We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Euchelia Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castrocielo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked this villa as a stopping point half way between Puglia and Cortona - and we wished we had booked more than one night. It is located in the town of Castrocielo which is not listed on any map we had, but with the help of GPS we located the villa in the mountains. Villa Euchelia was beautiful with great views. The room rate was exceedinly reasonable and the best value for cost.

We arrived later in the day and asked if there was a place we could go for lunch; we were advised everything - I mean everything - closes in the afternoon. Anne Marie prepared a wonderful lunch for us with meats, breads, cheeses, fresh fruit and of course a bottle of red & white wine. For the 4 of us the cost was only 23 Euros ! All the breads, meats, pastries etc are made on site by the family.

There are only 7 rooms in the villa all are decorated the same with bright yellows / whites with AC in each room. The ceilings are @ 12 feet high with painted white beams; the rooms large and the beds incredibly inviting. Our bathroom was handicap friendly and the villa had ramps everywhere and an elevator to get up to the rooms. The hallways have sofa's and reading areas with lots of flowers, teddy bears and other personal touches. In fact the next day when we departed Anne Marie gave both myself and my girlfriend a packet of lavender tied with a ribbon. The lavender was from her own garden - such a wonderful keep sake.

The villa is owned by Anne Marie and her husband. They have been operating the villa for many, many years. They make you feel so welcome in their home. While we were there the pool was under repair so we were not able to enjoy that amenity. However there is ample area to hold weddings or functions. You do need a car to get there and there is no where to really walk as the roads are very narrow - so you would need to go into the small village if you wanted to walk about.

We dined at the villa that evening and were not disappointed. There was a wide selection and at a reasonable cost. The presentation and taste of the meals would match most 5* restaurants. They would leave the bottle of wine at your table and only charge you for what you consumed - such an innovative idea. As in most Italian restaurants a glass of Proseco was provided at the beginning of your meal. Breakfast the next morning was complete with homemade pastries, quiche, meats, fresh fruit from their garden. In fact you could squeeze your own orange juice which we did. The presentation of food encouraged you to fill your plate.

I would highly recommend this Villa to anyone staying in the area. You will be made to feel very welcome, enjoy the scenery, the food, the service and of course the friendliness of the owners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noseworthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 556 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean with modern bathrooms. There are also tea making facilities. Family run by charming people, it also has a lovely restaurant where the food is wonderful. Rooms average 85 to 100 Euros which is a bargain price for high level accommodation. There are only seven bedrooms, they can be accessed by stairs or lift. It could be awkward if you have a wheelchair, but it is fine for 'walking wounded'. The location is excellent, it is easy to get to from the main route but only 15 to 20 minutes from the military cemeteries of Monte Cassino and the Benadictine Monastery in the mountains. This hotel is an exquisite little place, with a five star attitude. Nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely return if we possibly can. We toured through Europe, sometimes staying at expensive hotels - yet this was the best of all of them!

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms but one has a balcony. Also ask for the rooms with the larger windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had gone to the 70th anniversary of the battles of Monte Cassino and chose to stay out of town in a former villa, now a boutique hotel. The hotel has an absolutely lovely garden with masses of roses, fruiting trees and planters with strawberries, lobelia and peonies. We were greeted in a very friendly fashion although the owners spoke little English - not a problem for us. Breakfast was a generous buffet with a variety of fresh fruit, mortadella, cereals, home cooked bread and croissants and you could squeeze your own fresh orange juice. If you wanted an omelette or scrambled eggs, these were cooked freshly.
The hotel has a large facility for weddings and baptisms with a smaller dining room beside it. We had dinner two nights and enjoyed the variety of dishes, including a vegetarian selection with local wines and beers. One night we dined out and our hosts were happy to make a booking for us at a local restaurant.
Our rooms were spotlessly clean and supplied with dishes of fruit and sweets. The only complaint, and a minor one, was the very small size of the showers in the bathrooms - a bit of a problem for long-limbed Kiwis but overall we had a most enjoyable time and would be happy to stay there again. We felt very welcome - almost part of the family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We came to the Villa Euchelia Resort from Naples and the contrast couldn't have been more extreme. Naples was dirty, loud and crowded. Villa Euchelia is on the outskirts of a small town in the hills surrounded by beautiful scenery and lovely grounds. It is peaceful and calming. The level of service and comfort is very high. Annamaria and her husband, Pietro, are very welcoming. Their attention to detail in every aspect of their resort is evident. The rooms are very nicely furnished and decorated. Our bathroom was beautiful and luxurious. Our bed was extremely comfortable. The restaurant in the resort is fabulous and we ate there every night. The menu included traditional regional dishes - some of them presented in very original ways. The breakfasts were very good with lots of choices. The homemade jams were very special. Everything was delicious. We plan to return to the area and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Note that a rental car is probably a must here. But driving in the area is very easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Amazing food, amazing hospitality, incredibly clean, set in beautiful surroundings. Truly family owned and family run. The attention to detail remarkable, the love they have for the Villa and their guests is obvious in the amount of care and attention lavished on both. They made special meals for fussy children. I highly recommend Villa Euchelia!! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this hidden gem away from the tourist crowds. The food was amazing and would definitely make me go back! The hospitality was unbeatable, friendly staff, family run and genuine good service. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated with comfortable befs. breakfast was a treat each morning with itallian pastries and fresh orange juice. There is a nearby walking trail up the hill with spectacular views and a great way to relax and get away from it all. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizoosth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very nice location with a fantastic view of the ancient town of Castrocielo, the hotel is originally furnished with a great attention to details. The restaurant was excellent in both cooking and services. We will come back for sure to stay longer!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castrocielo
9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino
2.7 mi away
Liola Hotel
Liola Hotel
#2 of 2 in Castrocielo
260 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rocca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Edra Palace Hotel
Edra Palace Hotel
#1 of 13 in Cassino
286 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel Borgo Antico
Hotel Borgo Antico
#1 of 2 in Ceprano
84 reviews
7.3 mi away
Al Poggio di Casalucense
Al Poggio di Casalucense
#1 of 1 in Sant'Elia Fiumerapido
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Euchelia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Euchelia Resort

Address: Giovenale, 03030 Castrocielo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Castrocielo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castrocielo
Price Range: $81 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Euchelia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century Elegant Residence immersed in an oasis of tranquillity.Rooms have a romantic and exclusive atmosphere.Full breackfast with homemade cakes, biscuits and jams served in the garden or in the lemons veranda.Relax in the panoramic swimming pool.The restaurant is for Gourmet.Free parking.Elegante Dimora dell '700 immersa in un'oasi di tranquillità.Camere dall'atmosfera romantica ed esclusiva.Ricca colazione con torte, biscotti e marmellate fatte in casa.Relax nella panoramica piscina con acqua iodata.Ristorante per intenditori Gourmet.Parcheggio gratuito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Villa Euchelia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Euchelia Resort Italy/Castrocielo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing