We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartments Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Del Rey
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Much better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having read other reviews just before flying to Ibiza I was dreading arriving at the Del Rey apartments but I shouldn't have worried at all, the apartment was basic but clean and perfectly adequate, linen was changed every other day, we had a huge balcony with a great sea view. The kitchen was very small but we only used it for breakfast and making tea and coffee so it was fine. We had been to Portinatx before so we knew that it is a very quiet place and weren't looking for lots of entertainment, so it was ideal for our needs.The pool area is great. A very relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    104
    51
    20
    27
See reviews for
149
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

we have just came back from 2 weeks in ibiza portinax we stopped at the del ray apartments its the second time we have stopped there its lovely the pool is to die for overlooking the sea wow its beautiful the apartments are basic but clean cleaning and changing of towels is every other day we had a full fridge cooker hairdryer pans ect the room was very large we cant fault it the bed was very clean proper covers on the matress not for disabled people as there is loads of steps and its hilly in portinax if you want a cheap night go to boozy buys its a shop that sells alchol and you can sit outside on the chairs and get drinks we got a litre bottle sangria for 2 euros they give u a glass and a bottle samigel is only 95 cents its brill there is a toilet inside the shop it shuts at ten o clock but u can get as many drinks as u want and sit outside till 4 in the morning if u want its a beautiful place portinax i would say its not for the young ones the beach is lush 5 euros each for a sunbed and 5 euros 4 a umberella there is a restarant on the small cliff edge called jardin de mar the breakfasts are the best 5 euros and its so clean we will def go back

Room Tip: dont get a room upabove vincents bar as its loud try and ask for a sea view thats what we had briill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank christine1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Having read the other reviews before I booked I wasn't expecting too much, but thought it would be a cheap and cheerful holiday and I was determined to make the most of my stay. The holiday more than lived up to my expectations! The staff were cheerful and helpful and showed all new arrivals to our rooms when we first arrived. The apartments are in a great location, with trees and hills surrounding the beautiful bay and the beach is just across the road from the apartments. There are several restaurants, cafes and bars, a few little tourist shops and a small food store all within close proximity to the apartments. The pool and pool area is lovely and bar staff pleasant and cheerful.

This holiday turned out to be one of the most peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable holidays I ever had, whether that be relaxing on a lilo on the sea, having a ride on the little 'train' tour to a neighbouring town, or taking a ride on the glass bottom boat.

As others have mentioned, there were ants on the balcony and they did try and come in. Rooms were clean but a bit basic, but if you're the type of person/family who only uses your room as a base for sight seeing and exploring the area, you should have no problems and I tend to feel this type of accomodation only adds to the rustic Spanish charm of the place.

I went with family members in September as the main tourist season was winding down and although the weather was still perfect, the resort did feel like it was winding down for the season and I could imagine that you would need to hire out a car if you were to stay for longer than a week.

All in all a very happy positive experience and you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and two kids went Oct 2009 loved it so quite and peaceful we only went for a wk but going bck this yr for two so looking forward to it. The beach resturants cleaners apartment all get a thumbs up. The small kitchen area was just perfect to make something for a change rather than go out everynite. 20% off our food cause u stay at del Rey food is amazing. My hubby and kids r very fussy but this place defo won r hearts. We hve been to a lot off destinations I must admit del Rey has done it for me. So bring it on counting the wks...

Room Tip: It didn't really matter were we were top or bottom cause there is a lift which is Grt if u hve a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Myself my sister + my 2 young children (4 + 6) flew 2 ibiza in august of last year. The island itself is beautiful but the del ray apartments where far 4m what thomas cook betrayed it 2 b!!! On arrival we stood waitin 4 half an hour as our rooms were not ready. We had ants in the apartment which was not delt with + no air con just a rentable fan which cost a fortune so I went in2 another town + bought a fan 4 a fraction of the price. There was no entertainment through out the 2 weeks we were there, the hotel across 4m the del ray had entertainment nearly every day. The food is not worth the money they charge although the chinese resteraunt was lovely, I can honestly say it was a pathetic holiday I would never contemplate goin bk there!! The pool area was nice + had stunnin views but a holiday is not just about beautiful views. The pool bar staff were fab, really friendly guys. So all in all if ur thinkin of stayin at del rays, think again!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank saraharris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIO F, Director de Recepción at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Dear guest

Fristly we have to apologise for omiting a reply from us. Our trypadvisor system has been activated recently.

We would like to thank you for your opinion, and we would like to add that our apartments offer good value accomodation with the best views in town . Apart from that we are know for having the nicest pool area.
With reference to your comment about the arrival, apartments are ready from 14 pm according international rules.
We are sorry for not having entertainment available, we are a two star resort. In any time we offer to our holiday makers entertainment, this information is in the catalogue and you can have it prior to your arrival
We will be very happy if you accept our apologise and we thank you for your understanding,
We hope to meeting you in DEL REY APARTMENTS
Your sincerely
Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portinatx hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I hope you are reading this before you have booked this hotel! My husband and our 2 boys (8 & 4) spent a week in September here and would hate anyone else to make the same mistake.

First room we were given was absolutely stinking and were moved up flights of stairs (no Lifts once you are into hotel) though there is a lift up to hotel level. if you struggle with steps make sure you get a lower floor!

Swimming pool is freezing and salt water too which was a new one for us.

The hotel is really basic, old, and tired, and along with the 2 pubs in the resort(1 serves food) it is not the cheapest place to eat or drink, and as there is very few places to eat, you do feel a bit fleeced.

The resort is tiny only a small beach which is beautiful, with pedalos etc, and the 2 pubs already mentioned. Who do put on entertainment, quizzes kariokes and singers etc. There are 2 shops for groceries which are well stocked but pricey.

If you are going, hire a car and go and see the Island as it is lovely and like us wish you had booked one of the nice resorts!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

No one can dispute the beauty of this location, however how Thomas Cook can rate this 3 star is beyond belief, The apartment once you walked up the four flights was a disgrace, cleanliness not a strong point from the staff,Even having noted cleaner attended the apartment 3 times during our week stay, we still found a previous occupiers contact lens stuck to the bedside cabinet.Beds were the worst ive ever slept in squeeked every time you moved in it and dipped in the middle, comfort impossible to obtain. The only good point was the beautiful view from the balcony,Management need review the reception availability and what they deem is good customer service as I cant say I seen any of that.Pool was beautiful downside was the infestation of ants that crawled ll over the beds regardless where you lay.Would never consider a return to Del Rey and feel 1 star would be too much.

Room Tip: higher rooms have beautiful views of the surrounding area and are peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
14.7 mi away
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
#38 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#44 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
20.7 mi away
Puerto Cala Vadella
Puerto Cala Vadella
#6 of 13 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Del Rey

Property: Apartments Del Rey
Address: Cala Portinatx s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Del Rey 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Del Rey Portinatx
Apartments Del Rey Hotel Portinatx
Apartments Del Rey Ibiza/Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing