We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sea food, a great value set menu, and a great location.”
Review of Es Port

Es Port
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely sea food, a great value set menu, and a great location.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Traditional sea food restaurant in central Fornells. Delicious and great value. No kids menu - but plenty of simple dishes that kids will like. Much better than some of the pricier options nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevebrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    146
    31
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonning on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Us three sports lunched at Es Port.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were out on a day's private excursion with Pep Marti, owner of Jeep Safari Menorca. He recommended, with the added endorsement of a local friend and businessman, that we took lunch at Es Port: we did so on Saturday 25/05. It enjoys a coveted position, down on the waterfront, with parking nearby. It's a good looking place with the added attraction of being particularly well maintained. It was earlyish for Spanish lunchtime eating but already it was getting busy - including, encouragingly, with large tables of locals.
Its interior was equally as immaculate as its exterior - so too its good natured waiting staff. We had not pre-booked and yet, were offered a well positioned table towards the front.

The a la carte menu immediately got the message across that it specialised in all things from the sea. You didn't need to be a member of MENSA to figure out that lobsters were among its specialities because a large, raised, glass tank contained a live colony of them.

As much as we would have cherished settling-in for the afternoon, we were governed by a rather tight schedule and so, we ordered accordingly ... foregoing especially some large, remarkable, paellas that passed us, en-route to other tables. These were by no means of the 'tourist variety': some of the versions even included one or two 'chappies' that I saw earlier, crawling around in the glass tank.

We ate octopus in gallega sauce and fish 'croquetas' while chef prepared our mains of sole meunière, stuffed squid and grilled sea bass - all of which were absolutely ace and, generous in size.

As we left, Es Port was positively heaving - quite unlike the nearby competition. And that really says it all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barton-bonviveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food was reasonable, but thumbs up for the incredibly ice-cold beer and Coke!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We came across this restaurant by chance on a day trip to Fornells. Lucky to get a table outside in Summer without making a reservation, we sat down, relaxed and enjoyed the view and the food that we ordered. The waiter took ages to get our order and came back twice to check some of the things (note that we were only two people) and still managed to forget something. He seemed be having trouble dealing with all the customers coming in and out, and placing their orders and getting the bills. Nonetheless, he was friendly and good humoured. The food was reasonable, but thumbs up for the incredibly ice-cold beer and Coke! Overall, it is a nice place to have a few stress-free moments having a drink and some tapas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaPrataDiasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quality Seafood”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

You may think this restaurant is not that popular if you go before 9 as it may be empty. This may be because most tables are booked well in advance.
People want to sit outside but we found the cool interior just as nice and there is a chance to observe your dinner in a tank, before it gets to your plate.
Wonderful seafood, especially the paella, and excellent choice of resonable wines. This is one of the best in Fornells, and there is plenty of competition.
Thanks to the staff for making our visits so enjoyable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Freshest fish dishes that money can buy in Fornells....”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

After a complete shocker at es pla we headed to es port the next evening and had the best service along with top quality food.Fresh fish caught that morning.... Superb mussels and pan fried Angler fish washed down with a crisp Spanish Chardonnay... Book a table as this place gets busy most nights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stu_viv_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Port also viewed

Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 
Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 

Been to Es Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing