We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes charm, history and character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casona de Calderon
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Osuna
sheffield yorks.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oozes charm, history and character”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for 3 nights in April and it was a delightful experience. It has been sensitively and stylishly converted from a private residence (formerly a 16th. century inn). The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was perfect for getting around Osuna and our room oozed character and charm which seemed to be the case with most of them, since we stuck our heads round a few of the doors ! One slight drawback was the very limited choice at breakfast but all the plus points more than compensated for this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeats10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
107
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorthEast UK
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Gorgeous building, beautiful spacious room...an absolute delight to stay here. The co-owner Elena speaks excellent English and was enthusiastic about giving us the history of the Hotel. It was owned by her Grandparents, then parents and now her and her sister. They have done a wonderful job of turning it into an hotel and the service is friendly and helpful. A simple continental breakfast was included in the room rate. We would happily return here...and Osuna itself is full of charming and pristine streets, as well as the Calle San Pedro which is named as the second prettiest street in Europe.

Room Tip: We had room 14 on the first floor...spacious and quiet overlooking the courtyard with the small pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Love osuna such a character hotel in the Center of town ..the decor on the Center of the hotel makes u feel such so relax in there garden room whilst drinking tea and surfing the web..the people in the hotel makes u feel so welcome and helpful on everything about osuna..which has the second most important street in Europe..such history and its lovely..the rooms were clean and tastefully converted..love it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkans
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Driving from the Algarve via Seville to Malaga we needed a hostilry for the night, searching a couple of websites La Casona was selected. We arrived just after 9pm and greeted by the owner, she was very friendly and spoke excellent English.

The property is located opposite a small square right in he Centre of Town. The hotel entrance is terraced to the main street and once through the coaching entrance the reception opens up to an impressive Moorish style covered courtyard and galleried landing with a high walled open terrace with plunge pool beyond.

Our room was on the first floor at the front of the property. The room was large consisting of bedroom area (double bed made up of two singles pushed together) with high ceilings and exposed rafters, messanine with open wood treads leading to the second sleeping area above. Due to the ambiant outside temperature, of high 30s Celcius and the close proxcimity of the exposed roof tiles ths area was impossible to sleep in. This would have been our preference as it had a very small but full double bed. The wall mounted airconditioner was mounted approximately two metres lower down in the main part of the room meaning chilled air wouldnt cool the messanine.

Both beds were very firm bordering on hard and could have benefitted from some fuller pillows.

The room was thoughtfully decorated with some very nice thoughtful and interesteing period touches like the 15th century door used as a mounting placed under glass for the twin vanity sinks in the bathroom.

After freshening up we were offered a choice of location for dinner and we opted for the courtyard patio next to the pool.
Dinner was delicious as was the house Rioca, served by friendly and obliging kitchen staff who also spoke excellent English.

Breakfast and coffee was served outside again and was tasty and filling.

Would certainly recommend this place to others and stay again, however I would request a room with better air conditioning and a full double bed next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were looking for a reasonably priced, older stylish hotel while traveling by car through Spain. We were suprised at the quality, beauty and amenities at this boutique hotel. We were told the hotel was reconstructed from the current owner's grandmother's house and has a beautiful small courtyard and the rooms have high ceilings with exposed wood rafters. Well managed with clean and air conditioned rooms and a small pool. We had a very nice breakfast and chat with the owner and staff. It was also so nice to find a local owner who is so proud of their town, Osuna, and willing to promote all the wonderful historical and cultural features and events in the area. This would be a great place to use as a base for exploring the region and even the large cities of Sevilla and Cordoba.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had given no thought to visiting Osuna, Spain, a city of 16,500, (a 90-minute bus ride from Seville) until we came across a website for the Casona de Calderon, a small 15-room hotel and restaurant facing one of the town's many plazas, the Plaza Cervantes.

This 17-Century home, has passed through generations of the Calderon family. After an extensive -- and obviously expensive -- restoration, Elena Calderon and her sister Aurora, opened their 'museum hotel' to guests three years ago. In addition to providing information about the local area, Elena took us on a tour of the hotel, taking us through history as she pointed out Roman columns used in the courtyard, family photos, and museum quality art that fill the place.

We had booked a 'junior suite' for three nights, Thursday - Sunday, for a total rate of 270E (about $359US) in early November, 2011. Elena led us to our room through a bricked courtyard. Our 'junior' had been upgraded to a full 'suite', she explained. We would call the 'suite' a casita, or small house, that consisted of a table (for 8) and living room with television, half-bath on the main floor and a large bedroom with canopied bed and full bath on the upstairs second floor. The free wi-fi in the suite worked perfectly throughout our stay.

We began each day in the glass-roofed courtyard eating a European style breakfast that consisted of cold cuts, sliced cheese, fruit and toasted bread on which we poured large amounts of olive oil produced in Osuna and then added a large dollop of fresh tomato salsa (just as we had seen the locals do in various restaurants). It was served with tea or coffee; our favorite being caffe con leche, with the steamed milk added at tableside.

We ended each day in that same courtyard sipping a glass of Spanish wine -- a generous pour for 2E -- and watched the moon play hide and seek in the clouds.

The hotel's location made for an easy walk into the town's central Plaza as well as its street of mansions, (which shouldn't be missed). Using a map provided by the hotel we found both the Osuna City and Archeological museums. It was also a good location from which to walk -- a bit longer and uphill -- to the University and the Roman Necropolis.

The modern Volvo long distance bus that took us from Seville to Osuna cost 13.50E or $18US for the two of us. The 90-minute trip took us through spectacular countryside along the 'Ruta de Washington Irving' (Irving's trip Seville to Granada in the 1800's led to his book, "Tales of the Alhambra".) We used an Osuna taxi to get to the town's train station for a train ride to Malaga when our stay was over.

It was the Casona de Calderon that took us to Osuna the first time and it will likely bring us back to this part of Andalucia. It is a one-of-a-kind type of hotel and worth a visit, especially for history buffs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Travelnwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Hospederia del Monasterio
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Molino
Hotel El Molino
#2 of 6 in Osuna
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Duque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Marques de la Gomera
0.5 mi away
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#6 of 6 in Osuna
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Gates
Five Gates
#1 of 3 in Osuna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Calderon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Calderon

Property: La Casona de Calderon
Address: Plaza Cervantes 16, 41640 Osuna, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Osuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Osuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casona de Calderon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Casona de Calderon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing