We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location but expensive drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mutiara Taman Negara
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Tahan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location but expensive drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, being right by the entrance to the jungle, although if you are staying at the other side of the river, it is easy, quick and cheap to get the park.
We stayed in a large family bungalow which was fine and had enough space for the 5 of us. It could do with updating but was clean and comfortable.
The food at the hotel was disappointing even though we given "free" breakfast and diner. The cost of drinks was very high, which meant that eating in the free restaurant was actually very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    440
    196
    83
    37
See reviews for
274
488
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had booked a 2 day and 1 night package with Han travel to Taman Negra. We wanted to stay in a chalet however none were available so we stayed in the guest house. The first day of the trip was long and we arrived at the hotel at 6pm, check in was very pleasant with very welcomed refreshments.

The grounds looked lovely and although we did not get chance to make the most of them and the location was fantastic as the hotel was on the edge of the national park. But my excitement was short lived when we opened the door to the guest house. The room was very dated as was the bathroom. We were only there for one night, therefore not using the room much, I would not have wanted to stay in that room any longer. The room was not very clean and due to large gaps in the building we had a lot of mosquitos flying around. I did not have a very good nights sleep as the room was not very relaxing.

The bar area was nice, although a beer (little can) was expensive, but this was the only place for a drink. The breakfast was tasty and there was a large buffet selection.

It is a shame the resort does not live up to the natural splendour of Taman Negara.

Room Tip: Book a chalet they looked in keeping with the surrounding area and has seating area so that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgina_walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in September and on the whole we enjoyed our stay - when we arrived, our room was unprepared and faced onto building works. We alerted the staff but it took two more attempts before the room was prepared satisfactorily and in the end The Manager intervened and changed our room for us and gave us dinner for the inconvenience caused - Actually, the reception staff were courteous and helpful, as were the restaurant staff. The grounds were lovely - we had a asked for a room away from reception (as per a preious reviewer's recommendation)..but actually, a room closer to reception is better - especially when you are walking back at night!
We used the park office to arrange trips - they are too expensive at the hotel. We also took our own beer and gin - the hotel charges a fortune for beer and spirits and they are the only place in Taman Nagara who have a bar so have a captive audience so to speak

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I went to Mutiara Taman Negara on last June 2013, yet the memories still lingers. It's a definite place for the city folks to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. The air itself are tremendously different. The hospitality provided by the staff were great. Especially Pn. Masni and also Chef Zam for their great company throughout our stay. Not to forget, both of our guides for the canopy walk and the night walk, Mr Hasbi and Mr. Joe, if I'm not mistaken. Their explaination was great. This won't be my last trip to Mutiara Taman Negara.

No worries bout the room as it is very clean and surprisingly, no mosquito.A great getaway from you normal hectic life.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryam_muzaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

A lot more comfortable than we had expected. Nice, big, air conditioned chalets with good character and comfortable beds. Buffet food was pretty good.

Staff were extremely friendly; the resort manager made a real effort to ensure that everybody was happy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve_and_Karen_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at Mutiara with my family for one night during our trip around Malaysia. The resort is very nice, chalets are clean, well equipped, the resort has a great location right by the entrance to the park. The breakfast was good, the personnel very nice and helpful. Kids loved the tapir, the boards and the deer walking around the resort in the morning. I can highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited the Taman Negara and we were staying at the Mutiara resort. The location is unique with the night walk path going around the outside perimeter of the resort. The chalet are very nice and clean even though a bit expensive; however there are less luxurious option but we booked to late.
Food at night is excellent and you can eat till late after the night walk, if you are coming to Taman Negara leaving KL in the afternoon this is very important. Breakfast was also good.

Overall a good value for money and for what we have seen around the only option if you want to sleep in the Park there is a wide range of services arranged by the resort but we had already arrange the trip through a tour operator from KL therefore I am not sure about the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 448stefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Tahan
0.0 mi away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danz Eco Resort
Danz Eco Resort
#3 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balai Serama Guesthouse
Balai Serama Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Jerantut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Villa
Nusa Holiday Villa
#5 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
#4 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Taman Negara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Taman Negara

Property: Mutiara Taman Negara
Address: Kuala Tahan, Kuala Tahan 27000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Kuala Tahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Tahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mutiara Taman Negara 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mutiara Taman Negara Resort, PahangDiscover the wonders of an ancient forest at Mutiara Taman Negara. Pitch tent or check-into this forest reserve and bask in the natural surroundings of the Taman Negara park. Mutiara Taman Negara, an eco-tourism Resort that offers a variety of accommodation types promises guests this unique experience with basic amenities and sufficient modern comforts. A virgin jungle expanse covering 4,343 square kilometres, Taman Negara was established in 1939 and is the largest park in peninsular Malaysia reputed to be The Best Kept Tropical Rainforest, thanks to its protected status. With minimal damage to this special ecosystem, Mutiara Taman Negara is dimly lit to avoid scaring off wildlife and conserves energy. Everything used is biodegradable and all the wooden chalet interiors are made of natural produce. Guests at Mutiara Taman Negara will wake to the drone of cicadas, the chirping of bird species new to them and a myriad of other unfamiliar sounds that form a consistent cacophony unique to rainforests. You will begin their adventure at your door step or veranda which makes a perfect perch especially for nocturnal sightings. Sighting wildlife outside the chalet is a norm and the fruit season attracts the most number of wildlife, from the mischievous long tailed macaques, the beautiful chestnut-breasted malkoha and the thorny porcupine to the gentle slow loris. The ancient life forms that blanket Taman Negara are impressive and during each visit, Mutiara Taman Negara gives its visitors the opportunity to glimpse at the flora and fauna species estimated at 10,000 plants, 150,000 insects, 25,000 invertebrates, 675 birds, 270 reptiles, 250 freshwater fish and 200 mammals. Some of the flora and fauna found in Taman Negara are rare or indigenous to this country. If you are not travelling with a group, you can plan your trip to Mutiara Taman Negara well before you arrive or enlist the help of guides at the Park Centre. Things to do at Mutiara Taman Negara include river cruises, guided walks, bird watching, fishing, swimming by waterfalls and night safaris. The world’s longest suspended canopy walk is the most popular activity in this rainforest and you have to be prepared to queue for a while. Secured 40 metres above the forest floor, visitors have a good vantage point from here and if lucky, you can sight some curious animals. The only people who are allowed to hunt and forage are its original inhabitants, the Orang Asli people who still live a nomadic lifestyle. They farm, fish and hunt in the park and nowadays play host to curious visitors armed with flashy cameras. The women may shy away but the men folk can put on a show with some advance notice. Travelling to Mutiara Taman Negara, guests can either do the four hour scenic drive down or board a coach from a designated location in Kuala Lumpur for a 3 hour drive down followed by a 3 hour boat trip down river ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mutiara Taman Negara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Taman Negara Hotel Kuala Tahan
Mutiara Taman Negara Jerantut
Mutiara Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing