We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed so much we went twice in 3 evenings”

Restaurant Delicatessen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under the reeds, facing the sea, amidst an exotic garden, a relaxing atmosphere, the Delicatessen Restaurant offers seasonal cooking, tasty and full of color. Here vegetables, fish, meats are cooked traditionally cooked or grilled to offer you all the flavors of the Mediterranean. Find out if not already!
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed so much we went twice in 3 evenings”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The best Cote de Boeuf we have ever had (much better than Hix London)

Efficient, charming and friendly service.

Small place a chef and one waitress.

Somewhere to take your time and savour your meal.

We also had Monkfish in mushroom sauce and scallops.

Lots of fresh local produce.

Tables inside and out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    180
    36
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing and over priced.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our first time eating at this restaurant and our last. The food was nothing to write home about and the total bill 60E for a single course for two people plus one drink each was definitely not value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fab food! Great service!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The restaurant is on the seafront of Cavalaire sur Mer with lovely views of the sea. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The menu although not extensive is cooked to perfection. Our group of 5 had different dishes and all were just perfect! During our 2 week stay we went there 3 times and enjoyed each occasion. Wish we were still there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank krissy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Did not touch the spot for us"”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After reading all the good reviews on this site for this particular restaurant we could not fail to give it a try. Holidaying in this area every year and getting around most of the food establishments this one really did let us down. We had the 'Menu du Jour' which was entreco'te, smashed potatoes and salad. Salad was okay, entreco'te was mostly grizzle, and for some unexplainable reason the smashed potatoes magically turned into rice! On bringing this to the attention of the waitress, blank expression as said, "no explanation" No dessert 'rum baba' which would have liked to try, so we had a deconstructed tiramisu instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Liked it so much, ate there twice”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The promise of authentic cooking/fresh ingredients was the immediate draw for us and they did not disappoint, On our first visit we had a simple 3 course lunch for €16; unfussy but efficient service, a choice of just a few dishes from the menu. Razor clams weren't on that day because catch had been poor.

The focus here is on the chef/food. It is so obvious this is cooking with passion. We returned a week later for dinner to try the evening menu and were glad we did. It was a quiet Tuesday evening and the chef served up 6 different mains all of which looked like they had been prepared from scratch, and each as important as the other. It's a pleasure to eat somewhere where they really care.

Only one observation - other reviewers' comments about the Rice pudding - had me expecting something amazing. It was certainly very nice, but not quite like an olde english style homemade one - but then I am not French....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Runthatbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Delicatessen also viewed

Cavalaire-Sur-Mer, Var
 

Been to Restaurant Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing