We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ian and Betty's Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had no idea where to stay in Dufftown, Scotland so a search led us to Castleview B&B. What a lucky find. Tucked just off the main road and only a few miles from Dufftown is this lovely and tranquil spot. Ian and Betty Sharp have created a masterpiece B&B; our room was spotless and comfortable, quiet and cheery. The beautiful en-suite was modern and sharply appointed. Beds were very comfortable.

We loved every minute of our stay and enjoyed the Sharp's hospitality. Ian showed us around their landscaping and we talked about hydroelectric power since they have a stream running through the property. Not so sure Ian has started the generating station.

You must stay here. This is a perfect location and outstanding B&B. You can't go wrong and that's a promise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navydisposaleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thanks for a great ,review , we try our best to make our guest stay as perfect as possible . have not started generating yet . look forward to meeting you again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 660 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed at the Castleview B&B with my parents and sister for one night on our recent trip. The house is very pretty and the garden is amazing. The 2 bedrooms are completely brand new and the bathrooms were very modern. Ian and Betty are great hosts and the breakfast was delicious! We would definitely stay again in a heartbeat. It's so convenient to numerous distilleries.
Kelly McCabe

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

First class service in a spotless room.
Just outside of Dufftown with great hosts

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Watson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Excellent hosts. Quiet streamside B&B on seldom traveled road. And it's true. There's a 12th century castle ruin outside your bedroom window. Cottage garden to sit in and listen to wild pheasants. Engaging hosts with a wealth of knowledge about local distilleries and diversions. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynotnosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Thank you for your review , i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and look forward to meeting you again in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Ian and Betty were embracing, knowledgeable and very helpful during our two-night stay with them. They have a great knowledge of all that Dufftown has to offer. They have done a wonderful with the award-winning gardens that sit next to the river nearby. Highly recommended. Oh and did I mention the view of the castle?

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2011

Thank you for your review , i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and look forward to meeting you again in the future, more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our favorite place that we stayed at during our 5 day trip through Scotland. The long and short of it is:
Pros:
- Ian is amazing. He arranged tours for us ahead of time at Aberlour and Glennfiddich, including the special Pioneer's tour at the latter. He also gave us great recommendations around town and stayed up at night to make sure that we got home safely.
- Breakfast is amazing. It is included in the rate and includes porridge, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a full plate of sausage, blood sausage, eggs, etc.
- Rooms. They are clean.. ours had a skylight in it. The bathrooms are huge.
- Value!
Cons:
- Slightly hard to find the first time around.. but no biggie.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2011

Thank you for your review , i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and look forward to meeting you again in the future, more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Ian and Betty are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and we were made to feel part of the family. The room was perfect, very nicely decorated and had everything we needed, and the garden and summer house is lovely. The breakfasts were exceptional: you will never leave the B and B feeling hungry!!!! The evening meals were top quality too. It was really nice chatting with Ian and Betty about the local area, which is beautiful. A walk to Auchindoun castle is a must. We will definitely be back next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2011

Thank you for your review , i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and look forward to meeting you again in the future, more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
6.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
263 reviews
7.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
64 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
619 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Old Manse B&B
#17 of 19 in Dufftown
2 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conval House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Address: Castleview, Dufftown AB55 4DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range: $104 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleview is a Visit Scotland 4 Star Gold Awarded Bed & Breakfast the only one to achieve this award in the heart of the Whisky and Castle trails of Scotland.  We are situated just outside Dufftown ,  close to some of the World Famous Whisky Distilleries the likes of Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Aberlour MacAllan, Glenlivet etc.Castleview offers superior en-suite accommodation comprising of one Twin /Superking room with spectacular views of historic Auchindoun Castle , one double/family room, and one double room, all individually furnished to a very high standard with luxury en-suite shower rooms. At Castleview you can expect a warm and friendly welcome, from your hosts Ian & Betty Sharp whether it be for 1,2 or 3 nights, in fact we pride ourselves on the relaxed homely atmosphere . The property is situated within a small valley bordering a small stream, their is a summerhouse in the garden where guests can relax with a glass of wine or perhaps a small dram from one of the many Distilleries close by. At Castleview, we aim to provide excellent value accommodation, whilst offering very high standards of quality and service, you can expect a high level of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty Scottish breakfast to start your day! Castleview also offers the convenience and the opportunity for a modern taste of Scotland. Our seasonal menu with locally sourced  produce is restaurant quality at affordable prices.As your hosts, Ian & Betty Sharp, we will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are happy to assist with local advice and recommendations on places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing