We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Burgess Hill

“Birthday treat”
Review of The Oak Barn

The Oak Barn
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Burgess Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The inglenook Long bar and sofa areas make this area a cosy and relaxing atmosphere, perfect for a chat with friends any night of the week. It is a great place to pop in for a drink with a huge variety of wines, beers and spirits. For summer days and enclosed courtyard is a real sun trap with water features and foliage in abundance, making it a great place to spend some care free hours, or you may prefer the patio area which is quiet, relaxing and overlooking the comings and goings of the bar, making the perfect place to people watch! In addition, it's an ideal place to spend your lunch breaks with easy and free access to parking, so you won't be late for work. There is a great range of baguettes, wraps, salads and hot bar meals to suit your tastes. There is a huge range of hot and cold- light bar meals served from 11:00am-9:30pm as well as our main restaurant menu which will be served from 12:00pm-3.00Pm and 6:00pm onwards. The Bar and Specials menu as well as the Main restaurant can be served either in the Bar or main Restaurant, giving you great flexibility on where you would like to eat. Part of the restaurant can be portioned off and used for private functions. The focal point being an old sandstone Fireplace makes this area would provide ideal conference facilities for up to 25 people comfortably. The great oaks of England admirably sum up the nation's character of quality and solid dependability and they are what you can expect when you visit the Oak Barn Bar and Restaurant. The original 250 year old barn has been lovingly restored using old oak beams, many of which are salvaged from the great wooden ships of nelson's day. Complete with several authentic wagon wheel chandeliers, Old Sussex Sandstone and Inglenook fireplace, stained glass windows, oak floors additionally, perched charmingly above the main dining area is an oak gallery which is already a favourite spot for diners.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Lovely meal as usual but too stingy with the vegetables. We asked for a good quantity of vegetables and were given 2 small dishes between 3 of us. Not ample. Didn’t ask for any more as we know from past experience we would have been charged £4 for another small dish!, spoilt what was otherwise a pleasant experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suehomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markc386, Owner at The Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Sue. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. We are always happy to get more vegetables if people require so next time please do ask. I have passed your comments onto the staff and kitchen to ensure it doesn't happen again. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Oak Barn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 889 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020

Just returned from our first visit to the Oak Barn first impression was very nice building with plenty of original features.Staff very attentive but also gave you time between courses.We all opted for a roast dinner i e beef and lamb respectively.All roasts came with seasonal vegetables gravy and Yorkshire puddings.The meal cooked to perfection.Other than roast dinners they had a special menu as well as an A La carte menu.Well priced for the quality of food.Will return.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M1340CBchrisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markc386, Owner at The Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you Chris, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with is on Sunday. We are well known in the area for our Sunday roasts and its good to know that we lived up to our reputation. I shall pass your kind words onto the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Oak Barn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Because we all as a family, three generations, enjoyed a birthday meal here in 2018, we decided to repeat the experience and were NOT disappointed. We booked the separate area early so we could all sit together and pre-ordered our Sunday lunches a week before. Everyone really enjoyed their meal, in a relaxed atmosphere. Service was great, staff were friendly and we shall definitely return. Wonder whose birthday is coming up next?????

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenph66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markc386, Owner at The Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you Jen. I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed your time for Betty's Birthday Bash. It was a pleasure hosting you and your extended family. I shall pass your kind words onto the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Oak Barn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Recently visited with my family, a wide menu selection , excellent and attentive service, and v accommodating when dealing with the older members of the group! Great value.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank alistair0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markc386, Owner at The Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you Alistair, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. I shall pass your comments onto the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Oak Barn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

A group of us went here for Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday. The service from Carrie and Phoebe was smilingly efficient and the food was absolutely delicious. My husband sets the bar very high when it comes to roast beef but he declared his to be melt-in-the-mouth outstanding and others agreed. My pork was cooked to perfection and even our fish eater was impressed. The cauliflower cheese was also highly praised. A scrumptious syrup sponge was the perfect end to my lunch. We will definitely be going back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markc386, Owner at The Oak Barn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review Jan. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday lunch here with us and were well looked after by both Carrie & Phoebe. We are well known in the area for our Sunday roasts sourcing local meats & vegetables and its good to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations. I shall pass your kind words on to the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Oak Barn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Barn also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Bolney, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 

Been to The Oak Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing