We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dufftown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunvegan Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Remscheid
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed one night in the Dunvegan B&B and were welcomed very friendly by the owner Stuart. After visiting several distilleries over the day it was - especially for the driver - welcome to find a small bottle of whisky on each room ;-) Stuart gave us several information about Dufftown and where to eat in the evening. Thanks again for the nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Dufftown is famous for whisky. There are a small bottle of whisky in the room. The owner Helen was so kind and generous. But the room is very tiny and no window in the restroom.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 정민 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to Dufftown for my personal distillery tour. I drove all the way from Edinburgh after my 11 hours flight from Brazil and was greeted by Stuart with a great smile and a hot cup of tea. My room had 2 beds and the private bathroom down the hall is spacious and clean. I loved the bathrobe perk because this is not an en-suite. Breakfast is a dream made by Helen: perfect choice before your single malt tasting. I strongly advise you try the Scotisch breakfast with hagis.
Parking easily in front of the property and wifi works fine everywhere. Walking distance to Glenfiddich but what you cannot miss is Balvenie which is also very close.
When going to town for a meal book The Taste of Speyside and try the local specialties dish ( taste of speyside platter). I also ate at a French place in front of the clock. Had an awesome venison.
Thanks Helen and Stuart for incredible nights and this will be my place to stay when I return to the Highlands. And I shall return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was evident to me that the proprietors took great care to provide a good experience. I appreciated small, thoughtful touches in my room such as a luggage "rack" and dressing gowns for the shower. Importantly for an iPad-dependant traveler like myself, the wi-fi worked well. The bathroom down the hall had a wonderful shower with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was generous and eggs well prepared. The nicely decorated dining room featured Denby stoneware on real slate placemats. I also appreciated that the marmalade and spread were served from bowls instead of those unpleasant little plastic containers that most places provide. I especially enjoyed the vanilla yogurt and fresh fruit mix. The sitting room was notable for it's comfy chairs and decor. If there had been more to do in Dufftown, I would like to have stayed for another night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macarthur ACT Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a recent trip around England and Scotland. After a long day on the road we really appreciated the welcoming cup of tea and biscuits on our arrival. The rooms are clean, warm and comfortable with all the mod cons you need. The breakfasts are excellent. Helen and Stuart are the perfect hosts and know the area well. They were very accommodating in allowing us to have a continental breakfast before our early start on the road when we departed. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

On Saturday my wife and I stayed overnight in this B&B. From the start it all was superb. For a start it is a lovely looking building on a nice quiet street close to the centre. A very cheerful welcome frim Stuart and we were shown to a very attractive, clean and most comfortable room. The first nice touch was a small decanter of whisky in the room, very appropriate as Dufftown is the malt whisky capital of the world!

Another nice touch was a basket of chocolate and crisps on the landing with a honest bowl for your purchases. The bed was most comfortable and after a superb night's sleep a superb full Scottish breakfast set us up for the day ahead. Wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_reid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Helen and Stuart as always, welcoming,. helpful in every way with nothing too much trouble. Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Full Scottih breakfasts are a must - will last you through to evening meal which, if you arrange with sufficient notice, can be provided in the B & B. Can't recommend them highly highly enough. looking forward to returning at some point in the not too distant futuire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_W777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
4.0 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dullan Brae Accommodation
Dullan Brae Accommodation
#4 of 19 in Dufftown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Broomhead B&B and Cottages
Broomhead B&B and Cottages
#3 of 19 in Dufftown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conval House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dunvegan Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21 Macduff Place, Dufftown AB55 4AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunvegan Bed and Breakfast close to the centre of Dufftown your hosts Stuart & Helen aim to offer you first class comfort and hospitality. Dunvegan is a large stone built 19th-century house located close to the centre of Dufftown - The Malt Whisky Capital of the World. Dufftown nestles in a valley dominated by Ben Rinnes (840m/2755ft) and has the highest concentration of distilleries anywhere in Scotland. An old saying was "Rome was built on seven hills but Dufftown’s built on seven stills;" this no longer applies as there are now nine. Apart from distilleries Dufftown has something for everyone - golf, fishing, walking, wildlife, history, skiing and much more. At the end of your day exploring everything Dufftown and the surrounding area has to offer return to Dunvegan where all our rooms have comfortable beds and TV, tea/coffee making facilities, central heating and for your comfort in winter, electric blankets. We can offer 2 x double, en-suite rooms and a twin room with private facilities. We also offer our guests free WiFi internet connection. There is also a Residents lounge where you can sit and watch television, read the literature about Dufftown and its surrounding area or enjoy a conversation with fellow travellers. We also serve evening meals but these must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing