We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also average”

Castella Amare Restaurant
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: On the Beach...With outside seating and spectacular views, dog friendly (On a leash please), South African restaurant with a Portuguese flavour
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Also average”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had one lunch here. Nice enough food but painfully slow service. Never went back in three week stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonNSW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    35
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the rocks / Average food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Worth visiting. Great location and friendly staff. I will say the food was average! This is the place
for nice picture's for your holiday album. We sat inside next to a cozy fire, on this cold, rainy winters day.I just love the waiters sailor outfits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

For travelers this is very nice place. View is always nice. Food very good but higher in price than other local places. In warmer months outside can be annoying with flies because of nearby water. Service attentive and friendly. Nice compliment to local area

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location, terrible food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you want to sip a chilled glass of white wine while watching waves peeling across the bay, few better locations can be found.
But thats where the magic stops.
The menu is uninspired, (fish and chips, burgers, grilled calamari etc) as is the wine list, the restaurant is so close to the sea you can almsot touch it, yet my fish had been frozen. Both my friends' food was really terrible. (One of them was bought the wrong dish and its eventual replacement was rubbery and really inedible.) Such a pity, as this could be a really amazing restaurant, but it desperately needs a properly trained imaginative chef and visible management, fresh seafood and a bit of flair/inspiration. So enjoy the wine and view, then head off to a more delectable taste experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday celebration”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We celebrated my birthday at the Kliphuis on Saturday 16 March 2013. We enjoyed and amazing meal which was well prepared, courteously served with care and attention to detail. Our waitron was friendly attentive and she had a permanent smile.

Thank you for making the evening so special. You did not even know that it was my birthday which clearly demonstrated that the service and attention that we enjoyed was your normal high standard.

It was our first visit to Die Kliphuis and it certainly will not be our last.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castella Amare Restaurant also viewed

Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Castella Amare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing