We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Explosure”
Review of Farm In The City

Farm In The City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Farm in the City (FITC) is an unique concept that combines the elements of wildlife and nature set in a designed environment of a conservation park. resembling a typical Malaysian Village setting, it houses more than 100 species of Farm and Exotic animals and plants in specially built enclosures. One can get close, touch or feed the animals with almost Zero distance.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Explosure”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

It is a place like Zoo, not only that, you also have a chance to feed the animal. The place not only have animal, it also have a lot of plant and vegetable which with the name on it.

So far, there are 2 restaurants, one at inside ( not Aircon, like canteen ) which you can have your lunch while looking at goose, another almost at exit way, got aircon.

The most interesting thing which my chidren most enjoy are feed rabbit and catch small fish.

I find that this place really suitable especially children who live in town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tsfatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    82
    22
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Fun-filled outing for the kiddos”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Beyond the dodgy-looking, abandoned warehouses, you will find the main entrance and greeted by their friendly staff. One staff advised us to get the family package (basically the same price as two adults and two child tickets but you get two free pony rides and four drinks).

There are plenty of animals to see. Staff are stationed at every section to assist visitors and explain about the animals. We fed the giant tortoises, deers, rabbits, hamsters, birds, chicks, swans, ducks and fishes. Other than these tame animals, there are plenty of other animals to be seen - snakes, prairie dogs, pelicans, marmosets, mouse deers (kancil), monitor lizards, etc.

Ticket price include all activities (including feed for the animals but not the pony rides), so no unpleasant surprises inside the farm. Food and drinks are decently priced too. For example, two skewers of fishballs or nuggets at RM5, vitagen at RM1.50 each and soft drinks at RM3 per can.

The so-called "animal show" at 11.30am is actually a parrot show where the crowd gathers around a long table for a 10-minute performance. The pony ride is a very small loop and for children taller than 90cm only.

Although most parts of the farm is shaded, it can get very hot in the afternoon. The farm is opened at 9.30am on weekends and school holidays (10am otherwise), so get there early like us to avoid the crowd and the heat.

Overall, a really fun and educational place for family with young children. There are plenty of engaging activities to keep the young ones interested. Definitely better than the zoo.


Helpful?
1 Thank penangowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A pet farm in a city”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Not seem like stroller friendly, main road to the farm & the parking was patchy & uneven. The street heading to the entrance looked dodgy & empty.

Birds & fowls was aplenty. The rabbits could be healthier.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank halimran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to Zoo”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We wanted to bring our son to the Zoo but since the nearby Zoo is quite a distance away , we opted to this place instead. The staffs are friendly but the entrance fee was quite expensive. RM30 for adult with mykad. However once inside, you will be given leaves, grains, kibbles to feed the animals so I guess the fee was alright. We enjoyed the opportunity for our son to pet & feed the animals but some of the animals are in poor shape. Especially the rabbits & hamsters. Most of them were with skin diseases. We loved the animals near the exhibition hall especially the prairie dogs, skunk & baby chicks. Good kampung ambiance throughout the place with chicken and other avian running around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LonTugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were there on a weekday - me 8 months pregnant with two kids aged 4 and 5. There were a few school tours there. I can understand that this is a very popular spot for kids as they can get up close to the tame farm animals as well as interact and feed the animals. My kids been there 4 times since its open it door couple years ago!
However on our 5th visit this time we were being told to wait for the school tours to finish their visit before they let my kids feed the birds!! There were at least 3 big groups of school kids behind us. Why can't they just let us feed the birds first? The reason given was if the school kids saw us feed the birds they would want to do it as well but they cant entertain every school kids!! They suggested we go around the farm first and come back after! How can they said that to a heavily pregnant woman with 2 young kids!! I think they are unprofessional on handling this. I was not impressed by this.
However the kids are happy feeding the rabbits and hamsters later as well as a little horse ride under the hot sun which they don't seems to mind!
Overall this is a good educational place for young kids and very entertaining as well. I only hope that they can manage the walk in visitors and school tours well. Don't let the walk in visitors feel left out!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiewpsmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm In The City also viewed

Subang Jaya, Petaling District
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Farm In The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing