We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A welcoming place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a great find, a real old French hotel that still provides friendly and hospitable services to it guests. Though an older style hotel it is very clean and comfortable with some character due to age of the hotel. The host and staff all go out their way to ensure your stay is made enjoyable. Lovely atmosphere to enjoy the surroundings with good food and drinks, Centrally located within easy walking distances to all attractions and town centre. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
42
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were a group of veteran cyclists touring the Somme on and found this small but charming hotel to be an ideal choice. The rooms were very clean and both the bar and guests lounge very welcome after a long day. We too spent 2 nights at the hotel and ate in the restaurant on both nights. Note the pancake starter "Fiscel de Picard was fantastic! Our bikes were locked up safe each night. Room was at the rear and although lacking a great view was quiet. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a properly french, old style hotel and restaurant. As the reviewer below says, the rooms are comfortable and clean. We too had a room on the front (number 7 on the top floor)and it was a bit noisy, but certainly not enough to stop sleep. The rooms are impeccably clean, ours had a double and a single bed. It is the food that is the major selling point. We ate in the restaurant both nights and had high quality food on both occassions. It is a menu that covers all bases, of home cooked, fresh food. Breakfast was also very high quality, with a wide ranging buffet. If you want an identikit box, this isn't for you. If you want a real french hotel, in a local town in the Somme, this is for you.

Room Tip: A room at the back would be quiter, but the rooms at the front have views out to the countryside, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was basic but comfortable, and had a faded charm. Our Family room, at the front of the hotel, was good for 2 adults and 14 year old son. With the windows open it was quite noisy being above the main road, but each room had a fan for hot nights so the windows could be left closed. Great choice at the buffet breakfast and plentiful fresh coffee. We ate in the restaurant on one of our two nights and the food was good. People who weren't guests were using the restaurant, and it was recommended by the Tourist Office. The staff and proprietor were friendly and helpful. All in all a good place to stay - good value, good food and good location.

Room Tip: We chose the 'Family Room' which is 2 bedrooms with a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKing57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just an overnight on the way to Reims. Super and very French. The proprieter speaks more English than he lets on! Rooms great. TV has BBC News and important info in English. Nice and clean, comfy bed and plenty of hot water. Food good and overall a very nice.

Great for the Somme area and Albert is about as French as it gets. Loads to do concerning the first world war and a good place to base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedseagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly, courteous and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean with good facilities. A nice little restaurant, food excellent with a good choice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjvincent5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWCESTER
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just had a fantastic Motorbike Trip to France (five of us) staying at this Hotel. Its location was ideal for our intended visits to the WW1 Battlefields. The rooms are basic, clean & quite adequate for five tired Bikers to shower & bed down for the night. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast where a very nice continental breakfast was served each morning & an evening meal which I have to say was unexpectedly outstanding. The food was amazing. The staff were extremely friendly & welcoming & made our return back from a busy day out very pleasant & relaxing. I thoroughly recommend this Hotel - it is an ideal stop off base for the travelling holiday maker.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
94 reviews
13.7 mi away
Auberge des Remparts
Auberge des Remparts
#2 of 2 in Peronne
28 reviews
13.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Le Saint Claude Peronne Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 43 rue Victor Hugo, 80300 Albert, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing