We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Dukinfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent hotel for touring the Somme valley and the battlefields of the First World War. The chef/patron, Jean-Luc Richard continually strives to improve the facilities. The food is excellent and good value for money. It has a nice friendly atmosphere. Parking outside on road or in signed area opposite. Rooms at the rear are very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    72
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
43
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great place to stay for one night. Clean room, a little basic but perfectly good enough and the price was reasonable. Very friendly staff although they don't speak English. Although once we made an effort to speak in French they were great hosts. Evening meal and breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recommend it for a brief stay if you are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesT0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We ended up here by default and not by choice. Never again. Dirty room which felt it had been kitted out from a charity shop. Weird camping toilet like something on a plane. Television the size of an iPad, no air conditioning, right at the front so it was SO SO noisy all night long. And €98!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMsMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, U K
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A great hotel to stay for a short visit.Room was on 2nd floor at the rear. This was good as we could keep the windows open all night and it was quiet.Small bar which was well stocked. The restuarant was great, good choice and plenty food. Service was prompt. Breakfast was very good.We would certainly stay here again.The host was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for two nights and my immediate reaction was not favourable. It is looking rather tired but it had everything you need such as a fridge, en suite, clean and tidy. Just all a bit "80s" and a bit basic. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good and the host made every effort to please us. We used his garage parking to the side of the restaurant, breakfast was good, the little bar area was fun to sit in and chat to other guests before going into the restaurant. No lift, bit noisy as we had room at front so could keep windows open to cool down. He gave us a bottle of the House Wine on leaving and we would recommend him but its not plush and lush!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Another of those lovely old French country town hotels situated in a small 19C town house. Room plenty spacious, we had both a twin and a double to choose from, Shower more than adequate with French plumbing to match. However this small hotel has a very fine cook. We enjoyed potage de Grandmere, a huge bowl of steaming vegetable soup, a huge assiette de fruits de mer that we both shared, plenty of mussels, prawns, cockles and squid. Mrs Mac then ate a Cabillaux (cod) gratinee with leeks and potatoes, really fresh and tasty, while I had the roti de porc with a sauce forestiere. We drank a fine red Saumur. Unfortunately, no room for dessert.
coffee good. Breakfast was equally generous and wide ranging served as a self service buffet. Plenty of choice of cereal, fruit, yogurts, cold meats, eggs and pastries. A most comfortable stay, well worth a visit, especially the reastaurant. The genial patron gave us a bottle of his wine as we left, a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Whilst passing through Albert, my usual hotel was full so I took a chance on this one. It's a good location, just a minute or two stroll to the town centre. Parking is either on the street (very busy and not very wide) or in a dirt parking area across the road. There is no lift and the stairs are narrow and steep - so be aware of this is you have heavy and/or large bags. My room was tired, very tired. It looks like it was refurbished sometime in the mid 70s. The bathroom was small and dark, not a place to spend more time than one has to. The chap at reception was friendly enough and they have a restaurant if you can't be bothered to walk into town. As a rest stop it was ok, just. But you really wouldn't want to spend more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear of the hotel as the front looks over a very busy road and bright street lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
197 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
11.4 mi away
ibis Styles Peronne Assevillers
11.5 mi away
Hotel le Prieure
Hotel le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Rancourt
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 43 rue Victor Hugo, 80300 Albert, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing