We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came to Dufftown to share Christmas with friends and discovering this wonderful B and B was a delightful bonus.
Ian and Betty are great hosts, hospitality,facilities and food are all the very best,thanks so much for helping to make our Scottish Xmas very special.
We look forward to a return visit.

John,Moira and Keryn. Thompson. Temporary Brits.
Real home is Blenheim New Zealand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi John .Moy , Keryn Glad you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas it was a pleasure to have met you all , we both enjoyed the chat's in the evenings and it was very informative ,makes us all the more determined to visit New Zealand in the future , maybe Louise will require a consultant for her B&B , thanks again for the book on your beautiful country ,
Hope you can both make it back to see us before you head back home .
Ian , Betty Bo & Tie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 660 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had planned to stay a couple of nights in Castleview B&B whilst working in the area before moving on further north. It did not take me long to realise I had found somewhere special to stay and so I decided to use this as my base and travel the extra mileage each day knowing I would be coming back to a wonderful evening meal and very comfortable accommodation. Ian and Betty are wonderful hosts and Ian's cooking is of a very high standard. I couldn't recommend Castleview highly enough. Look no further, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Hi Ken
Thanks for the great review it is very much appreciated, ,it was a pleasure having you and Gemma stay with us for a couple of weeks , we both enjoyed your company and the crack very much , it was good of you both to act as guinea pigs for my new menu for next year , hope it wasn't too bad
hope to see you in the future , have a Merry Christmas and a Happy new year when it comes , don't drink too much wine .

Ian & Betty Ti & Bo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We felt like cherished guests in the house. Very comfortable bed and quiet room, good parking, excellent breakfast and great value. We arrived at night and it was a little difficult to find in the dark, but we were jet lagged, so everything looked easier the next day. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moeqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for being so complimentary about your stay with us and for sparing the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to welcome you both and are only sorry that it was not for longer.

Kindest Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Finally found the time to write a review. Can't write immediately after returning, I have to enjoy the memory for some time before sharing it.

What can we say about our 2nd stay with Ian and Betty last September??? Just PERFECT as ever. Don't hesitate on booking a room, just do it.

They are just so friendly that time flies by. If you're in doubt about having an evening dinner, don't be. We ate there the first evening and decided to eat there again the evening after. We just couldn't decline an offer of fresh venison.

When you stay with Ian and Betty, you never have a dull evenening. You never know who you'll meet. The second night, the other guest were from Canada. We had some interesting conversations. :-)

Last but not least: the rooms and breakfast are just perfect. The perfect size, an excellent bed, fresh fruits in the morning at the breakfast table.

We're planning a new trip to Scotland in September. It's not yet definit, but when we are going, we are hoping on staying a third time at Castleview.

Ian and Betty, thank you for a perfect start for our holiday. Best wishes for Christmas, the New Year, and the upcoming wedding in the family!

Maarten en Femke

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FemkeVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Maarten en Femke
What can I say , what a great review , very much appreciated, it was great having you both stay with us again , it is like friends come to visit . Betty and i hope you will manage to get over next year and stay with us again ( the menu will have changed next year ,just working on it at the moment ) have a good Christmas and new year also , looking forward to the wedding and also the imminent arrival of our second grandchild . Take care Ian & Betty Bo , and Ti ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ian & Betty were the most gracious, welcoming and friendly hosts of any of the B&B's that we visited on our two week vacation through Scotland. We would definitely join them again at their lovely home and garden.

The accommodations were excellent: very clean room, great breakfast, and very peaceful. The glen next to the home has a wonderful sound of water flow. The gardens are beautiful to spend some time in.

Room Tip: We stayed in an en suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very lucky to find Castleview via the web. On arrival, Ian was there to welcome and help with our luggage. After a long journey it was good to know that we did not have to go out again for dinner. I don't believe the meal could have been bettered anyway. The same could be said for the breakfasts.
Extremely comfortable accommodation.
Great B&B - Great food - Great company

Bill and Paula

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had actually tried to book another B&B in Dufftown, but the couple had retired and referred me to Ian Sharp at Castleview. What good fortune for us! The upstairs "purple" room was large, nicely appointed and neat as a pin. Nice towels and toiletries also. NOTE: Take time at night to view the stars. It was most impressive - even to a couple of high altitude Coloradans!

The breakfast was excellent and the smoked salmon was a nice alternative and change of pace to the typical bacon, sausage, eggs, etc. But the real bonus is the optional dinner that Ian prepares. To say he is an "enthusiastic amateur" is an understatement.

After a long days drive it was nice to "stay at home" and dine on the smoked salmon/ asparagus/poached egg appetizer and the local venison loin. The venison was superbly tender and partner's sirloin was grilled to perfection. Dessert is a rarity for us, but we manged to share two after dinner. A gourmet feast indeed!

Ian was kind enough to arrange an advance reservation to tour the Balvenie Distillery, which was fortuitous since the tour is limited. I highly recommend the Balvenie tour for it's educational purposes, but also to give you a chance to dip your own personal bottle of 15-year old, single barrel, cask strength [59.5% ABV] malt whisky.

Castleview is not "in town", but close enough for a short drive [or maybe even an energetic walk] to anywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
6.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
263 reviews
7.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
64 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
619 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Old Manse B&B
#17 of 19 in Dufftown
2 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conval House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Address: Castleview, Dufftown AB55 4DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range: $106 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleview is a Visit Scotland 4 Star Gold Awarded Bed & Breakfast the only one to achieve this award in the heart of the Whisky and Castle trails of Scotland.  We are situated just outside Dufftown ,  close to some of the World Famous Whisky Distilleries the likes of Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Aberlour MacAllan, Glenlivet etc.Castleview offers superior en-suite accommodation comprising of one Twin /Superking room with spectacular views of historic Auchindoun Castle , one double/family room, and one double room, all individually furnished to a very high standard with luxury en-suite shower rooms. At Castleview you can expect a warm and friendly welcome, from your hosts Ian & Betty Sharp whether it be for 1,2 or 3 nights, in fact we pride ourselves on the relaxed homely atmosphere . The property is situated within a small valley bordering a small stream, their is a summerhouse in the garden where guests can relax with a glass of wine or perhaps a small dram from one of the many Distilleries close by. At Castleview, we aim to provide excellent value accommodation, whilst offering very high standards of quality and service, you can expect a high level of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty Scottish breakfast to start your day! Castleview also offers the convenience and the opportunity for a modern taste of Scotland. Our seasonal menu with locally sourced  produce is restaurant quality at affordable prices.As your hosts, Ian & Betty Sharp, we will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are happy to assist with local advice and recommendations on places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Castleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing