We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant but a bit hit and miss at times”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Spice - CLOSED

Royal Spice
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Their phone number: 01444 871410. They don't seem to have a website.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but a bit hit and miss at times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Visited this place with a large group of friends for someones birthday and it was packed being the weekend and it made for a good atmosphere but the waiting times were very long and the food was only average on this occasion. My Balti didn't taste anything like a Balti should and others in the party agreed that their dishes lacked that little something that would have made the meal. The service was ok but the staff were very busy with our waiter struggling to hide his unease towards the end. It's quite a large restaurant with plenty of seating and I feel they should be better prepared for busy occasions.

I've had other meals there that have been fine but overall it's average in terms of food and service but on a plus point it's large selection of seating means it can accommodate larger parties and events and also has an online ordering service for takeaways.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanders741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

5 of us went out yesterday for a curry at The Royal Spice in Burgess Hill last night and the food was great. The portion size is more than adequate especially if you do not have starters. We all ordered different curries and everyone enjoyed what they had. We also tasted each of the curries and all were differently spiced. We ordered two side dishes that were delicious, the shall was very flavoursome and the potato and spinach would have made a wonderful vegetarian main course.

The service was excellent without being intrusive and I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sisters1plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It has changed...and for good. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting this place for years. In our recent visits we have noticed a massive change in the taste and it is really a welcome change. Change of chef may be. I didn't ask. Chicken and lamb dishes were awesome. Bhuna ghost (lamb dish) was nicely cooked and spiced to our taste. I'm going to try that dish again in my next visit before I add it to my favourites. Chicken tikka and chicken curries were not very spicy. Service has always been excellent at Royal Spice. Friendly staff. Do try if you fancy Indian curries in the area. Spacious and hygienic place. Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank Vishal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The service was very good & food came very quickly. However the food quality was only okay , the food didn't have the range of flavour you would expect of this type of food, the sauces were quite sweet for example.

We had an enjoyable meal, but I think you can get better quality food for a simlar price elsewhere

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ay_gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. Reputation had gone south but under new management, they certainly were a vast improvement. Still al little pricey for a take away but definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drewheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Spice also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing