We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveler rating
595
793
310
94
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
793
310
94
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly staff nice stay fresh orange juice hotel is located business hotel excellent hotel big room bath and shower the bus little bit free parking quality amersfoort highway minibar smoke facility
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed as part of a tour group for 2 nights. Therefore only expected average hotel.
In itself the hotel is good. Clean and spacious, especially the bedrooms all of which have a balcony !
The bedrooms although large are very poorly lit ! But everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were very obliging. Requested extra bedding which arrived promptly.

As we were part of tour there was no choice of menu. But the food was tasty, not gourmet stuff but adequate. Why do they think that the English must have chips ??
Our request for more veg was promptly met.

The bar service was poor. How can you run out of Gin ? The following night... Gin but no tonic.

Breakfast is buffet style and plenty of it. The usual bacon, eggs, sausage as well as the continental choices, cereals fresh orange juice several types of breads and rolls, croissant etc.

As a pre paid tour group I think that it was good value. Not sure I'd be so impressed if I were paying the full rate.

In summary, no surprises. Overlooks a lake which would be splendid on a warm day / evening as there is a huge terrace where drinks and food can be taken... weather permitting.
Also it is positioned just off the main A1 road route, so very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just returned from a week-end bus tour to Floriade, and agree with recent reports from people on similar excursions.
We have never been on a bus tour before so do not have any standards to measure the Van der Valk against.
Our room was comfortable and very large, but overlooked the busy motorway. When we arrived we did try to change our room in view of the noise from the motorway, but this was not possible due to the hotel being fully booked. However, at night, the motorway was quiet, and we were so tired from our travelling, and our day in Floriade, we were not aware of any noise at night at all!
Our toilet was facing (almost touching) the shower unit, so we had to take great care not to hit our heads on the shower unit wall, especially the sharp corner if the shower door was open. Tea facilities, but no bottled water; I do not like filling the kettle with tap water.
The two dinners we had were not good (vegetable soup, seemed to be a bowl of hot water with a sprinkling of chives or sliced leek floating on top). I suspect people on the bus tours were given a set menu, and I hope private guests could have opted for something more palatable. Breakfasts were good, but a bit of a bun fight due to the hotel being full and coach tours leaving at the same time.
Staff members were most helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the wing furthest away from the motorway.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tofiapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here while on a bus trip to Floriade. The hotel staff were helpful and the rooms were large and everything was very clean.There was hairdryers, refreshment trays and free wi-fi.
The only down side was the evening meal which was a set menu with the same pudding on both evenings we were there(icecream).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Along with 5 friends we stayed here in april. The rooms were large and clean. Staff very friendly. But the dinners we were served were terrible, packet soup, meat with tbe same sauce, ice cteam eeach nite and no choice. The breakfast food quality was good but a bit of a scramble.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is pretty good; the bedrooms are big so there is plenty of space to move around in, which is not very often the case in a hotel. The same goes for the bathroom. It was big and had a full size bath tub and a separate shower cabin.

The breakfast buffet is pretty good, there is a machine to make your own fresh orange juice, the coffee is good, and there is quite a selection of food: there were scrambled eggs (with or without mushrooms), sausages and bacon, but also a variety of breads and croissants that you can top with jams, luncheon meat and cheese. I've also seen Cornflakes and fruit smoothies. All in all a pretty decent breakfast, I'd say!

The hotel is located close to the A28 motorway, in Leusden, but close to Amersfoort. There was plenty of parking space when I was there. I came back late from a party once and noticed that the hotel doors were closed, but there was staff to let people in. That's probably a good thing for safety.

I didn't have to deal with a lot of the staff, but the people I spoke to were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews