We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bathgate
1 review
“a little gem”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My Duich friend and stayed here for two nights and it was superb.
Local knowledge of Ian and Betty proved to be an excellant basis for enjoying our stay and walking in the area.
Banter was very enjoyable .... recommend this b and b as a great experience of true Scottish hospitality !!!!!
Annette and Sjak

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commandermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    41
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
316
33
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandello del Lario, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Excellent room and service, very good breakfast and very nice owners

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crivals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

It was lovely to be offered freshly made tea/coffee as soon as we arrived, and we were very happy with our attractive and comfortable room and well fitted and clean bathroom. Ian kindly booked a taxi for us for our evening event. The breakfasts were superb, and we enjoyed a look around the beautiful garden before leaving. Ian and Betty could not have been more friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAE60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

... Ian and Betty take our suggestion and increase their rates. When the Big Book of fabulous B&B’s is written a whole chapter will be devoted to Castleview. The breakfast was superb – the home made jam to die for. They also do dinner (with advance notice) which we didn’t partake of, but I’m sure would be fine. Well located, Ian will give you lots of day trip ideas if you ask. There is a private summer house out in the wonderful garden, which is available for some quiet time, or a few gin and tonics.

The Bedroom was good -big and airy, the bed comfortable.

We will certainly return, if only to confirm which is Bow and which is Tie.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zagbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Unfortunately we only stayed for a night at this wonderful little B&B near Dufftown. Ian and Betty were genuinely friendly and really made us feel at home. The room we had was tastefully furnished and decorated and had a large bed, TV, DVD and most of all a really nice and spacious bathroom. Furthermore the incredible garden has to be mentioned : a wonderful place to sit down and relax with a wee river just next to it. Finally, and to make it a perfect stay, breakfast Ian made was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightyMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed at the B&B as we wanted to be close to the distilleries, and reading the reviews castleview looked the best and im pleased to say we weren't disappointed! Spacious, modern and clean room. Very comfortable and quiet - so we could get a good rest after a long road trip! The breakfast was also fantastic and Ian was very welcoming, as many have mentioned. Overall a great value B&B!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abaker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Our room was clean, comfortable and well decorated in deep reds. The river rushes by next to the deck just outside our window. There are beautiful gardens to walk in (when it isn't raining!) The family was welcoming and very friendly. Ian, the host, is a great cook. We had a full breakfast there and dinner as well, since there isn't much going on at night in Dufftown. The main daytime activitiy in Dufftown is Whisky tasting and distillery tours. The B&B is a mile or so out of town. There is off street parking and clear signs on the road. The wireless Internet has a good strong connection. We had a lovely time and felt like we made new friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbtravelor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
6.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
237 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
180 reviews
5.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
2.2 mi away
Dullan Brae Accommodation
Dullan Brae Accommodation
#3 of 19 in Dufftown
65 reviews
3.3 mi away
Broomhead Guest House B&B
Broomhead Guest House B&B
#4 of 19 in Dufftown
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Address: Castle View Castle View Castleview | Dufftown, Dufftown AB55 4DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleview is a Visit Scotland 4 Star Gold Awarded Bed & Breakfast the only one to achieve this award in the heart of the Whisky and Castle trails of Scotland.  We are situated just outside Dufftown ,  close to some of the World Famous Whisky Distilleries the likes of Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Aberlour MacAllan, Glenlivet etc.Castleview offers superior en-suite accommodation comprising of one Twin /Superking room with spectacular views of historic Auchindoun Castle , one double/family room, and one double room, all individually furnished to a very high standard with luxury en-suite shower rooms. At Castleview you can expect a warm and friendly welcome, from your hosts Ian & Betty Sharp whether it be for 1,2 or 3 nights, in fact we pride ourselves on the relaxed homely atmosphere . The property is situated within a small valley bordering a small stream, their is a summerhouse in the garden where guests can relax with a glass of wine or perhaps a small dram from one of the many Distilleries close by. At Castleview, we aim to provide excellent value accommodation, whilst offering very high standards of quality and service, you can expect a high level of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty Scottish breakfast to start your day! Castleview also offers the convenience and the opportunity for a modern taste of Scotland. Our seasonal menu with locally sourced  produce is restaurant quality at affordable prices.As your hosts, Ian & Betty Sharp, we will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are happy to assist with local advice and recommendations on places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Castleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing