We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We 'll return for sure!!Excellent!”
Review of Marmari Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmari Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marmari
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We 'll return for sure!!Excellent!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had an great time at the hotel!We booked on Booking.com and took advantage of the 25 euro offer.Great view from the balcony to the bay of Marmari.Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly and kind staff.The Italian restaurant ''La Veranda'' situated on the dining's room balcony is absolutely to try, especially when dishes, of this quality and taste, is offered at a so reasonable price.Chef Luigi is amazing!! Large and well preserved garden and swimming pool!We will definetly go back!TOTALLY RECCOMENDED!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
21
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in September..Although it was low season we were offered an excelent service!Breakfast was great with a big variety of food to choose!We were mostly satisfied with the staff!They were really kind and always at our disposal!Helped us to rent a car and advised us a lot of fantastic beaches to swim!What made us a very good impression was also the swimming pool and the room cleanness.Not to mention the Italian restaurant!!!Absolutely reccomended!Although you can see that the building is old,it has been restructured and modernized.All in all we had a great time an for sure we would reccomend it to anyone!!!Hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex_sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agia Paraskevi, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

rooms from the 70s. Bad smell in rooms and bathroom sanitation. Good breakfast. Unacceptable service .. like to order from the bar by the pool and there was nobody! Not Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpap36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days..it was one of the most relaxing vacations experience I've ever had!The staff was really kind helpful and always at disposition..The room they gave us was clean wide and equipped with everything someone could ask for during his holiday!The food was also great!Breakfast with large variety of things to choose from.We strongly reccomend the italian restaurant!!!We had dinner there twice and we were absolutey satisfied!The pool was also very big and clean.All in all it was a great hotel were we had a great time!!Strongly reccomend it...especially if you want to relax!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gianniskorominas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
130 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights during our tour in southern evia. We knew that we were off season, but I expected a better situation. The door to the balcony didn't close and we had to change room. The second was Ok, but both rooms were smelling (cigarette??) and were a bit old-fashioned. Apart of this the staff was gently and the lobby bar very nice. Breakfast was for this occasion sufficient. I imagine that in summer things are better.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsterixThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The only way that I could really recommend that you stay in this hotel is if you were coming to Evvia without your car because it's very close to Marmari port. But even then The location and setting of the hotel is stunning with views across the Saronic Gulf (providing you have a sea view - the mountain view would be grim). The pool area is attractive and has a good sized pool.

However, the nicest thing I could say about the room is that if you'd checked in with the idea of committing suicide there's nothing here that's going to change your mind. The dingy brown and orange decor was possibly last updated during the Junta and the furniture and fittings had a barrack room feel to them. Breakfast was literally a bunfight with hordes of guests thinking that they were in a talent contest for how much food you could balance on your plate. Should you stay here then practice some elbow moves before arriving and abandon any notion of politeness. The orange juice was a shocking, powdered concoction that was pretty much undrinkable and the coffee tasted as if it had been made with the hot, bitter tears of a family who had spent their annual hoiday budget on this hotel.

Given the state of the Greek economy, the regular strikes and the consequent drop in tourism makes the fact that this hotel can still operate in this manner even more disgraceful. There is far better to be found on Evvia.

The staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidikraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We've heard from a friend who stayed here in July 2010, that the rooms (the ones not-looking to the beach, as we discovered later) were very decent and renewed recently so we decided on booking a twin-bed room there without much thought or search (what a mistake that proved to be!).

What we found almost made as laugh as, for the extreme price of 70euros, we got a room from the 1980's with one and only advantage...It's view! And that's Marmari view we are talking about!
I don't care if this was high season, because if this room costs 70euros in a low maintenance village of Greece, one would think that a room in Mykonos must cost around 1000euros...
The room although spacious, had dirty carpeting for floor a stiff bed and a tiny refrigerator. We could only close the shutters of the balcony by slaming them hard and fast because there was a screw (!!!) prevending them from doing so and when they were closed, a bright red light (transformed sunlight) would light up the room! There is no sound insulation at all! The windows are as slim (with wooden casing!!!) as paper, and you may hear every single sound made elsewhere through the walls!

Even then, all would be well if not for the outrageous looking bathroom, where you could barely stand in the bathtub without touching it's dirty with mold curtain. At least it had hot water!!!
It's pool looks great (and is big) but we got no experience of it 'cause as it seems there are kids there 24/7. :-P
The car park is not big enough for everyone, so we even had to park outside the premises once!

Tip1. Book it ONLY if the price is around 40-50euros.
Tip2. Book it ONLY if you don't care for a view and so book a room without a view of the sea. They are recently renovated.
Tip3. I am sure you will find better and cheaper rooms or hotels with little to no search.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malcom_Corley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmari
1.2 mi away
Evia Hotel & Suites
Evia Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Karystion Hotel
Karystion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karystos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel Karystos
Anastasia Hotel Karystos
#1 of 3 in Karystos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Saint George Hotel & Rooms
Saint George Hotel & Rooms
#1 of 3 in Nea Styra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.3 mi away
Celini Suites Hotel
Celini Suites Hotel
#3 of 5 in Marmari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
10.3 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmari Bay Hotel

Property: Marmari Bay Hotel
Address: Marmari 34013, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Marmari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmari Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the magnificent south bay of Evia island, this hotel offers you the simplicity and peace of a typical fishing village. Marmari Bay Hotel is built on a beautiful hill 350 metres from the port of the village. The grand building dominates the endless blue horizon of Marmari Bay. The hotel offers a wealth of facilities to maximise the enjoyment of your stay, including on-site gift shop, pool bar and free transfers to the nearby beaches of Zastani, Kokkini and Fijias. Business guests will appreciate use of the conference room, able to seat up to 100 delegates. At the end of your day we invite to you to join us for our colourful Greek folklore evening, where traditional Greek cuisine is served while authentic dancing takes place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Marmari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing