We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Last My Comments is Heard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace of the Golden Horses
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“At Last My Comments is Heard”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have a special arrangement via the hotel over the weekend with my partner.

The dinner setting inside the suite was impressive. The team did well. The food we pre-order was ok because it the vegetable and fish was very salty. The mushroom soup was nice but it's cold.

The only disappointment was during check in and the fruits basket was sent to us a complimentary.

Thank god with the new top management team, they are really looking and doing something on all the guests feedback and hopefully in my next return more compliments than negative feedback.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay with us. Nevertheless, I’ve personally taken time to discuss on the food quality and front desk services to the department heads concern, to measure and focus on providing memorable experiences for all guest in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconveniences and we thank you for your support and patronage. Lastly, we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses in the near future.


Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    162
    136
    87
    78
See reviews for
206
181
36
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Cons:
we ordered room service food. for an average of RM32/plate (malay food) and RM45/plate (western style) foods were lousy, tasteless and overcooked. the fries that came with the western meal was cold. realised the price tag were overcharged, with lousy food quality, totally felt ripped-off.
the swimming pool indicates that it was not properly maintained, as i can see algae growing on side of the pool slides and pool. some of the tiles are loose and can be dangerous, if stumble on.
RM18/adult for boat ride to Mine Shopping Centre is way too expensive. Should be FREE for hotel guest.

Pros:
Room ambience is awesome. I believed this is supported by proper maintenance plans. Soft and comfortable mattress and pillows. Clean bathroom.

wouldn't hurt if the flat screen samsung TV is bigger :)

Room Tip: travel of of Hotel, to near by restaurant. You may get better food at definitely, cheaper price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SyahidaIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured, this is not standard of service that the hotel is renowned for and I have taken the time to personally discuss the issues highlighted with the team members, ensuring the team focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

if you are tourist, and would like to see as much as possible it is not the right choice for you! But the hotel is impressive, our room was in the refurbished part, and the the rooms was amazing, with a huge bathroom with rainshower, they have a free shuttle bus to KL but it was always full so book it well advance

Room Tip: go for the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomexito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we have taken note your feedback on shuttle services and working towards to improve it for providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed there from 10-13 Dec. Very big but very old hotel. Although it underwent renovation, many areas still need upgrading and improvements. The room is very spacious and comfortable. Everywhere you go or turn to, you see horse paintings or decorations. Too much of the horses.

The good thing about the hotel is the theatre and the function rooms. They are big and spacious. Buffet was good but lack varieties. I ate almost the same type of food for lunches and dinners for three days.

The draw back is the hotel is far from the shopping area. The journey out to Sunway Pyramid was about 25-30 mins.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiketoTravel288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. For your information, building painting and upgrading works is on progress where can experience the new look and providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was doing the tragic thing of the lone NYE
went to the hotel because it just looked crazy. Everything had horses on it. The desk legs were horse legs, the tea room had a giganitc turning fountain of horses piled on top of each other. The hall ways are lined with amazing paintings of horses.
I am not a horsey person, but you just have to admire the consistency.
The pool and surround was great. The food superb.
The ride across the lake on the little boat was pretty good.
The staff are friendly, helpful and do try and help you enjoy your stay.
The wifi worked, with enough speed for me to skype my nearest and dearest in Australia and have a glass of wine with them.
I did a buffet lunch that went on for miles.
The place was once host to kings and queens and still has that magical feel.
You can even get an MRI in the wellness centre, alongside very amazing massage or chinese herbalists.
I would go back for a great relax.
Pity about the freeway noise, but the rooms were double glazed. And less interruptive than the local mosque where I am in Kepong.
needs to be a quiky fun rating of 4 stars!

Room Tip: get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doclisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palace of the Golden Horses. We appreciate your positive comment about overall stay experience. Thanks for sharing your feedback regard to our refurbished rooms, wellness and the foods.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future if you're in Malaysia.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed the stay. The staff were very polite and efficient. A grand hotel that time has caught up with as everything is beginning or already look dated. Room is spacious and comfortable but the furniture looked old, but still in good condition.

Went to the gym. The weights equipment were clearly very old but still usable - lifting gloves highly recommended. The pool is also relatively small and the kiddies pool has 2 water slides that will keep them happy for hours.

Was expecting more from the buffet breakfast, so was a bit disappointed to find the spread was similar to many other Malaysian hotels. BTW, had trouble trying to flush one of the toilets next to restaurant.

Room Tip: Was staying in rooms facing North (KL city) and had noise sounding like street racing until the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NO37Yong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. For your information, building painting and upgrading works is on progress where in the near future can experience the new look and providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebellingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Sumptuous and very much a palace. Real value for money. Another pleasant stay, the only draw back is the distance from the city. The bars, restaurants and spa are excellent. A walk in the grounds or boat trip using the hotel s water taxi to the local indoor market is worthwhile.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gallgbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted that your experience during your stay here with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sri Kembangan
1.3 mi away
Philea Mines Beach Resort
Philea Mines Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
18 reviews
5.3 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
728 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Putrajaya Shangri-La
#1 of 9 in Putrajaya
596 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
532 reviews
5.3 mi away
Palm Garden IOI Resort City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Property: Palace of the Golden Horses
Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan, Selangor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing