We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with Rooms”
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Swinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Looks out onto the village green/football pitch. Quaint, welcoming, with a nice homely feel and friendly atmosphere. Nice log fire. The room was large, but the double bed, was a little on the compact side for our liking. Because it was January the restaurant had curtailed choices on the Menu, but this was intimated, when booking. Food was good, used local produce and was well presented. A nice relaxing stay. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 329 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for only one night, but really hope I get the chance to do so for longer in the not too distant future. I've been to many hotels that look terrific online and are not quite so sharp in the flesh, but The Wheatsheaf was as good, if not even better, than I expected from my preliminary research.

Service upon arrival was friendly and helpful and the rooms were really well decorated, with great facilities and a professional but homely feel. The beds were very comfortable.

The restaurant was of a very high calibre indeed. It was a quiet evening this time but the service and quality was still top notch. Generous portions and clear attention to detail- my steak was cooked to order perfectly.

The Wheatsheaf doesn't appear to have many nearby competitors but there wasn't a hint of complacency. We got the distinct impression that the high expectations begin with the owners themselves, taking pride in what they do. Excellent value and experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoviceoftheBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I got married at the nearby Wedderburn Castle and we chose the Wheatsheaf to house the 35 guests not staying at the Castle. We stayed here ourselves back in July and knew we'd made the right decision! Chris and his staff were fantastic throughout the year, helping us arrange rooms for out of town guests. The food is outstanding and very reasonably priced. I know our wedding guests certainly made use of the bar on the Friday night! It's a cosy, friendly hotel with high quality accommodation with lots of options for big groups. We managed to get everybody on-site, either in the Hotel or the lovely cottages nearby. Next time we are up in the Borders, we'll be staying at the Wheatsheaf!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was spacious, but the Cottages around Swinton are lovely. Particularly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWinsonWsheaf, Owner at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

So glad your weekend worked so well Anna. It was a pleasure looking after your group. Sunday breakfast spilled over to the new Sunday carvery, which was good news for a few late guests! All the best, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came here for a superb Sunday carvery, saved having to do it all at home yourself and great value for money. Had the roast beef with all the trimmings and couldn't have asked for it any better although the pork and crackling looked good too!! Staff were pleasant ans welcoming so will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Returning to the Wheatsheaf again for Sunday lunch. This time for the carvery. The food was excellent, the best roast beef and yorkshire puddings with freindly service .. The small resturant rooms gives it a cosy feel. The children were welcomed and we look forward to our next meal here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked this hotel as I was due to be at a wedding at the nearby Wedderburn Castle the following day. The room was very nice and had a ensuite bathroom which was also tastefully done. They have a nice beer garden to the rear and and a cosy restaurant which we used. The food was very good and service excellent. There was also a great breakfast in the morning.
There is not much to do or see in the area but worth an overnight if you are in the area.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrimesReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Most helpful and friendly reception from Denise at this very pleasant hotel where we ate an excellent meal in their very nice and relaxing restaurant and stayed one night in a very pleasant room.
Really enjoyable visit in an area of beautiful countryside,

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinton
10.6 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
495 reviews
19.4 mi away
Fauhope House
Fauhope House
#1 of 1 in Gattonside
271 reviews
4.7 mi away
Allanton Inn
Allanton Inn
#1 of 1 in Allanton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Address: Main Street | Berwickshire, Swinton TD11 3JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Swinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swinton
Price Range: $134 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning hotel & restaurant; comfortable country accommodation overlooking the village green of Swinton, Scottish Borders. Graded 4 star by VisitScotland and winner of Best Restaurant in the Borders at 2013 & 2014 Scottish Hotel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Swinton, Scottish Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing