We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in quiet village with friendly staff and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed for a week at this hotel in the last week of August in a family suite ("L'OUSTAU DE JEANNETTE ").

Location:
A nice spot. The hotel is located in the centre of Cabrieres, a village in the hills about 10 miles north-east of Nimes. The village is quiet and quaint with a little old quarter and a couple of shops. There is not much through traffic. It is a short walk from the village centre to beautiful countryside on the edge of the Gard Massif and gorge. Avignon, Nimes and Uzes are all a short drive away as is the Roman Pont Du Gard (the canoe trip is well worth while)

Hotel grounds and building
Delightful. The hotel comprises a collection of buildings, all old and beautiful to look at. The website photographs give a very fair impression. The grounds are rambling and flower-filled. The main swimming pool and dining area in particular is a lovely spot. Breakfast and dinner are taken outside near the pool. The whole effect is lovely and very romantic.

Facilities
Four swimming pools including a big general pool, linked kid's pool, adult pool and a fourth What The Hell Let's Build Another Pool ;-)
There is free Wi Fi though it does not extend to the hotel rooms (walls too thick!) and was a bit flakey on my iphone. It works fine around the pool area thoughl.
Indoor dining room in case of bad weather - nice enough though not needed when we were there.
Underground parking in a sort of cavern. Perfectly useable but there is a small extra charge and we found the road parking nearby was fine. There is also apparently free parking in the hotel grounds but we didn't use it.

The rooms
We booked a familiy suite which comprised the ground and first floor of part of one of the rambling little buildings in the grounds. A pleasant little shady outside terrace for sitting (with free figs from the tree). Main living room - decent size and tastefully furnished with wooden floors. Separate curtained-off double bed area. Main bedroom - big and comfy. Upstairs second bedroom. Powerful air con for the ground floor.
Couple of minor gripes: air con does not really extend to upstairs so the second bedroom can get very warm. Two bathrooms but only one shower can be used at the same time due to temperature/pressure issues. Comfy for the five of us (parents + three children) but might a bit crowded if all the beds were used.
Useful good sized fridge.
Note that the suite is adjacent to a small road - though this was not a problem at all since the traffic is very light and nothing can be heard through the window when it is closed.
Overall - very pleasant accomodation and met our expectations.

Food
Excellent. The setting is superb (see above) and dinner was of a very high standard, plenty of variety and excellent, prompt and friendly service. The lime sorbet was quite delicious. Our family has a variety of food/allergy issues and the hotel did their best to accomodate us. There was the occasional slip-up but nothing serious and they certainly tried hard .The only slight annoyance was discovering at the end that tea and coffee are not included in the Half Board tariff for dinner. Personally I think they should be included.
Breakfast is buffet style and generous. The pastries were fresh and tasty.

Service
Friendly and helpful to a fault. The owners are two brothers, one of whom speaks excellent English and it is clear that they have put a huge amount of effort into the hotel. The waiting staff were patient and friendly. The receptionist speaks excellent English and was also very helpful.

Overall a lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grandpatzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 442 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2008

Our family of four stayed at this place june 30 th for 2 days.
We were really impressed by the hotel. Nice flowers everywhere and 3 large swimming pools. Our kids (6 and 9) really enjoyed the large main pool.

We had the room "miel" which was really nice and clean. Demi pension is a good value, I think it was 70 euros for the whole family. You can probably have better dinner somewhere else but considering the price, not bad at all.

The staff were really courteous and helpful. My wife needed to see a doctor and they took care of the appointment.

If we compare with the other hotels we had during our vacation in France, it was certainly our biggest surprise considering the price

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Whilst holidaying (self-catering) in Languedoc my husband and I plus two sons decided to venture further east and visit the Pont du Gard and the Roman remains in Arles. We telephoned the hotel a few days before to see if we could get a family room. The staff were most helpful and we had "Tournesol" which, I believe, is one of their newer rooms. Two-storey (boys had twin beds on a mezzanine) and a little terrace outside adjacent to one of the pools. Simple decor and clean lines. We ate at the restaurant, outdoors adjacent to the main swimming pool (very good meal and wine). Breakfast was served buffet style (excellent choice) and again outdoors as the weather was so good. The car was garaged overnight so it was lovely and cool for us the next day. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. This was a lovely calm place and a welcome change from self-catering for a night or two. Would certainly recommend it and would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elswickian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We spent two nights here in late june and were very impressed. We had a room called Mimosas which is on the side of the road and it was a little noisy early in the morning.We had no problem as did one of your previous reviewers with noise from the staff rooms below ,maybe they have been re-located.Whilst not suitable for smaller children this room would be great for a family with kids big enough to be trusted to run up and down stairs. The main bedroom and bathroom are on the ground floor and there are two single beds on a mezzanine floor. A stone staircase leads up from this to a small terrace that looks over all the hotel but is not overlooked by anyone else.
This hotel is unusual in that although it is a family run 'Logis de France' it covers a big area with the rooms spread around in a beautifull flowered hillside.
The main swimming pool area is really big with a massive main pool and a smaller connected one for children.There are two additional smaller pools in different parts of the hotel grounds.
Meals can be taken on the terrace around the pool or in the restaurant. The food was very good and the wine list superb both in breadth and depth, far above what is usual in this type of hotel.
There is a large underground car park to keep your car cool and safe.
The location is a good base for exploring ( The Pont du Gardeand the Ardeche Gorges are on the doorstep and Nimes is 15 minutes away) however the village itself is very small so if you don't want to eat at the hotel you will need to drive to one of the nearby towns.
Although this hotel seems to be excellent for families with children that should not put other people off using it as there are plenty of quiet corners to relax in.
There are steep steps to the main entrace but we were allowed to drive up to the higher levels to unload our luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm thornlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

We visited the hotel in July, 2006 and stayed for two nights. My husband, my sister and I plus my two boys (5- and 8- years old) stayed at the "Sylvia" suite, with two bedrooms, which was brand new!!! The weather was very very hot but the air conditioning worked great! The bathroom was spacious, with a seperate shower and a big bathtub. The decoration of the rooms was nice and simple. The rooms were spacious, clean and bright. The beds were excellent, not too soft and yet not too firm. The suite had an independent yard (with a laundry stand to dry your clothes) and it opened to the swimming pool. Dinners and breakfasts were served next to the pool (or indoor while it rained). Food was also excellent. We didn't have the chance to use the pools because there were severe thunder storms on both nights during our stay (we were SO lucky). The hotel was very close to Pont du Gard. On the way to this little town Cabrieres, you see fig trees, olive trees, abricot trees, etc. It was wonderful!!! I would definitely come back to this hotel and I strongly recommend it to whoever wants to simply have a relaxing time and do some sight-seeing at the same time.

Stayed: July 2006
7  Thank Panhsiaowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

On arrival at the hotel first impressions were good with a clean and comfortable room and four swimming pools (but not heated). We ate at the restaurant two nights which was good but please note there are no other restaurants in the village. We had the "Mimosa" family room which was a little basic but clean, the room is near the roadside which was noisy in the morning but the last night it was very noisy due to the staff rooms directly underneath with the heavy smell of cigarettes and the loud TV on until 2.30 in the morning!
On our departure we mentioned the fact of the loud TV by the staff at early hours in the morning and they said they would repremand them, but it sounded like a regular occurrence. Please check your bill before you leave as we only checked it at home and found we had been overcharged 20 euros, maybe an honest mistake! .
Nothing special here!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charlie forte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank audoisVinassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrieres
3.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Castellas
6.2 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
283 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Gardon
Hotel Le Gardon
#2 of 2 in Collias
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Begude Saint Pierre
La Begude Saint Pierre
#1 of 1 in Vers-Pont-du-Gard
187 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#2 of 13 in Uzes
369 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses

Address: 71 rue du 14 Juillet, 30210 Cabrieres, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Cabrieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Price Range: $92 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses is located in Cabrieres, a small picturesque village at the flank of a hill in the Roman Provence. Its 1200 inhabitants live peacefully in the rhythm of the seasons. Situated at a distance of 15 kms from Nimes, 16 kms from Uzes, 30 kms from Avignon and 40 kms from the Mediterranean beaches or Luberon, Cabrieres is surrounded by vinyards, apricot trees, olives and almond trees, not to forget the thousands of hectares of a landscape called the "garrigue" where wild lavenders, rosemary and thyme grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Enclos Des Lauriers Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing