We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort, and excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carema Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carema Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, and excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having read some of the earlier reviews we were a bit worried about what it would be like, but we were pleasantly surprised. The resort was clean, beautifully laid out, and the three pools were lovely, although we are more beach and explore kind of people. I would highly recommend hiring a car, as the island is beautiful and very easy to drive around and explore. Especially recommend visiting the wild tortoises at the Nature Reserve! The reception staff were lovely, and couldn't have been more helpful, I don't know what other reviewers mean by not speaking English, or not being friendly towards the English. We were very fussy about our room as we like a quiet top floor room with a view, and they couldn't have done more to accommodate us. We also asked about a missing lightbulb and before the end of the day it had been replaced. Although on the ground floor rooms you can hear people walking about above you (please, please take your shoes off if there is someone below you!!), otherwise the soundproofing was pretty good. The equipment is basic, and if you want anything other than the bare essentials you will have to take your own. We didn't have much to do with the rest of the staff as we were self-catering, and we hadn't counted on being near the end of the season, so some of the facilities, like the buffet and entertainment were closed, but we didn't mind that as it made it quieter, and there were some lovely restaurants nearby. A particular recommendation has to go to Cafe del Nord, who went out of their way to cook me a vegetarian meal (if you go there, tell them I said hi!). The one evening we did get to eat at the buffet at the hotel, my partner was very impressed with the quality and variety. It was more limited for vegetarians, but I'm used to that, and
at least I couldn't argue at the quantity of wine that was included in the price! We would definitely go back to the resort, as it was friendly, didn't feel commercialised, is in a quiet part of the island, but the rest of the island is easily accessible. It was everything we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    444
    190
    63
    31
See reviews for
615
252
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for a week in early August 2012. Carema Club Playa is a nice resort in a beautiful, unspoilt part of Menorca. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the resort to be well run and reasonably maintained. I would say this is definitely a 3 star resort though – not 4, especially the rooms

We went all inclusive and found the food to be great; it was varied with a wide range of choices. The wine provided for all inclusive was shocking though – we stuck to the beer! One criticism would be the staff’s insistence on serving all inclusive patrons with small plastic glasses, not the perfect vessel for enjoying a G&T in the evening! Having said that the terrace outside the bar, overlooking the pool was the perfect place to have a quiet pre-dinner drink.

We used the main pool (a great pool for the kids) for the first half of the week but the constant loud music started to grate so we used the quieter, smaller pool on the other side of the resort for the second half of the holiday.

The true test though is whether one would go back and the answer is yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JubesandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to Carema Club Playa with my boyfriend in Sept 2012. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, which had apartments with cooking facilities.

We really enjoyed this holiday. The weather was beautiful, very hot but with a cooling breeze. Our apartment was spacious, cool and clean. The cooking facilities were adequate; there was a filter coffee machine, two hobs, a fridge and some saucepans and utensiles. However, I would suggest that you take a sharp knife with you if you are planning on cooking. Our apartment was on the 1st floor and had a balcony overlooking one of the pools. I had not expected to be so close to the sea, or that there would be three pools! We spent most of our time by the pool (the quieter one), where there were plenty of sunbeds, and a good combination of shade and sun. Most of the week, the poolside was extremeley quiet, although there were a few families with children by the end the the week.

The staff were also really friendly and helpful. At one point I went to ask if we could have a bottle opener for our room, and it was in our room by the end of the day.

There were two local supermarkets in Playas Del Fornells. They were not cheap, but I would highly recommend the tomatoes, peppers and eggs! One of them also had a bakery attached, and both sold very cheap alcohol. There were also 3 restaurants/cafes within a 10 minute walk from the apartment, which were all good.

We walked to Fornells for one day, which was a really lovely village, with a large range of restaurants. If we were here for longer than a week, I would suggest that you do rent a car to explore more of the island, but this was not what we were looking for for this holiday. Lots of people also got the bus to Fornells, but we really enjoyed the walk.

Overall, this holiday was exactly what we were looking for, quiet, relaxing, good weather and good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Fornells again this year as it's such a relaxing place, but this time booked an apartment that was apparently 'privately owned'! although it was basically exactly the same as the one we had last year, though thankfully not on the ground floor. Very basic facilities, but lovely views over the pool and sea. The weather was fantastic, luckily as there had been storms the previous week. I would only book on a self catering basis as there are so many good restaurants to explore in Fornells, thats if you have a car. Otherwise there are a couple of really good restaurants up on the hill. Interesting that everyone mentions there being a lot of italians in the resort, which to us all adds to the fun, we witnessed some spectacular arguments going on in other apartments form various italian couples, but also being near the pool we had non stop noise from the younger members going on all night, still we did that when we were young, so didn't mind.. Also, people dont know what they are missing by just staying in the resort, the island is beautiful with horse riding, markets, lovely villages, boats to hire out etc. There is so much to see and do. The apartments should be thought of as just a base really,

Room Tip: Never go for a ground floor apartment, cats wander in and out and the smell is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is true that this hotel caters mainly for Italians. S if that is an issue avoid it.
The place was a little tired but had all you would need. The rooms aren't designed to spend time in but were comfy enough.
The restaurant is buffet style, all you can eat, and includes wine and beer, but despite a wide choice, the food has little flavour, so half board is plenty. There are 3 decent cafes / restaurants up the hill.
There is little to do in the resort, but it is quiet and pretty.
The beach round the corner is 100+yds of golden sand, the beach gently shelves for 100yds and you are still in your depth.
We did a lot of walking and the paths are amazingly well signposted everywhere.
Fornells is a very pretty little town about 30 min walk away.
A week is fine here, but it would be a good location for young families.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived at Carema Club on 7th August 2012. There are 2 parts to this place, we were on the Italian/Spanish side and I'm glad we were! Reception staff very helpful and polite, good english spoken. Lots of apartments on the hill overlooking the pool and the sea. Basic but clean and comfortable and I was amazed to discover the air conditioning which DID work! Yes there were a few ants but it didnt bother us, its all part of being somewhere hot! Ant killer was provided and I think I used it once! We are a family of 4 (2 girls aged 5 & 8) We were only staying for a week wanting to relax so didnt hire a car. The girls spent all their time in the pool which is perfect for young children. Very shallow one end for paddling. I'm amazed at some of the reviews on this site that say strange things about the Italians! It is mostly italian and spanish families but that sealed it for me! I don't want to surrounded by English when I'm abroad on holiday. They were 'all inclusive' we and others were not. We didnt bother them and they didnt bother us. They were very civilised and a pleasure to be around to be honest! Having said this there were a smattering of Brits, all families with young children. Our girls made good friends with a family from Liverpool and had a great time. It felt 'safe' to let them play around the pool or the playground and not have to keep up a constant 'watch' - allowing me to get a tan and read my book. Lots of places to eat, particularly 'up the hill' and beyond. Failing this its 10 mins on the bus into Fornells which is very pretty with restaurants and shops. If you want a lively resort with lots to do then this might not be for you but if like me you want the kids to be happy while you relax then go for it! If we had stayed another week I think we would have needed to hire a car and go to other places, otherwise we all had a fab time and I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsbearslumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks.
Arrived to a kitchen and bathroom full of ants.
Cold water for the first 3 days
Had to ask for clean towels
Had to ask for more toilet paper
No kettle provided
The entertainment is run by Italian people who don't speak English, I must of been the only person who didn't get asked to play water polo or adult sports, clearly because I wasn't Spanish or Italian....

If you are planning on going to menorca I strongly advise staying in the south not as windy not as much sea weed, water is alot clearer...

Cala galdana, sant Tomas, son bou

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hennessy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornells
10.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
10.2 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
4.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
9.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carema Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carema Club Resort

Property: Carema Club Resort
Address: Carrer de Baix s/n | Urbanizacion Playas de Fornells, 07748 Fornells, Minorca, Spain (Formerly Carema Club Playa)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Fornells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carema Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carema Club Resort is located on the sea front with direct access to Cala Tirant beach, on the North coast of Menorca. All apartments have air conditioning, safe box (additional charge), bathroom, kitchen, free Wifi connection and TV. Superior apartments and Sea View Superior apartments have been redecorated in a medite-rranean style in 2015. Carema Club Resort is the perfect place for your family holidays with its on-site water park "Splash Park" and a full entertainment & all ages activities program, highlighting the main swimming pool, the restaurant buffet style "Vistamar" with its Kids zone, 2 "à la Carte" restau-rants, a Kids Playground and sport tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carema Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carema Club Playa Hotel Fornells
Carema Hotel Fornells
Carema Hotel Playa
Carema Club Resort Fornells, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing