We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an experience not to be missed!”
Pod Site
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pod Site
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Pod Site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dufftown, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EileenD38...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an experience not to be missed!”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Hillside Haven pods are situated with in walking distance of Dufftown and perfect for visiting one of the many whisky distilleries on the Whisky Trail. Glenfiddoch Distillery a short drive away and is next to it is Balvenie Castle. The pods are beautifully furnished and very high quality products have been used. We were in Ramblers Rest and loved our Hobbit type home for our stay. We were made very welcome by the owner. Eleanor, and would recommend the pods as a starting place to explore this beautiful, interesting area of Scotland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a positive review. Hope to see you again. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren W
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My Fiance and I stayed at Hillside Havens after buying an ITISON Voucher. Firstly we were very impressed with the ease of booking, simply by emailing and requesting when you wanted to stay, followed by a few exchanges and that was it all booked with no issues.
We arrived on the 5th of March for 2 nights, the "Beast from the east" had hit the weekend prior to our arrival but we didn't let that us stop us from having a great time. The owner Derek messaged asking if we were still able to make it, and then helped shove our car through the deep snow when we arrived.
The accommodation itself was outstanding, the bed was lovely and comfortable, and the sofa/ pullout bed was also very luxurious. We were blown away by the things provided, such as; Wifi, a Bluetooth speaker, great quality shampoo and shower gel, cleaning sprays, extra blankets, plenty of towels etc. They really did think of everything you could ever need on a stay away.
The location was fantastic, as the views were spectacular from the Glamping pods. Also it was just a 20 minute walk to Dufftown and 30 minute walk to Glenfiddich distillery.
We will definitely be returning and hopefully in better weather!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Thanks Lauren for taking the time to leave such a great review, we really appreciate it. So glad to hear that the weather didn't dent your enjoyment, and we look forward to seeing you in better weather, hopefully!... :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirdytwi...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Can’t recommend enough! Had an excellent two night stay in this pod. Comfy, cosy & spotless. Equiped with all mod cons and an excellent shower. The owners live nearby if you have any problems but don’t intrude. Great location with lots of great walking, distilleries and eating places nearby. Can easily walk into Dufftown in 10 mins where there are plenty of amenities. Would live to return sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee24
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay - so snug!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just back from a 2 night stay - it was lovely. Underfloor heating is amazing - we had no idea it had snowed overnight!! Lovely hosts and beautiful countryside. Pods are fab!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Hope to see you again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
66haze
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights last week and could not fault Hillside Havens. The Pods are a bit like a Tardis and appear small from the outside but are quite spacious inside and have EVERYTHING you could want. Spotlessly clean and very modern. Sitting area with sofas and Netflix on TV, dining table, kitchen area with fridge, hob, micro, toaster etc etc, separate shower and toilet and although the bed is in the main area it is made to feel separate due to a window like hatch and being in an arched area of the pod. These have been very well planned out. Under floor heating was amazing and even though it is February I turned it right down most of the time, very cosy. Amazing views and great decking/seating/BBQ area with fire pit. Short walk in to Dufftown itself where we found great food and hospitality in one of the local bars (The Stuart Arms). The hosts at Hillside Havens are on hand if you should need anything and are very friendly and accommodating. Cannot recommend this highly enough and we are now trying to sort out dates with friends so we can rent all 4 pods together!!!.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our pods, and that you are keen to return. It's great to get such positive feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we are doing right. Look forward to seeing you again. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally_K_24
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed here for 1 night and it was amazing. The location was so peaceful and super close to the nearby distilleries! The glamping pods were great; really modern as I think they had been built very recently. We were only the second people to stay in our one as I recall... anyway they had everything you would need! Clean, modern, fast WiFi, tv with Netflix, torches if you want to walk to the town at night, towels, complimentary soaps and shampoo..

I think they were really good value for money! We loved them and would like to return sometime.

Just a tip for travellers and to the hosts. I remember the hot water tap being very very hot.
Maybe a sign to warm guests would be good. Just in case a kid put the tap on full blast on hot :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Hi Ally, Thank you for the very nice review, we have tried to make the pods as comfortable as possible. Noted on the hot water, we have actually turned down the water heater thermostat so that its not too hot anymore, but will see about adding signs too. Hopefully welcome you back to Hillside Havens soon. Thanks Eleanor & Derek
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing