We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult not to give 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Foresteria Planeta Menfi
Ranked #1 of 14 Menfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's always interesting to see what other people have to say and I always look at the extreme opinions , mostly for entertainment as they usually say more about the reviewer than the reviewed. This place rates only one terrible vote from a Viennese businessman. What was he doing in Menfi on business? He proves my point. The management were wrong to respond to him and should just blacklist him!
It's difficult not to give this place 5 stars but on the other hand there is no point reviewing if not to criticise. There are a few points
You really have to understand that it is quite remote. Not their fault---that is just where it is. So it's a good drive for any days out. That means Agrigento, Erice etc
The hotel is non smoking. Sort of. Our German neighbour puffed his disgusting cigar on the terrace next to our open window (ugh) and by the pool and nobody stopped him. I wasn't in the mood for a fight so just moved away. This is very very bad. I suppose the old allies have to stick together!
The food is of course very good. But the menu did not change all week. That means that if you have any food restrictions at all you may get stuck.
Breakfast. Lovely setting but sameish and no great spread.
Staff mostly v good but some of ( I should say one of) the girls a bit on the cold side.
We would certainly go again for a good rest. Take plenty of books.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just loved this place. So beautiful. So elegant. So tasteful. Deceptive from the drive up but then wow! - Everything has been done so stylishly I felt like I was in Vogue magazine! The bed linens, drapes on the windows, the bathroom toiletries all bio-fab! The veranda over-looking the wine groves with a further view to the sea - so tranquil! Who needs Valium. The waft of sage and lavender from the herb gardens heated to perfection by the day long sun as you sit and quaff a chilled bottle of their estate wine! And even better - they have a beach house by the sea a five min drive away so you can go swim in the sea. Wild sand dunes and a gorgeous azure sea. Oh bella bella! There's the infinity pool inviting you to stay and sit a while amongst the groves. We took the vineyard tour which again was fantastic. Marvellous wines - you feel you are drinking in all the smells and tastes of Sicily! Such a lovely lunch to go with the wine tasting. Super friendly staff. 10/10 - go!

Room Tip: Anywhere - just go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed here twice and can't wait to return.
Absolutely amazing place to relax, take in the views, eat and drink Planeta wine.
Rooms, staff, food and wine are outstanding.
Take in the visit to Planeta winery at Sambuca.
Walk for miles along the Lido Fiori and Porto Palo beaches.
This is only my 3rd ever review despite extensive travelling and this is another of my top 3 hotels (see Nita Lake Lodge, Whistler) and maybe the best I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: They all have great views but best overlook the vineyards rather than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have recently spent 3 nights at La Foresteria Planeta in Menfi and we enjoyed every minute of it. The setting is amazing - the property is surrounded by lush vineyards with the Mediterranean in the background. The foresteria feels more like some relative's villa in the countryside than a hotel - a relative with impeccable taste for unique locales and lovingly made wines. Our room was spacious and sophisticated with a beautiful view. The food was excellent and the staff is very friendly and competent - the service always had a personal touch. We took a tour of the cellar at l'Ulmo, the tour included a wine tasting and a "light" lunch...the lunch was served in a beautifully restored former stable, the antique table was set with nice linens and china and we were served delicious pasta alla Norma, a zucchini frittata and a nice salad. The Planeta family opens the doors of their properties and it's a very unique opportunity to experience the Sicilian countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It started with the Caprese cake in the morning... a little slice of heaven that set the tone for our 5 days in La Foresteria. Lovely accommodations - we had one of the rooms with the vineyard view to the sea beyond; delightful breakfast - be sure to ask for an omelette - fine dining with seasonal, fresh offerings and professional and helpful service. We particularly appreciated Syria's smile and gracious service. The hotel assisted us in renting road bikes and designed a 3 day self guided itinerary to tour the surrounding area. We also visited Ulmo, one of 5 Planeta wineries and were treated to Allesandro's "absolute" knowledge of the Planeta wines.
Take an afternoon off and enjoy the private beach club a few kilometers away or the poolside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilylister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Foresteria Planeta, perched on a hill overlooking their own vineyard and on to the sea in the distance is a knockout. They have a video on Youtube that does them justice. We really liked this hotel, again very boutique and modern and incredibly clean. There is much to rave about here. Our rooms were ample and nicely outfitted with plenty of amenities. We had a porch with terrific views where we whiled away the cocktail hour and then proceeded to the restaurant that served the best food of our trip. Fresh ingredients beautifully presented and sipping Planetas own wines.They have a very nice, intimate pool. The staff were terrific and made plenty of helpful suggestions [none better than to do a day trip to the mountain town of Caltabelotta and lunch at Mates..reservation required... for the single best meal of our trip..just an outstanding experience]. In short, Planeta is tops on our list of the three hotels we stayed in while in Sicily.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the vineyard to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were lucky enough to spend three nights here in May, TA helped a lot with our selection so thank you . This place is heaven . Arriving from Catania airport having driven through the beautiful interior of Sicily for nearly four hours it was wonderful to be met by Alberto , the manager, he is so professional , we felt instantly welcome and relaxed. The hotel is airy and spacious , the bedrooms are large and calm with superkingsize beds which are very comfortable, and the little terrace overlooking the vines straight down to the sea is more relaxing than any spa treatment. The whole place exudes calm , peace and quality. The wine is superb and not expensive, the food is delicious, we had two lunches and one dinner , everything was excellent including the service. In fact all employees at FP are friendly and professional, you cannot fault anything. It was hot while we were there so we chilled out round the pool which is peaceful and has lovely cool water, quite magical swimming in the middle of the vineyard. We ate at Da Vittorio on two nights, easy drive and on your doorstep. The scenery surrounding this estate is beautiful and the driving is very easy.

We can't wait to come back , probably later this year.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbunny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menfi
17.6 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,926 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Baglio San Vincenzo
42.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
43.1 mi away
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
543 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Vigneto Resort
Il Vigneto Resort
#3 of 14 in Menfi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Foresteria Planeta Menfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foresteria Planeta Menfi

Address: S.P. 79, Km 91 | Contrada Passo di Gurra, 92013 Menfi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Menfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Menfi
Price Range: $181 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Foresteria Planeta Menfi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Foresteria resort is the hallmark of the hospitality of the Planeta family, the ambassadors of Sicily and of its fine wines and oils throughout the world. Located on the southwestern coast of Sicily, in Menfi, a town between Selinunte and Agrigento, it bears resemblance with a typical village of rural homes standing on the hill to watch over the surrounding vineyards and olive groves. An enchanting site located just 4 km away from the crystal-clear sea and the beaches of fine sand of Porto Palo, which has attained 16 Blue Flags, an internationally recognized eco-label awarded to seaside resorts that meet criteria on sustainable environmental management. La Foresteria has 14 spacious rooms, each of which blends together a sense of essentiality and style to offer a vacation truly Mediterranean in spirit in a place of genuine beauty and superb hospitality of the Planeta family. A stay at La Foresteria means enjoying a special vacation and unique experiences: the cooking course that our chef Angelo Pumilia holds to teach you the recipes of the Planeta family and the secrets of traditional Sicilian cuisine, from Sicilian-style pasta with sardines to "true" caponata, from the superb timbale in Ricotta cheese crust to scabbardfish with herbs. Every recipe is made with local ingredients and finely matched with the best Planeta wines. While staying at La Foresteria, you can visit the wine cellar where you can taste wines matched with the dishes of "Casa Planeta". The resort also offers a wide range of services: a restaurant, a marvelous deck level swimming pool, a relaxing Turkish bath, fitness area, bicycles at your disposal for ride to explore the nearby olive groves and vineyards, guided tours to archaeological sites of Selinunte, Agrigento (Valley of Temples), and Segesta. Please refer to the calendar of events and happenings with all the available offers to choose the type of stay you prefer: wellness, sea, romantic, fine cuisine (and drinking), cultural, weekend, last-minute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Foresteria Planeta Menfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Foresteria Planeta Menfi Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing