We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Agriturisimo”
Review of Podere Paugnano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radicondoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Paugnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We had a marvelous stay here for a week in mid-September. Our best friends were travelling with us and the accomodations were perfect. The family was wonderful and there was free wi-fi on the large porch of the main house and in the main room there as well, just footsteps from our lodging. We stayed in the Capanna apartment...a free-standing building with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, large living-kitchen area and a huge porch.....all overlooking the farm and the hilltown of Radicondoli. We had beautiful sunrises and sunsets each day. There is a beautiful, well-kept outdoor pool, but we didn't use it because we were so busy and weather in low 70's.There are larger apartments, as well attached to the main house, but with private entrances. The family sells cheese,there are sheep on the farm, and even a donkey that entertained us with his "hee-haws". Would highly recommend this to anyone, but it's quiet and a little drive on typical Tuscan winding roads to bigger towns...about 35-40 minutes to San Gimignano, Volterra, and Siena. The family speaks little English, but their daughter helps out in that area, so we had no problem communicating!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

Excellent villa, very child friendly, fabulous views, friendly hosts - just a shame we can't speak more Italian! One minor point is we would have liked more kitchen utensils, matches, cleaning products, cloths etc.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherbertfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My wife and I and three children (11, 8,7) stayed with Giovanna and her family and had a wonderful time. The hosts were exceptionally friendly, easy to communicate with and eager to help in any and every way possible. Sadly, we only partook of one meal on the farm and it was wonderful. The family opened up their farm to us to intrude on which we enjoyed, especially the sheep milking. The nearby town of Radicondoli was very quaint and it was an easy drive to other locations in Tuscany such as San Gimignano, Siena and Florence. When not traveling to sites around Tuscany we enjoyed the beautiful views and peace of the countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stones95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Paugnano is absolutely fantastic and I would strongly recommend it for anyone looking for a Tuscan farm stay.

We stayed at Paugnano in May for 8 nights and the farm was exactly what we were hoping to find in Tuscany. We stayed in the free standing villa called Capanna. It is a renovated barn and has a fantastic rustic feel whilst being spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We are a family of 6 (three young children and a baby) and we could easily fit into the villas two spacious bedrooms. The covered pergola area at the entrance is great and a nice place for watching the sun set over the hills with some local red. There is also a lovely pool above the main farm house, complete with deck chairs, which is great for keeping the kids entertained.

The owners of Paugnano, Giovanni and Giovanna are fantastic and along with their daughters Tamara and Natalie made us feel really welcome and at home. In the end it’s the really the people that you meet on your travels that make them what they are what we loved most about Paugnano was meeting the family. We really enjoyed having dinner on the veranda of the main farm house (which is optional). Giovanna has a big wood fired oven and cooks up some great feasts.

Paugnano is still a genuine farm and the sheep were walked past Capanna twice each day for milking which the kids loved. Giovanni showed them how the sheep are milked – which the kids found fascinating– and they also liked seeing the pet pigs, wild boar and donkey – although the pool was still favourite! You can also buy the pecorino cheese made from the sheeps milk on the property.

The family does speak some English so if you don’t speak Italian (like us) you can get by though a phrase book is helpful and is also useful around the whole Radicondoli area. .

The Radicondoli area is beautiful and less touristy than the more well know parts of Tuscany such as Chianti. You are still within easy reach of everywhere though. The farm it’s self is very large and there is a beautiful though rugged walk to the medieval town of Radicondoli which lies across the valley. Paugnano is also close to Belforte and although a little too far to walk on a regular basis to either town this really doesn’t matter as access by car is quick and easy. Make sure you also ask about the forest swimming pool which a friend of Giovanna’s directed us to

In summary we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zuperbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte le camere sono validissime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brunocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Capanna hat den schönsten Blick, dafür ist der Wohnbereich kleiner als im Melo, aber beide sind empf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edith0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Il fienile per i più romantici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeGustante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radicondoli hotels
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Bellavista
Agriturismo Bellavista
#13 of 17 in Radicondoli
5 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borghetto Poggio Bianco
Borghetto Poggio Bianco
#3 of 17 in Radicondoli
79 reviews
0 mi away
Agriturismo Materno
Agriturismo Materno
#16 of 17 in Radicondoli
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Le Bolli
Agriturismo Le Bolli
#2 of 17 in Radicondoli
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Vecchio Mulino
Il Vecchio Mulino
#6 of 17 in Radicondoli
15 reviews
5.5 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Costarella
Agriturismo Podere Costarella
#10 of 17 in Radicondoli
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Paugnano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Paugnano

Address: Podere Paugnano 33, 53030 Radicondoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radicondoli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Radicondoli
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic swimming pool ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing