We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
19
4
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
4
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neil laughter host guests bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 26 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

We stayed at Tom-na-muidh House for 1 night only - unfortunately!
From the first moment we felt welcome guests in a lovely home.

We had the room with the en-suite bathroom. Both the room and bahtroom were very clean, very cosy. The bed was comfortable - we slept so well! The bathroom even had a bathtub.
The room cannot be locked, but we never felt unsafe.

There is also a separate living room for guests. The hosts lit the fireplace for us in the evening which created a very cozy air.

Neill and Hazel are really nice, we got to spend a great evening with including great discussions and a lot of laughter. Bob, the dog, is cute and very friendly.

Breakfast was good as well - everything you might hope for was there.

We'd go back anytime, we were very sad to leave after just one night!

Room Tip: Book the room with the en-suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank carofromzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Of our wonderful 14 days in Scotland, the three days in Dufftown with Neil and Hazel (and Bob, the dog!) were simply the best. We, a mixed group of four friends in early 40s, all brought back different impressions and favourite moments - but we all agree on that!
It started with a friendly email exchange to book both rooms, then a warm welcome at the house, a good recommendation from Neil for dinner and an evening together with our hosts in the pub - at breakfast the next morning we already felt like part of the family.
Hazel and Bob took us on beautiful walks around the town, we spent the evenings talking to Neil in front of the fireplace, we received great advice for our activities - otherwise we might have missed the Whiskytour with Melissa or the European Pipe Band Championchips. To cut it short: It was perfect!
Booking the eight different accommodations for our journey, I came to realize that the traditional B&B seems to have become rather rare - most places now seem to have at least 5 rooms and serve breakfast like a hotel. The Tom-na-muidh is a fantastic exception where you really feel "home from home". Whenever we return to Scotland - we'll make sure to return to Neil!

Room Tip: Double: w/ensuite bathroom (bathtub); Family: double plus single bed w/shared bathroom (shower), separate living room, portico for smokers
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina7489340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The rooms were comfortable and charming. Neil and Hazel were great hosts and very nice to chat with. And, Neil makes a terrific breakfast. Plus they have a great dog. Very convenient to the rest of Dufftown.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

All around good host. We booked over email, dropped off our stuff at 3:30 PM, went on a Whisky Tour later for most of the evening. Prepped us some amazing coffee and breakfast in the morning.

Definitely a good host and the next time I'm in the Highlands, I will definitely try and stay with Neil.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Neil took us in when we knocked on his door at 6:45 pm asking for a room. He gave us a fair price and showed us the room which had a single and a double bed. Got up the next morning and we each enjoyed a nice, hot shower. At breakfast and was joined by another couple. It had been quiet did not know anyone else was there. Breakfast was delicious and there was lots of laughter at the table that morning.
We would definitely consider staying there again if we make it back to the area.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank toothfairy8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews