We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB!! FIVE STARS PLUS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“SUPERB!! FIVE STARS PLUS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

A superlative B&B in every way: comfort, charm, style, hospitality, quiet, cleanliness, and location (if you prefer countryside to town----Castleview is nevertheless central and convenient to all the main attractions of Speyside).

Ian and Betty were so helpful and made us feel utterly at home in their delightful new cottage, where you can fall asleep literally under the stars to the babble of the nearby brook. We loved the garden, the spacious Castle Room with its luxurious king-size bed and its view to the romantic hilltop ruins of Auchindoun Castle. Tea and biscuits in the room and breakfast at your own time were real pluses. The spiffy shower-room is kitted out like the best boutique hotel.

All the right details in all the right places.

Thanks to Ian and Betty for a lovely stay, and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The yummiest, scrambled eggs ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurricate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
96
296
33
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Absolutely outstanding hospitality provided by Ian and Betty. Could not fault the place. Lovely setting alongside the river which is beautiful to listen to while going to sleep. Lovely garden and fantastic Whiskey distilleries just 5min away of which Ian provides transport to and from for a small fee. Very good value for money and fantastic fresh food. Highly reccomend

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haydenabercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

Our stay at castleview was just perfect...:):)... The room was incredibly cosy and clean, the bed was soooo comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The whole place is incredibly warm and friendly and charming....Yes, i'm already a fan...After breakfast we had our coffee in the garden with ian and betty and had a lovely chat. They are sooo friendly and relaxed and nice people. My only regret is that we only stayed for just one night. Castleview deserves more.... In my next trip to Scotland i''ll spend some more time at castleview and in that very beautiful region. I recommend this bb to everyone and i plan in sending my parents, my friends and everyone i know there too...:):)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

I was travelling myself to Dufftown on business and stayed with Ian and Betty for one night. I had a chance to look at the website quickly before I left and thought it looked very nice but my expectations were surpassed.

I was greeted by Ian on my arrival, shown my room and made a lovely cup of coffee to warm me up. The room was large, impeccably clean and modern. I spent a couple of hours relaxing before dinner after my lengthy drive before going down for my pre-ordered dinner. The prawns and steak were fantastic followed by ice cream and fruit. Heavenly!

Ian and Betty then invited me to join them in their living room where I enjoyed an open fire, lovely wine and great company. They made me feel very welcome and comfortable and we chatted for the rest of the evening.

I had the best nights sleep in months and was again spoiled by Ian with fresh fruit, scrambled egg and smoked salmon and toast for breakfast. On my departure Ian helped me to my car with my luggage. The service was first class. Ian and Betty are just warm friendly people who are naturally attentive and welcoming. I'm afraid there was nothing I did not like or could even suggest that would have made my stay more enjoyable. I actually felt rested and rejuvenated as if I had been on holiday the next day.

I will be going back in the summer to spend some time in their garden as it looks stunning. Unfortunately I arrived and departed in the dark.

I would and will recommend Castleview to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Thanks Ian and Betty for having me

Jonathan Adam

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biosafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Our three nights stay at Castleview was great. We enjoyed the warm welcome, the great hospitality and the very delicous breakfast. The fresh fruit salad was just one highlight.

Traveling with young children was no problem. Our two years old son was reading books with Betty and Ian and our 9 years old son had his own room.
The rooms were very comfortable and the garden was so beautiful.

Ian was so helpful while we had trouble with our car and he also helped us with planning our daytrips.

We´d like to come back in future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobijanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

This was a fantastic B&B!! Betty was very warm, friendly and welcoming to my friends and me. The whole place was immaculately clean. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, modern, lovely, and everything worked perfectly. The bed was comfortable and I slept great. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful! I only wish I could've stayed more than one night and explored the beautiful area. We could see the picturesque castle ruin out our window. I can't wait to go back and stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Betty and Ian's home is really great! We stayed three nights and enjoyed ouselves very much. The house is on the outskirts of Dufftown, just a few minutes away from Glenfiddich distillery and other attractions. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great...the fresh fruit incredible!
We really loof forward to spend another weekend at Caslteview!
Thank you! Licia and Christian (Italy)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillieChri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
6.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
7.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Address: Castle View Castle View Castleview | Dufftown, Dufftown AB55 4DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleview is a Visit Scotland 4 Star Gold Awarded Bed & Breakfast the only one to achieve this award in the heart of the Whisky and Castle trails of Scotland.  We are situated just outside Dufftown ,  close to some of the World Famous Whisky Distilleries the likes of Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Aberlour MacAllan, Glenlivet etc.Castleview offers superior en-suite accommodation comprising of one Twin /Superking room with spectacular views of historic Auchindoun Castle , one double/family room, and one double room, all individually furnished to a very high standard with luxury en-suite shower rooms. At Castleview you can expect a warm and friendly welcome, from your hosts Ian & Betty Sharp whether it be for 1,2 or 3 nights, in fact we pride ourselves on the relaxed homely atmosphere . The property is situated within a small valley bordering a small stream, their is a summerhouse in the garden where guests can relax with a glass of wine or perhaps a small dram from one of the many Distilleries close by. At Castleview, we aim to provide excellent value accommodation, whilst offering very high standards of quality and service, you can expect a high level of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty Scottish breakfast to start your day! Castleview also offers the convenience and the opportunity for a modern taste of Scotland. Our seasonal menu with locally sourced  produce is restaurant quality at affordable prices.As your hosts, Ian & Betty Sharp, we will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are happy to assist with local advice and recommendations on places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Castleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing