We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, good food, great service in a wonderful part of france”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, good food, great service in a wonderful part of france”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed with 2 daughters, 9 & 11, for 8 nights in July 2013.
We were half board so ate breakfast and evening meal.

Following some of the other reviews, it is true the rooms are not super modern but they have charm and are still well equipped. I appreciated the thoughtful touches like the fact that each room has its own little table (and a very practical drying rack for all those damp towels and swimming costumes).

The whole site is like one big garden with little apartments tucked in and around the central pools. It is absolutely beautiful. The Lauriers Roses (Oleander) of the name are everywhere. It clearly takes quite some time to maintain such lovely grounds and we would often see staff sweeping up fallen blossoms to keep the place looking at its best.

The food was really good - I felt as though the lack of choice was covered by the fact that they still made an effort (and they were very ready to provide alternatives).

The service was great, efficient but more than that they were thoughtful and friendly - little touches like putting reserved signs on the dinner table after we had eaten at the same table for 2 nights. That meant it was "our" table.

I didn't mind the lack of wifi in the bedroom as the weather was hot and I sat outside near the pool. We will definately visit again (there is also loads to visit in the area and we didn't cover half of it) and I will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Madam, thank you so much for your beautiful and so detailed review.

We are very happy here, the staff and management to know that your stay was successful and we really hope to see you back with us soon. Perhaps the next year?

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    88
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
163
190
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brignais, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent only 1 night at this wonderful property, and we wish it had been more. I booked it last minute online, so I wasn't expecting much, but boy were we surprised!! It's really gorgeous! It's out in the middle of nowhere (in the center of a small town), but a quick 15-20 minute drive to the Pont du Gard and other attractions. We had a wonderful two room suite with a double and twin bed in one room and a large king size bed in another room. Nice sized bathroom with shower and tub and separate WC. Two nice closets, small table and chairs, small fridge, AC, nice towels... everything you could need. Charming decor, beamed ceilings, and comfortable beds even! There was a patio outside with table and a drying rack for hanging towels and swim suits. The pools were very nice, the largest one being two tiered- the top tier a shallow pool for children with a waterfall effect into a larger pool. My kids loved it, and even during high season on a hot, sunny day there were plenty of lounge chairs available. Dinner out by the pool was wonderful, and I thought the food and wine selection was top notch for the price. They even had a high chair for the baby and kid's meals. Staff was gracious and welcoming, and the other people at the hotel were friendly. I liked how there were kid friendly areas but also areas that were more peaceful for adults. Sitting by the pool with all the lavender and oleander in bloom is just amazing- the place is literally bursting with flowers. It is also spotlessly clean. Breakfast is very nice- large selection of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. plus excellent coffee and hot chocolate. Honestly, we couldn't have asked for more, and I think this place will exceed anyone's expectations. I would love to go there again one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emathews2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sir, a huge thank you for your wonderful detailed review about our hotel. We are delighted to know that everything was perfect during your short stay. Hotel, restaurant, outdoor, swimming pools, etc..
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to see you again next time, perhaps for a longer stay.

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed one night at this Logis, the terms were Euro 200 per room Dinner, B&B. The room which was more a small villa near the pool, was excellent and the bed massive. The dinner was a little restricted in choice for the "inclusive" cost but breakfast was splendid, fruits, cereals, meats and cheese, typical up-market continental fare.
The staff were very helpful and there are 3 pools including one for children.
Overall, an excellent stay, although I felt the price was somewhat on the high side., however, we did only book 2 days prior to arriving.

Room Tip: Great if you can get a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyGSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sir, a huge thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.

Please remember, there are 4 swimming pools including one for children. This is also why the prices may seem a bit high. 5000 square meters of gardens with 4 pools require a lot of maintenance and staff. But our prices are the same since a lot of years.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to see you again next time.

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having spent a week in Aups we moved up to L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses to explore the Camargue and Arles for three nights and what a delightful time we had. The family clearly take a pride in running the hotel and the staff are well trained and attentive.
In our experience it is rare to find such a tranquil setting with privacy, security and attention to detail. We particularly liked our private terrace in 'Enrique' and the benefits of an underground garage to keep our bikes secure was a bonus.
We were 'demi-pension' and the local food was excellent and generous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sir, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much.

We are so happy to know your stay was great. Also happy to know you liked our staff, the beautiful room "ENRIQUE" and our restaurant.

We really hope to welcome you again in the future.

Please accept our best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
149 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is charmingly laid out over several small houses around a large swimming pool. It is very good value for the money. The food is acceptable but not exceptional. WIFI available in dinning room but not in rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnabellaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Madam, thank you fgor your nice review.

Wifi will available in the rooms probably the next year. Our customers have to understand it is not easy with our kind of hotel to propose Wifi in the rooms. With our 23 rooms like a village within the village, things are really complicated to do.

It is like the food, if we want to propose exceptionnal food, our hotel will incruise the prices. We try to make our best with home-made products.

We hope to welcome you another time if you come back in France and in our area.

Best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

3rd time stay at the property. The place is still magic. But food quality has dropped. New rooms have been added to respond to the success of the place. But some basic modern things like large tvs (now computer screen type flat lcds) and wifi in the rooms are not available. Meaning it is all fine on sunny days, but if weather gets rainy, watching a 20" from 3 meters away requires excellent vision. Also unfortunately you might want to avoid rooms on ground floor which have noisy neighbors above them. Also in our first stay there was a personal contact with staff, now this seems to have gone away. We stayed on a busy weekend, it felt crowded and less personal then before. This wonderful area really needs other similar properties. But still good price quality ratio.

Room Tip: Check if you have a room above you if you are sensitive to noises above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I remember I have been there for the check out and you had already told me about the noise above you. But not all the other problems. I'll try to explain my point of view.

Many customers praise the quality of our staff and we are really pleased with everyone. I do not think the quality has declined. The number perhaps, but in the current environment, it is important to pay attention to costs. Staff and staff taxes in France are very expensive. You think our beautiful area would need other properties like ours. We should rather think now that some properties such as ours will disappear gradually.

On large suite "La Pergola" where you stay, the TVs are actually a little small. When we renovated this suite a few years ago, big TVs were rare. We will think to change them soon. There are financial investments that are not always easy to achieve. And our hotel is a 3 star, not 4.
It's like the wifi in the rooms. It may be possible next year but it will be very expensive to get a DSLAM in rooms (we do not want Wifi antennas throughout the hotel) and it will be something very expensive.

Finally, for the noise problem, as I talked with you at check-out, when we realized the three new rooms last year, we have respected phonic standards.

I'm not trying to defend ourselves. We can not be perfect and your comments are right or reflect your own opinion.

One thing is clear to us, quality is not decreased. I talked with many old and new customers during the weekend of the Ascension and all were delighted. We're just sorry for you, that was not the case. A third stay in our hotel and a growing disappointment in comparison to your first comment on this site. I do not think there will be a fourth, it is sad and unfortunate.

Best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with demi-pension. Loved the room and its terrace with a view over the village. The owner family is most gracious and spends time discussing the buildings or town or whatever you'd like. English spoken. Huge breakfast. Marvelous dinner with seating around the lit pool. Polite wait staff and very good food. Outside parking is fine; we didn't pay for enclosed parking. The grounds are well-kept and spacious with 3 pools plus one for adults only. In the area are several cities worth visiting: Nimes and Arles especially.

Room Tip: ask for one of the new rooms, with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jardinage45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear "jardinage45",

Thank you very much for this very beautiful review. Reading it, I remember you were in the room "LES SALADELLES". New room with a great terrace and a great view, that's true :-)

I am really happy your stay was really good and I really hope you will come back in our place, maybe the next year and enjoy more days.

We thank you againso much.

Best regards,

A. BARGETON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrieres
3.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Castellas
6.2 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
243 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Gardon
Hotel Le Gardon
#2 of 2 in Collias
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
298 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Begude Saint Pierre
La Begude Saint Pierre
#1 of 1 in Vers-Pont-du-Gard
170 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses

Property: L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
Address: 71 rue du 14 Juillet, 30210 Cabrieres, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Cabrieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses is located in Cabrieres, a small picturesque village at the flank of a hill in the Roman Provence. Its 1200 inhabitants live peacefully in the rhythm of the seasons. Situated at a distance of 15 kms from Nimes, 16 kms from Uzes, 30 kms from Avignon and 40 kms from the Mediterranean beaches or Luberon, Cabrieres is surrounded by vinyards, apricot trees, olives and almond trees, not to forget the thousands of hectares of a landscape called the "garrigue" where wild lavenders, rosemary and thyme grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Enclos Des Lauriers Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing