We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY LOVELY B&B ALOT BETTER THAN SOME HOTEL CHAINS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We went here recently for our mini-moon to Dufftown, the whole place is excellent and there is alot of nice touches that make it that little bit better than other b&bs. All the food we had was fantastic. We had one evening meal made by the owner Ian which was really good. Breakfast was yummy esp the black pudding. Being able to pick your own breakfast time is a plus usually we miss breakfast in other B&Bs due to the times set. Our room was fantastic, warm and clean. Loved the coffee cups for in room drinks. Ian arranged my surprise for my new husband of a bottle of champagne in the room for arrival which was good. Would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone who is going up to Dufftown alot better than the other ones in the town. Its a few miles out but if you have a car its no bother.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnsmum04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleviewdufftown, Owner at Castleview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

Thank you for your review , i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and look forward to meeting you again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 660 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

It was the ideal place for us to stay when visiting family in Dufftown. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Ian and Betty. Our rooms were so much more than expected - the kids loved the complimentary chocolates - everything you need for a short or long stay. The highlight of our stay was breakfast - amazing sausage and scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We found this B&B via Tripadvisor and read all the good reviews, but found much more than we expected. The utterly friendly couple Betty and Ian provided us with all we needed.
Betty even invited us to a private guided tour through Glenfiddich distillery. The stay was just perfect, clean and quiet. We had perfectly cooked dinner from Ian, which we very much enjoyed.
Thank you Betty and Ian for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECL-Salzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

A superlative B&B in every way: comfort, charm, style, hospitality, quiet, cleanliness, and location (if you prefer countryside to town----Castleview is nevertheless central and convenient to all the main attractions of Speyside).

Ian and Betty were so helpful and made us feel utterly at home in their delightful new cottage, where you can fall asleep literally under the stars to the babble of the nearby brook. We loved the garden, the spacious Castle Room with its luxurious king-size bed and its view to the romantic hilltop ruins of Auchindoun Castle. Tea and biscuits in the room and breakfast at your own time were real pluses. The spiffy shower-room is kitted out like the best boutique hotel.

All the right details in all the right places.

Thanks to Ian and Betty for a lovely stay, and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The yummiest, scrambled eggs ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurricate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Absolutely outstanding hospitality provided by Ian and Betty. Could not fault the place. Lovely setting alongside the river which is beautiful to listen to while going to sleep. Lovely garden and fantastic Whiskey distilleries just 5min away of which Ian provides transport to and from for a small fee. Very good value for money and fantastic fresh food. Highly reccomend

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haydenabercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Our stay at castleview was just perfect...:):)... The room was incredibly cosy and clean, the bed was soooo comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The whole place is incredibly warm and friendly and charming....Yes, i'm already a fan...After breakfast we had our coffee in the garden with ian and betty and had a lovely chat. They are sooo friendly and relaxed and nice people. My only regret is that we only stayed for just one night. Castleview deserves more.... In my next trip to Scotland i''ll spend some more time at castleview and in that very beautiful region. I recommend this bb to everyone and i plan in sending my parents, my friends and everyone i know there too...:):)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I was travelling myself to Dufftown on business and stayed with Ian and Betty for one night. I had a chance to look at the website quickly before I left and thought it looked very nice but my expectations were surpassed.

I was greeted by Ian on my arrival, shown my room and made a lovely cup of coffee to warm me up. The room was large, impeccably clean and modern. I spent a couple of hours relaxing before dinner after my lengthy drive before going down for my pre-ordered dinner. The prawns and steak were fantastic followed by ice cream and fruit. Heavenly!

Ian and Betty then invited me to join them in their living room where I enjoyed an open fire, lovely wine and great company. They made me feel very welcome and comfortable and we chatted for the rest of the evening.

I had the best nights sleep in months and was again spoiled by Ian with fresh fruit, scrambled egg and smoked salmon and toast for breakfast. On my departure Ian helped me to my car with my luggage. The service was first class. Ian and Betty are just warm friendly people who are naturally attentive and welcoming. I'm afraid there was nothing I did not like or could even suggest that would have made my stay more enjoyable. I actually felt rested and rejuvenated as if I had been on holiday the next day.

I will be going back in the summer to spend some time in their garden as it looks stunning. Unfortunately I arrived and departed in the dark.

I would and will recommend Castleview to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Thanks Ian and Betty for having me

Jonathan Adam

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biosafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
6.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
264 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
222 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Huntly
Castle Hotel Huntly
#1 of 3 in Huntly
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Old Manse B&B
#17 of 19 in Dufftown
2 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conval House Bed And Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Broomhead Cottages
Broomhead Cottages
#4 of 19 in Dufftown
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Address: Castleview, Dufftown AB55 4DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range: $107 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleview is a Visit Scotland 4 Star Gold Awarded Bed & Breakfast the only one to achieve this award in the heart of the Whisky and Castle trails of Scotland.  We are situated just outside Dufftown ,  close to some of the World Famous Whisky Distilleries the likes of Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Aberlour MacAllan, Glenlivet etc.Castleview offers superior en-suite accommodation comprising of one Twin /Superking room with spectacular views of historic Auchindoun Castle , one double/family room, and one double room, all individually furnished to a very high standard with luxury en-suite shower rooms. At Castleview you can expect a warm and friendly welcome, from your hosts Ian & Betty Sharp whether it be for 1,2 or 3 nights, in fact we pride ourselves on the relaxed homely atmosphere . The property is situated within a small valley bordering a small stream, their is a summerhouse in the garden where guests can relax with a glass of wine or perhaps a small dram from one of the many Distilleries close by. At Castleview, we aim to provide excellent value accommodation, whilst offering very high standards of quality and service, you can expect a high level of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty Scottish breakfast to start your day! Castleview also offers the convenience and the opportunity for a modern taste of Scotland. Our seasonal menu with locally sourced  produce is restaurant quality at affordable prices.As your hosts, Ian & Betty Sharp, we will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are happy to assist with local advice and recommendations on places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Castleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing