We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good basic curry house”
Review of Shapla Restaurant

Shapla Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 77 Restaurants in Burgess Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Shapla holds the classic combination of traditional values and authentic food. Shapla, located in Burgess Hill, West Sussex was established in 1983. The Indian restaurant offers a collaborative service with staff who are welcoming, attentive and effortlessly friendly. Our experienced Chefs have consistently been providing high quality food and service over the years. They have a passion to go the extra mile, taking care of the minuscule details that sustain a sophisticated and tranquil dining experience for our customers. Whether your someone with a light appetite or one who loves to indulge themselves into the smell of eastern spices, Shapla is the place for you with its vast choice on the menu suited to everyone's taste.We invite you to come in and relish Shapla's ultimate dining experience...
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good basic curry house”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here a few times now, the most recent being Sunday 17th March.

The staff are always friendly and helpful and the food is consistently of a high standard. On my most recent vist I had the mixed biryani which was very good.

One thing I don't get is that I am often the only person eating in.

Helpful?
Thank D_Marshallwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahar H, Manager at Shapla Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Than you for your comment.

We are very please to hear that you enjoyed your meal.

Our Sunday nights are very strange, some Sundays we are very busy and some Sundays quiet.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently great.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been to this restaurant several times over the last few years and I must say, we've always had a great experience. The food is good and service attentive. The menu has recently been streamlined, sadly on our last visit one of our favourite dishes had been removed but this wasn't a problem as the manager arranged for it to be prepared for us anyway.

Looking forward to going again really soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hflyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahar H, Manager at Shapla Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

Unfortunately we had to cut down on some old dishes to introduce some dishes, however never a problem to cook your old favorites.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent takeway food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been using the Shapla at Burgess Hill for Indian takeaways for many years. Last night's was the best that we have ever eaten from any Indian Restaurant in the area and we have lived in Burgess Hill for over 30 tears. Excellent menu. Fantastic service. Well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahar H, Manager at Shapla Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much we love hearing about our takeaway service and glad you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sublime Duck Tikka”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Have used Taza previously but spotted Shapla. Only 1 mile from Burgess Hill Premier Inn, so parked at hotel and walked back - and so glad I did. Almost empty meant I had full attention of both waiters, so great service and then I had my starter, duck tikka - oh my days- best ever! Chicken tikka Ceylon was also very tasty. Note to curry monsters, if you want it hotter ask, because 2 chilli symbol was actually medium. I will return to tackle the Nagaria! Also had a lovely cup of chai tea to finish off a fine meal, now for that walk back......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahar H, Manager at Shapla Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have been many times & also bought take-aways & always have a lovely meal. A family run business who look after their customers. Good service, lovely food, what more can you ask. Easily the best in Burgess Hill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathySussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutahar H, Manager at Shapla Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for you comment. It is always great to hear when a customer enjoys our takeaway service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shapla Restaurant also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to Shapla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing