We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ON THE ROCKS! spectacular view”

Castella Amare Restaurant
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: On the Beach...With outside seating and spectacular views, dog friendly (On a leash please), South African restaurant with a Portuguese flavour
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ON THE ROCKS! spectacular view”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stopped at Castella Amare since I realized that it is now under new management/owners. The view is to die for. The service was a bit slow but the atmosphere was electric and chilled at the same time. What a beautiful restaurant, it felt like we were on the Mediterranean coast . I would suggest that they do starters that will compliment your wine or cheese platters will be a winner.
Our meals was above standard and some of the dishes a bit pricey but the view made up for it.
We had pizza and steaks. Was great! Thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KarahNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    35
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Awesome setting for a restaurant but food and service very disappointing. My husband send his fish back twice and left eventually without eating. The restaurant interior needs a bit of attention. Other restaurants nearby were packed and this restaurant was only a quarter full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KILIANM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Meal on the beach”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is an old house that has been converted into a restaurant. It is practically on the beach at Melkbosstrand. It is best to make a reservation, as we we just lucky to get a table when we pitched up. There were many reserved tables and the place seems very popular. We were not very hungry and decided to share a pizza. The service was snappy and we were not very far with our drinks, when our pizza arrived. It was very tasty and we enjoyed it very much. All-in-all it was a very good experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank asteffens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Table by the sea.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Kliphuis Restaurant has been sold & new owners have new name Castello Amare. The improvement in service & food quality/variety is very noticeable.
There is plenty of safe parking & no vagrants in the near vicinity so altogether a safe enjoyable night out. We left at 21h30.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous view and food”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went for a dinner at the newly re-launched Castella Amare this Friday and what a great night. The ambience is lovely, charming stone on the inside and sweeping views for sunset on outside. The service was friendly without being overwhelming, a good attention to my wine glass, which I always appreciate. And the food was simply wonderful. We had a caprese salad to start, which not only tasted lovely but had a great presentation, then fish and steak for a main, which we loved. Finally, a FANTASTIC mint and chocolate mousse for dinner, which had me licking the glass it came in. Overall, a wonderful meal to accompany a wonderful view. And, added bonus, much less wind than in town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C_O_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castella Amare Restaurant also viewed

Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Castella Amare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing