We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful idyl”
Review of Carema Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carema Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The most beautiful see view with peacefulness around. We didnt participate in hotel events, because we had a car and travelet in the island. But it was great fot self catering.

Room Tip: There is no elevators, but view from upper floors is better
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sssssssandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
There are newer reviews for Carema Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived in the dark , got dropped off at the reception, (Very friendly receptionist) .... (Not so friendly and welcoming manager! ) .....was told we were to walk up the hill to our appartment, well this wasnt that easy in the dark, as its not greatly lit. and hard to find the room as there are hundreds and not well numbered!!!!
The whole block we stayed in was empty, as were the other 2 blocks, it was like a ghost town at the top of the hill. very quiet, no passing cars, and this was pretty much how it stayed the whole week.

We were the only Brits there, it was just Spainsh on their holidays.
No one spoke to us, none of the staff even aknowleded us! it was like we were invisable!.. ( maybe because we weren't all inclusive, and didn't have an orange wrist band)

The apartments, were well equiped, hob, microwave, kettle, etc.
The beds were nice and comfy, nice balcony with sea view.
Sofa, TV, no english channels, except SKY news,
maid service every other day. excellent job!
Shower was ok, not powerful, but enough hot water when we needed it.

The air con leaves a lot to be desired. it was not really an air con unit, more a cool fan, which didnt realy do a great deal. except the added bangs/groans and noises in the middle of the night to wake you up. ( I hope it was the air con) LOL!!!

The shop was just by us and very well stocked, and not that over priced really.
The 2 restaurants were lovely, we alternated between the 2 as there is no where else to go!

I doubt i would I come here again as it just wasnt for me, as it was far too quiet, but it is a lovely place, with lovely beaches. ideal if you just was a very quiet relaxing holiday.
with some nice walks too.

We ended up going to the town most days on the bus, but the last one back to the apartments was about 5pm so you couldnt stay in the town for the night and have a meal, unless you got a taxi back, or hired a car.
Hirring a car is deffinately recomended, the roads are very quiet, so even a novice would be able to drive around ok.
I

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank andibobbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Arriving at 1am we were wondering what we would be waking up to. First impressions of the reception area was great. Friendly, helpful staff. We found our apartment easily but could imagine others wouldn't be that lucky as numbering was strange. We opened the bedroom shutters to see the lovely pool area lit up. In the morning, we weren't disappointed with the location. The food in the buffet dining room was lovely. A great variety for all but sometimes was not hot enough but there were microwave ovens. The staff were good. Always checking tables for empty plates etc. Stunning walks, views. Lovely clean beaches. Ideal for snorkelling. Local buses were reliable and reasonable. Bus day trips are a must. There is a local spar for bits and pieces. The other local restaurants are worth a visit. Walk up the hill to Sa Dolca restaurant and meet Maria - the owner. We had a thoroughly lovely time. We had too much sun ( just joking )

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We read some of the reviews prior to going on our holiday and although concerning we were open minded regarding certain aspects of the holiday, namely the italian invasion.
On arriving I would certainly say that the majority of people staying at the hotel were italian although we thought that might not be a bad thing considering how some brits can behave abroad. We requested a sea view and that was exactly what we got, stunning views I must admit. The layout of the hotel is good and the food was fantastic with a wide variety to cater for all tastes. One major issue with the hotel is the entertainment which is run by an italian company and is exclusively for italians. We found the entertainment reps to be ignorant and arrogant and had no intentions of including non italians in the very odd games they play (very hard to explain to my children why they could not get involved). I have read previous reviews regarding this matter and the replies from the hotel management stating 'the entertainment has nothing to do with them' therefore I would seriously question who actually runs the hotel, the management or the entertainment company. If you can look beyond the lack of entertainment at night or only wishing to use the hotel as a base then it is the place for you otherwise maybe look elsewhere which is a shame because I cannot fault the hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DGJones1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

First of all i must say i am not one to complain and this is the first time i have ever left a review and we have travelled all over Spain in the past 5 years and been very happy !
This holiday was simply not as described !
The location is ok, over looking the sea...................................... Thats about it for the good bits !
There is 1 shop in the area for at least 4 kilometers and only 2 restaurants unless you go into Fornells village which is about 4 - 5 kilometers away, but again there are only restaurants there all selling the same food ! No pubs or bars what so ever within 20 kilometers !

THE MAIN BAD POINT IS THAT UNLESS YOU ARE ITALIAN - YOU ARE NOT WELCOME !!
An Italian tour operator called " VIAGGI " basically run the hotel and DO NOT like the ENGLISH ! All the entertainment is in ITALIAN ! ALL STAFF ARE ITALIAN AND SPEAK LITTLE ENGLISH !

The buliding is in an area that maybe 1 day will be busy and have more around it but at the moment it is run by VERY RUDE ITALIANS and is VERY QUIET/BORING - Especially if you have kids !

PLEASE STAY CLEAR OF THIS 1 - DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ! THERE ARE LOTS OF BETTER PLACES TO SPEND YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON - Thats coming from experience !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Edward_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

First impressions of the hotel on arrival were excellent. We were greeted by friendly reception staff who were willing to help us get the best start to our holiday. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and it is not until you get into your apartment that you realise why this is only a three star complex...
Although the apartments were clean, they were in need of modernisation - particularly the bathrooms. Take note; the hot water tanks in each apartment are not big enough for more than 2 people to have a hot shower consecutively, these don't even have to be long, which you might want to bare in mind. It is also helpful to know that the rooms only get cleaned every other day - which you are not informed of but it does affect the state you leave your room in because coming back to our room on the first day realising no towels had been changed and the beds hadn't been made confused us a little as we had never been to a hotel where they ran a cleaning schedule like this before. Another point on the complexes cleaning regime, that is for anyone who likes their bed sheets changed regularly, you may not be pleased to know that the bed sheets were not changed once in a 10 night stay: I don't know how long you would need to stay to get the privelege of fresh sheets! Another thing which we wish we had been informed about before our stay is that the rooms do not have air conditioning which they really could do with! Sleeping in the summer heat of Menorca could be quite uncomfortable - if you are someone who cannot bare to be hot at night and loves a hot shower than you might want to think again about staying at the Carema Club Playa!
The entertainment is what let the complex down the most. If you do not know italian it is almost impossible to participate! It seems that the italian tour operator "InViaggi" obviously own part of the complex because they are the only company to provide entertainment and they do not entertain in any language other than italian; it made the rest of us feel like second class citizens! All kids clubs, sports clubs and pool activities are also run by the company and I believe if you had a small party it could feel quite intimidating if you do not know italian because most of the guests are italian also; leaving you quite isolated during evenings and most of the day. Not that it is wrong that the italian guests were being entertained but it would be nice if the rest of the guests had the chance to get involved to!
The restaurant staff were excellent. They were all multi-lingual, unlike InViaggi, and it was clear to see that every guest felt welcomed by them. They made sure that there was always sufficient space for all the guests and worked tirelessly to make sure empty plates never lingered on the table for long! The food itself was of a good standard; mainly italian based but there was variety throughout our 10 days at lunchtime and dinner. Everyday you could be sure there would be dishes to please the adventurous aswell as the fussy eater. The only negative about the food was that sometimes it could be a little cold; but through no fault of the staff - you could tell they were trying their best! Breakfast could have done with a bit more variety as that was the only meal which seemed a little repetitive but our personal party didn't have any issues with that.
The location of the complex was almost perfect. But beware that it could be difficult without a car as the buses which run are not very reliable. It is only a 5/10 minute drive from the centre of Fornells, which is beautiful. It is in a good place to be able to navigate your way around the island using the as the complex itselef is off one of the major roads on the island.

Overall, the complex provided our party with a pleasant place to stay for 10 days and with some alterations to the rooms and entertainment the Carema Club Playa would be worth more than the 3 stars it is now!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amybotwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Before we booked this hotel we read all previous reviews and put a special requirement of "nice room with seaview" .. and that's exactly what we got!

It is an aparthotel pleasantly spread over a hillside so plenty of steps to negotiate.

Our room (B210) was high up in the peach coloured buildings with a great view over the bay. OK we looked over the roofs of other lower apartments but that was no big deal.

We had our own pleasant 'village square' and could park our hire car right outside the room.

The hotel has a non-stop entertainments program including day-time games and sports activities and evening entertainment. OK it is all in Italian as that is where most of the hotels clients are from but you can stil join in lots of things .. and enjoy them. The best evening was the flamenco dancing with a modern interpretation .. wonderful !

This complex has everything (including its own professional scuba diving school) so you need never leave it ! But that's not us - so we hired a car for the entire week to explore the island of Menorca, which is a very beautiful island with spectacular coves (Cala Mitjana is the best - caves and cliff jumping !) and plenty of history. As well as doing a couple of scuba dives we also hired a couple of laser dinghies in Fornells.

The hotel staff are spot on and the room itself was basic and comfortable. It was cleaned every other day (maybe it should have been every day). We did have to buy some bleach from the supermarket to counteract a slight drain odour in the bathroom.

Overall we do think this hotel was very good value for money (£510 for a 3-person room for a whole week. That was on a self catering basis. The room has its own kitchenette area with fridge and mirrowave. You can book other board types including all inclusive but we like to eat out at a diferent place each night.

We would recommend this hotel to families and couples but would recommend a hire car to give you total freedom to explore this wonderful island.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in the peach coloured part of the complex .. they're newer. And ask for a...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornells
16.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
283 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,734 reviews
9.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,537 reviews
16.6 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carema Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carema Club Resort

Address: Carrer de Baix s/n | Urbanizacion Playas de Fornells, 07748 Fornells, Menorca, Spain (Formerly Carema Club Playa)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Fornells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Price Range: $82 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carema Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carema Club Resort is located on the sea front with direct access to Cala Tirant beach, on the North coast of Menorca. All apartments have air conditioning, safe box (additional charge), bathroom, kitchen, free Wifi connection and TV. Superior apartments and Sea View Superior apartments have been redecorated in a medite-rranean style in 2015. Carema Club Resort is the perfect place for your family holidays with its on-site water park "Splash Park" and a full entertainment & all ages activities program, highlighting the main swimming pool, the restaurant buffet style "Vistamar" with its Kids zone, 2 "à la Carte" restau-rants, a Kids Playground and sport tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carema Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carema Club Playa Hotel Fornells
Carema Hotel Fornells
Carema Hotel Playa
Carema Club Resort Fornells, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing