We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for the money!”
Review of Yellow Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Tahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellow Guest House
Ranked #4 of 7 Kuala Tahan B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best value for the money!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Yellow Guesthouse for 3 nights. 3 people shared an AC room for only 50rm/day. The room, bed sheet and blanket were very clean. Wifi worked well even in our bed. Have hot shower as well. That's more than enough in the jungle. The owner is extremely nice and supportive. Highly recommended. The guesthouse has a new website at http://yellowguesthouse.wordpress.com

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
35
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
316 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Arriving in Kuala Tanah by boat, the Yellow house is just about a 5 minutes walk . We decided to stay in the new building, just 4 rooms in the new building. Huge appartment with aircondition, ceiling fan, private bathroom with hot shower for just 80 MYR. No TV. Wifi was promised , but it didn't work.
Very friendly helpful owner in the mainbuilding, just on the other side of the small road.

Room Tip: 1 st floor , nice view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ocarinhoso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Yellow Guesthouse is a few minutes from the river by foot. You walk behind the houses and other hostels as you arrive at the rivercrossing. We were very tired as we arrived. The owner welcomed us and handed over the keys. The family room was large for our standards. The bathroom was set up in a DIY style. But it all functioned. The AC also was nice to have. And we had it all for 80 ringit per night for the family room. In Mutiara you pay way more for the a little bit more comfort. So why stay at Mutiara as Yellow Guesthouse is a good alternative.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow! Horrible! Too hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowmilesapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Now we had an incident in this place and yet we can not recommend it enough.

After our 2 day trek in the jungle and our 1 night in a cave we came back exhausted. Unfortunately, we woke up in the night with baby cockroaches on our bed!!! it was 2.00 a.m. and we notified the owners. They were full so they could not put us in another room but they got rid of the bed and mattress, hoovered the tile floors and brought in brand new mattress' for us! At 2:00 in the morning! The place was gleaming and we were in the jungle so I don't blame the owners at all for the insects. Its their world too. It was a great response and if we went back we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This 4 star review is purely based on the positive mentality of the owner and the warm welcome we got upon arrival. He stuffed us full of the fruit Lyches and was so proud to offer free wifi he yelled it to anyone close enough to hear it! However, since the reception and (i believe) small dorm part of the guest house is seperated by a road from the main rooms (which is the yellow/white building pictured) the wifi had trouble reaching our room. The room itself was spacious with a/c but mediocre the rest of the way in terms of cleanliness and comfort. It did have an awesome big balcony overlooking a school but since we were there during the local holiday the balcony was nice and quiet for us to relax on. Also the location wasn't great with flashlights needed after dinner during the months nov - feb and muddy backroads to reach the place. With all that being said, outside the Mutiara resort on the other side of the river, Yellow guest house is probably the best place to stay in a very rundown Kuala Tahan.

Room Tip: We had the hardest time trying to contact the guest house before arrival to reserve a room (eventual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jur_en_Sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Taman Negara is a place people go to walk & hike through the forest and see some amazing natural beauty. It doesn't really offer much else and the accommodation and restaurants there are all very basic. If you go with this understanding you'll be fine.
We really liked the Yellow Guest House, it was spacious, clean, cheap and the host (Halim) was brilliant.
We did a few walks through the forest from here without a guide. The paths are clear, easy to follow and you can't get lost. Halim has maps and will tell you the best routes. We loved the whole experience and it is high on our amazing list.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights so that we could explore the national park. It is with 10 minutes walk of the boat drop off jetty and located centrally in the little village. Kuala Tahan is a small place so you really can't get lost or have to walk too far to find it. It's a village in the rainforest so all the accommodation is basic and simple. I heard lots of horror stories about some of the rooms in Kuala Tahan so we were pleasently relieved when we arrived at yellow guest house. Clean room, clean bed, hot shower and air conditioning or fan. Convenient location. All basic but clean. Halim the owner was such an interesting guy, we spent a lot if time chatting to him about Malaysia and the local people and area. A very intelligent guy who we really enjoyed talking too. He also gave us tips and information on where to eat, bus times and prices and knew how to get around cheaply so helped us no end. Great place to use as a base to explore Taman Negara.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Tahan
0.0 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Resort
Rainforest Resort
#6 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Danz Eco Resort
Danz Eco Resort
#3 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Villa
Nusa Holiday Villa
#6 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tebing Guesthouse
Tebing Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Guest House

Property: Yellow Guest House
Address: Kuala Tahan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Kuala Tahan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Tahan
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing