We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Vintage

Au Vintage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Vintage
Ranked #1 of 1 Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Au Vintage during May 2013 with my father. We spent 3 nights at this B&B and used it as our base to explore the Somme battlefield. I can't think there is a better place to stay if you visit the Somme region. The house and rooms are lovely and well equipped. There is free wifi and we took the rooms with en suite bathrooms - which were fantastic. The breakfast is continental but more than enough to keep you going, with croissant, baguette, toast, cereal and yoghurt. Best of all are the wonderful hosts Jacky and Evelyne who strike that wonderful balance between being attentive and welcoming, and leaving you space to get on with your holiday. We have nothing but praise for Au Vintage!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I and a friend stayed here while touring the Somme Battlefield in May 2013, and we couldn't have had better luck than Au Vintage. Evelyn and Jacqui are outstanding hosts: friendly, helpful, generous, and always smiling. They gave us the whole top floor, closing off one guest room so we could have our privacy. My husband and I took one room, our friend took the other, and we had our own landing with a couch as a common area. Not that we needed it. The house is lovely, open to guests, and we felt welcome everywhere. Breakfast is continental, not a gourmet spread--but beautiful and delicious nevertheless, enough until you find a lunch spot. If you're headed north from Paris, detour by Albert and seek out Au Vintage. If you aren't interested in the history of the Somme, go on a hike in this wonderful, rolling scenery. One note of warning: Albert has one good restaurant, directly across from the Basilica. Don't bother with the one next door, a cafe called Hygge. It's...pretty bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheslyn Hay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent just one night at the Au Vintage - would like to have stayed longer. Evelyn and Jacky are fantastic hosts, you are made to feel very welcome like one of the family but not in an intrusive way. The B & B has lots of wow factor and plenty of history to go with it. The rooms are huge (we stayed in the Rubis) with everything that you could need. Breakfast continental style and plenty of it. Would not hesitate to stay again and to recommend them especially if you are visiting the Somme area. Absolutely delightful thankyou Angie and Paul

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Evelyn and Jacky are without doubt the best hosts my wife and I have ever encountered. Their B & B is absolutely fantastic. A beautifully restored building that was built just after the first war. The rooms are wonderful, breakfast is great. What a wonderful couple...

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Insist that Evelyn and Jacky join you for breakfast. A great couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a wonderful 4 night stay here in January 2013 whilst visiting the Somme Battlefields. Au Vintage is in Albert in a quiet side street. The house used to be an old Brewery and has been loving converted into a Chambre d'Hotes by Evelyne and Jacky your wonderful hosts. We had a large room with a huge bathroom, both pleasantly furnished and very clean. Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi are available in the room. Breakfast was typical French; croissants, bread, jam, yoghurts. We will definately return here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Situated within an easy walk of the centre of Albert and perfectly placed as a base for touring the Somme. Plenty of off street parking. We had a room with shared facilities but being the only guests at this time, this was not a problem. Rooms are quite large, very clean and very comfortable. Room was situated on the second floor and if you have trouble handling your luggage this could be a problem. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts, Evelyne and Jacky are two very nice people who can give great information about the local area. Recommended to stay here..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.4 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
187 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
94 reviews
14.0 mi away
Auberge des Remparts
Auberge des Remparts
#2 of 2 in Peronne
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Vintage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Vintage

Property: Au Vintage
Address: 19 rue de Corbie, 80300 Albert, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Albert
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing