We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fast and Buzzing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pizzaiole

Le Pizzaiole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fast and Buzzing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were told by our rental villa book that this was a good restaurant. It is. They open at seven, when we arrived and were shown to a table. We were a party of six, four adults and two teenagers. The service was brisk but friendly and the food was excellent. We had moules frites, pizzas pasta, and some puddings all washed down with the house rose. By seven thirty they were already full and a queue was forming at the door. The atmosphere was buzzing hive of activity, occasionally the chef would come out and inspect the diners and then return to the kitchen nodding his head.
This is a family friendly restaurant and we sat next to several tables with children of various ages and vehicular transport without observing any issues. This is a very popular restaurant which I would recommend to anyone, as long as they are happy in this exciting and unpretentious environment. Turn up early or be prepared to queue!
Would definitely go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    211
    68
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with fabulous views over the yacht marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a restaurant which has become a real institution in Cavalaire. It has had a refurb and looks much smarter than before, but the food is still brilliant quality and the service is really friendly. The place literally buzzes with happy diners of all ages and nationalities. Sitting outside on a warm evening with delicious food and Provencal wine is a memorable experience. In the winter, sit inside and enjoy pasta and more wintry dishes. Don't forget - you may have to queue to get in, but it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent pizza, rudest staff in France. Won't be returning.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After having a decent meal here last year, we were hoping for the same again. Unfortunately it wasn't to be as we were treated in a less than polite manner from the moment we walked in. I can only assume this was because, unlike last year, our party had two infants with us this time.
We requested a table outside with space so as to not disturb other customers, to which the member of staff who first approached us agreed to. Moments later a very rude Frenchman in a polo T-shirt came over and tried to kick us off the table as there wasn't 6 of us.

About 20 mins later, as we were about to tuck into our starters, another man approached and in a very rude tone demanded that we move our pushchairs from where we had parked them as they were encroaching on another table. I could understand the disturbance if there were people at the table or indeed there were customers who wanted to sit there, but there wasn't. The table was vacant the whole time we were there.

The staff saved the best for last though. As we were leaving, two more male members of staff came to clear our table. Granted, we'd left a bit of a mess as is expected when dining with young kids, but the older man (who was curiously dressed in chef whites) started ranting in an angry manner in French. Unfortunately for him, my wife speaks fluent French and translated every word. I won't repeat what was said but needless to say he was extremely insulting. His colleague noticed that my wife was translating and urged his older colleague to stop insulting us, but the man just looked up and insisted that we had left. He was wrong, we were still there.

We come here every year and won't be going back. Nor will we be going to the other places owned by the same people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restaurant to visit. Great house wine and fantastic fresh food. Had a long weekend and ate here with my family twice, both times, a great warm welcome and good service. I had a huge pizza the first time and then salmon pave which was a beautifully cooked fillet with vegetables, rice and a little upside down soufflé, served with a salmon/shrimp sauce. Both meals were approx 30.00 euros per head. Great desserts, best one is the sharing one for two people @ 17.00 euros consisting a of tiramisu, creme brûlée, trifles and fruit salads - really nice.
I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely go back when visiting the town again.
Biggest recommendation is that other restaurants around the harbour were empty whereas this place was heaving!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss Pizzaiole when you're in Cavalaire-sur-Mer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Since I have a holliday apartment in Cavalaire, I visit this small, charming town 6-8 times a year and never miss a meal at Pizzaiole.

It's located in the hart of the harbour (which is very busy from easter until september/october) and - especially the terrace - offers a great view over the bay and the landscape around the town.

You'll find a wide range of dishes, emphasizing on italian dishes like pizzas, pasta and risotto - but also some great fish and meat dishes as well as local specialities like bouillabaisse, aioli provencale etc. There is also several great salads on the menu - which normally is a big meal in it self; if you're having salad as a starter, ask for an extra plate and share.

The prices are average, but if you want good value, ask for the set lunch menu (Monday-Thursday from 12:00 - 14:00). You will be served a starter, a main and dessert/cheese - always delicious food for around € 16.00 - a bargain!

The restaurant is normally quite busy, but the service is always friendly!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morten Kielland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pizzaiole also viewed

Cavalaire-Sur-Mer, Var
 
 
Cavalaire-Sur-Mer, Var
 

Been to Le Pizzaiole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing