We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, clean hotel with excellent food in the resturant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Picardie
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A quiet, clean hotel with excellent food in the resturant”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights in July and used it as my base for the Somme battlefields and memorials. The hotel is just on the outskirts of Albert and has loads of on site parking. When I arrived it was very quiet , few cars and few people but the guy at reception was great and made us feel very welcome. the room was very good.... up to the normal great western standard. Clean and tidy with free wifi in all rooms.
We had dinner in the resturant and it was EXCELLENTand the service was efficient and friendly.
This is a a truly great find and I will be back next year.

Room Tip: my room had air con which was a blessing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    86
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
75
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our fortnights holiday in France. The hotel is well signposted in Albert and is situated on the outskirts of the town. Ideal for touring the Battle of the Somme region. We arrived on a Sunday evening and the hotel was very quiet -only appeared to be a few rooms occupied which felt a bit strange having come from the hustle and bustle of Disneyland. The following night was busier and included business travellers which gave the hotel a better atmosphere. Breakfast was very good and included the option to self boil eggs together with cheeses, cold meats and all the usual breads and pastries.

WI fi is free and worked very efficiently - in fact the best hotel for WI fi we had during our fortnight in France. As others have said the staff are very friendly and double up as waiters, bar staff and receptionists. They all spoke English well.
The restaurant was closed when we arrived on the Sunday evening but we ate there the following night and it was very nice. Just needed more diners to improve the atmosphere.

The rooms are in keeping with a three star hotel (adequate but not especially large) and are kept spotlessly clean. Our sheets were changed after our first night which was a pleasant surprise.

The outside design of the hotel intrigued me, a castle type frontage which didn't quite seem to fit in with the area or the interior. Strange but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: A room facing the rear of the building will be quieter as away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel has good parking facilities on the edge of the town. It took us 20 mins to walk into the centre, stopping to take occasional photos so not rushing. We also found later that parking in the centre is not a problem. Albert is a very good location for visiting the Somme battlefields and memorials.

The superior room we booked was adequate - pleasant enough but not stylish. No toiletries or soap - just on the wall dispenser of green cleansing stuff by the bath and sink. The bed was comfortable but the thick duvet was too hot for the time of year and warm nights. The air con worked and was quiet, but I would have slept better with lighter bedding.

We ate breakfast and two dinners here - all fine. We asked the price of drinks in the bar as there was no price list on display and were told, for example, that a bottle of 1664 beer was 2 euro. When we got the bill, it was double this!! The bar man obviously had no dea what drinks cost and was guessing. Our bill was a bit of a shock!

Generally, there is just one person on front-of-house duty doing the reception, the bar, serving in the restaurant and cleaning the floors at the end of the evening. This person is rushing around and it gives the air of a hotel being run on a shoestring. Having said that, the staff we met (different morning and evening) were friendly and did their best to help.

I might stay again - not sure. It didn't seem particularly cheap.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolk_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I took a small group there and they were ready for us upon arrival. The rooms were as good as you could expect for a three star hotel and the service was good in the restaurant was very good. Everybody really enjoyed their dinner here.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel is on the edge of Albert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Helpful?
1 Thank SgtBilkoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while visiting the Somme battlefields with our young son. It was very clean and quiet in a good location just on the edge of Albert. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was good on the night we ate in and my son enjoyed the pool table in the downstairs lounge.
A very good location for touring the Somme battlefields. The only downside was that it was slightly too far from the centre of Albert to walk although parking in Albert is not really a problem

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yakimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It's clean tidy, a little dated.. Rooms are in need of serious updating and the bed looks like its seen more action than Pamela andersons futon!!! A little over priced but ok. Drink are pricy well when you can pin down the one member of bar staff who is also the maid, the cook, front of house and the valet!! Would we come back, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neologic2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.8 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
16.6 mi away
Hotel Marotte
Hotel Marotte
#6 of 20 in Amiens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Picardie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Picardie

Property: Hotel Royal Picardie
Address: Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Picardie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Royal Picardie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Picardie
Best Western Albert
Best Western Amiens
Amiens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing