We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to visit 2012 Floriade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Leusden
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leusden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Although we were on an organised trip through a UK travel company the Hotel was really a good choice, with delicious evening dinner, seeing as how the Hotel was catering for over 200 guests. The bedroom we were given was on the 6 th floor, quiet, light, and very spacious. With ensuite
Large bathroom, complete with shower cubicle and large bath tub, which was very welcoming after a long day of sightseeing and walking.
The hearty continental breakfast set us for our days outing, a firm favourite was the juice machine, where it gobbled up the fresh oranges and directly distributed the lovely squeezed juice, at appoximately three oranges to each glass.

Room Tip: We had a high floor room which was light, airy and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed as part of a tour group for 2 nights. Therefore only expected average hotel.
In itself the hotel is good. Clean and spacious, especially the bedrooms all of which have a balcony !
The bedrooms although large are very poorly lit ! But everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were very obliging. Requested extra bedding which arrived promptly.

As we were part of tour there was no choice of menu. But the food was tasty, not gourmet stuff but adequate. Why do they think that the English must have chips ??
Our request for more veg was promptly met.

The bar service was poor. How can you run out of Gin ? The following night... Gin but no tonic.

Breakfast is buffet style and plenty of it. The usual bacon, eggs, sausage as well as the continental choices, cereals fresh orange juice several types of breads and rolls, croissant etc.

As a pre paid tour group I think that it was good value. Not sure I'd be so impressed if I were paying the full rate.

In summary, no surprises. Overlooks a lake which would be splendid on a warm day / evening as there is a huge terrace where drinks and food can be taken... weather permitting.
Also it is positioned just off the main A1 road route, so very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just returned from a week-end bus tour to Floriade, and agree with recent reports from people on similar excursions.
We have never been on a bus tour before so do not have any standards to measure the Van der Valk against.
Our room was comfortable and very large, but overlooked the busy motorway. When we arrived we did try to change our room in view of the noise from the motorway, but this was not possible due to the hotel being fully booked. However, at night, the motorway was quiet, and we were so tired from our travelling, and our day in Floriade, we were not aware of any noise at night at all!
Our toilet was facing (almost touching) the shower unit, so we had to take great care not to hit our heads on the shower unit wall, especially the sharp corner if the shower door was open. Tea facilities, but no bottled water; I do not like filling the kettle with tap water.
The two dinners we had were not good (vegetable soup, seemed to be a bowl of hot water with a sprinkling of chives or sliced leek floating on top). I suspect people on the bus tours were given a set menu, and I hope private guests could have opted for something more palatable. Breakfasts were good, but a bit of a bun fight due to the hotel being full and coach tours leaving at the same time.
Staff members were most helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the wing furthest away from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tofiapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here while on a bus trip to Floriade. The hotel staff were helpful and the rooms were large and everything was very clean.There was hairdryers, refreshment trays and free wi-fi.
The only down side was the evening meal which was a set menu with the same pudding on both evenings we were there(icecream).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Along with 5 friends we stayed here in april. The rooms were large and clean. Staff very friendly. But the dinners we were served were terrible, packet soup, meat with tbe same sauce, ice cteam eeach nite and no choice. The breakfast food quality was good but a bit of a scramble.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is pretty good; the bedrooms are big so there is plenty of space to move around in, which is not very often the case in a hotel. The same goes for the bathroom. It was big and had a full size bath tub and a separate shower cabin.

The breakfast buffet is pretty good, there is a machine to make your own fresh orange juice, the coffee is good, and there is quite a selection of food: there were scrambled eggs (with or without mushrooms), sausages and bacon, but also a variety of breads and croissants that you can top with jams, luncheon meat and cheese. I've also seen Cornflakes and fruit smoothies. All in all a pretty decent breakfast, I'd say!

The hotel is located close to the A28 motorway, in Leusden, but close to Amersfoort. There was plenty of parking space when I was there. I came back late from a party once and noticed that the hotel doors were closed, but there was staff to let people in. That's probably a good thing for safety.

I didn't have to deal with a lot of the staff, but the people I spoke to were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here for over 2 years while working in Amersfoort
this is a good hotel ,the rooms are very big and comfortable
food in the restaraunt is of a high standard
good selection of beers in the bar with a friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russellh731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leusden
3.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1
1.8 mi away
NH Amersfoort
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 12 in Amersfoort
804 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Berghotel Amersfoort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Klepperman
5.3 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
9.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Veenendaal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Leusden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Leusden

Address: Philipsstraat 18, 3833 LC Leusden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Leusden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leusden
Price Range: $94 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Leusden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Van der Valk Leusden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Leusden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing