We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 16th century village house with excellent modern accommodation”
Review of La Porte Valette

La Porte Valette
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Porte Valette
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful 16th century village house with excellent modern accommodation”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Behind the significant front Gate (a listed monument), there is a delightful 16th Century village house with lots of original features, with the rooms all beautifully recently renovated and decorated, and parking close by.
A lovely place to relax and enjoy the wonderfully slow pace of life. Once recovered from the stresses of the UK there are many things to do, and lots of beautiful villages within easy reach, all of those visited so far quite stunning.
Bernice is very helpful and breakfast was quite superb, with lots of home made jam!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2010

After many weeks of travelling to arrive at la Porte Vallette, with 2 tired children was like coming home in the beautiful south of France. Bernice and Norman went beyond all our expectations to make us feel welcome, and opened up there home to us like we were old and trusted friends. Nothing was too much trouble, from the movies they put on for the children, a warm fire, allowing access to the kitchen and laundry facilities, excellent tourist tips, conversation and fabulous self contained family accommodation.....in many regards it was a highlight of our trip through UK and France. Bernice and Norman are exceptional in their hospitality and commitment to the work they are undertaking in renovating their amazing property. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment we spent at La Porte Valette,

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PonyboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordogne, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Be prepared - this is still a renovation in progress! I was a bit shattered when I opened the beautiful porte to find a cluttered, untidy courtyard and a rickety staircase up to the main house. The newly renovated room we stayed in was very pleasant - big, comfortable bed and loads of hot water, but the rest of the house is still being worked on, so it is not so great. There is no parking outside the house (it is in a tiny road in the very old part of the town) but we there was lots of parking in a nearby square. Bernice is a very friendly, helpful person, so I hope they can get the rest of the property fixed up soon because then it will be a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleGee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entraygues
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Very warm welcome and the rooms have been beautifully renovated without going over the top. Comfortable beds and lovely en suite's. Village is not huge but full of all the shops you would need for a holiday, plenty of bars and restaurants and plenty to do within the area. Would love to come back in the summer as there is supposed to be lots going on.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entraygues-sur-Truyere
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Le Florentin
#2 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
35 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sainte Foy
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Riviere
Hotel La Riviere
#1 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Centre
Hotel Du Centre
#4 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel les 2 vallees
#5 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
35 reviews
8.7 mi away
Auberge Saint Jacques
Auberge Saint Jacques
#2 of 4 in Conques
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Porte Valette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Porte Valette

Property: La Porte Valette
Address: 8 rue Droite, 12140 Entraygues-sur-Truyere, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Entraygues-sur-Truyere
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast is located in a 16th Century nobleman's house in the centre of the old village of Entraygues sur Truyere in the department of Aveyron in the Midi Pyrenees. We offer three rooms, one a family room with a small kitchenette but available to couples as well as families and the others are doubles. All rooms have private bathrooms with hair dryer, rooms are also electrically heated and have tea and coffee facilities. The bed and breakfast is located up a wide stone staircase and straight into the heart of the home, our kitchen. The rooms are along a passage at the rear of the kitchen. We have a dining room and front room, both available for our clients, the front room has a television , and there is music and dvd's for clients use as well as games, cards and puzzles - there are no televisions in the letting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Porte Valette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing