be my only sort of complaint for the hotel as everything else was FAB including the water park which is free to the hotel residents (we had a great time racing each other down the slides).
The Portinatx festival started on our 4th day there and included beach parties on the Saturday and the Sunday nights with a fantastic firework display on the Sunday.
Overall this was a great holiday with a really organized and clean hotel and I will certainly consider going back again. :)

Georgie xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
14.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
8.6 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel

Property: Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Address: Cala Portinatx, s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portinatx
#1 Green Hotel in Portinatx
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos el Greco Beach Hotel, adults only (+16), is located at the northern end of the island of Ibiza, in the heavenly destination known as Portinatx. The hotel sits right on the bay, with stunning views of the Mediterranean Sea and access to the white sand beach. In addition to enjoying some unbelievable panoramic views from the Seaview guestrooms, the restaurant and the pool, you can also spend your vacation time with fun and relaxation on the beach. Experience a completely different kind of Ibiza holidays filled with fun and tranquility, where you can enjoy time with your couple or friends, savor delicious local and international cuisine, and spend your days at the beach, the pool or the bars and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Portinatx
El Greco Hotel Ibiza
El Greco Ibiza
Hotel El Greco Ibiza
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing