We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay only if it is free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace of the Golden Horses
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed from 23-25 Aug under complimentary stay voucher. Checked in at 4:15 pm, was told the room was not ready. No smile or greeting from reception staff upon arrival at front desk. Was given a welcome drink, but the lounge was packed with people who attend a function on that day.
Dropped luggage at the concierge, got the room at about 5pm, but luggage was never delivered until I have to give them a reminder call. Room is clean, just need serious renovation. Shower screen cannot shut properly, water spilled to the bathroom floor. Only a handfull of TV channels are watchable, the rest with poor reception quality. Had dinner at the Kin no Uma restaurant, the staff took my order wrongly. But food quality at this restaurant is good. Didn't make up our room on 2nd day, have to call for towel change, took them more than half hour to deliver them, they just brought bath towels only, not the whole set. No bathrobe and slippers in the room. May be free room doesn't include them. Had breakfast buffet on the 3rd day, food quality is nothing to shout about. However, the service provided was shockingly bad. Some kids were playing around with the silverware on an empty table, they put them into their mouth. The waiter didn't see it, but when he come over to prepare the table, he just rearrange the silverware on the table, the correct procedure is if the silverware had been disturb, they should be sent for washing. Before I left the restaurant, I drop those disturbed silverware on our table so that they get to clean them.

In short, this hotel doesn't deserve the 5 star rating (used to be 6 star). I had stayed in many boutique hotels before and there services are far more better.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is near the elevator. I got a room at the very far end, a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chongmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horse!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience when you stayed here recently. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and am very sorry that the services rendered not up to our expectation.

Rest assured, this is not standard of service that the hotel is renowned for and I have taken the time to discuss the issues highlighted with the team members, ensuring the team focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.
Once again, our sincerest apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 709 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

From reading the reviews of this Hotel I thought my Husband had made a big mistake booking us into this Hotel. However we had the most enjoyable and perfect time there with our two children aged 1 and 2 & half. The entrance is spectacular and has a real wow factor, I didn't find anything at all wrong with the place apart from it being slightly tired looking in places. Breakfast was a total feast of everything you could possible imagine to have, the pool is one of the better ones I have experienced in a Hotel, amazing for kids, my son spent hours going down the water slides, a gigantic mall is a 10min boat ride away, taxis are outside the hotel so getting into the city was no problem and we found the service to be very helpful.
I give this place a big thumbs up for a great place to stay, if you are after a brand new 5 star with all the bells and whistles and everything still shiny than this isn't for you, I still rates this as a 5 star that is lovely, but it is in need of a wee spruce up and polish in places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astilouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

We are delighted to learn of your good feedback and thank you for your appreciation towards our effort! We definitely look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience with us!

On another note, we will take attention to improvise the areas that you concern of spruce up and polishing needed.


Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I wish to informed you that on 24 August 2013 afternoon, I drove up to the hotel to pick up my wife from an ELKEN “MEGA SUCCESS SUMMIT” Convention.

While waiting in my car, one of THE HOTEL's security guard by the name of Ubin came up to me and RUDELY chased me away without informing me that the location of the nearest car park.

I believe this shouldn’t be the attitude adopted by a hotel of its standing and such rude behavior are not becoming generally tolerated by any patrons.

Moreover, the security guards may be the first contact any patron have upon visit to the hotel and it is obviously can leave a bad image and impression on the hotel in general.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SCLum8128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received when you came to fetch your wife recently.

Rest assured, I have taken the time to personally discuss this isolated incident with the team members to measure to avoid any recurrence.

Nevertheless, we have issued corrective action form to the staff concerned and send him for trainings to improve the customer service. We take your comment seriously and your feedback is definitely valuable as it allows us to improve on our services towards guests’ satisfaction.

Lastly, the team will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The word Palace is something may attract your instinct to explore further about the so called " royal" type of customer service, but i found out some other 4 stars hotels would serve u better .The photos of Super VVIPs displayed at the lobby was the history of the past glory of the hotel..The room need serious repair as all the furnitures are badly ageing.. The staff greeted you at breakfast cafe behaved like a security guard rather than a friendly hotel staff.
Nothing much to explore further here, better find some other hotels in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Warmest Greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

Do rest assured, I have taken the time to personally highlight this isolated incident with the relevant team members, ensuring them to focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests that stay at Palace of the Golden Horses.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently check in to this hotel and this is not my 1st stay. To begin with..check in was smooth as it was during normal working weekdays. Went into the room, carpet smells,few lights not working with missing TV remote control. It took like 40 min - 1 hr to obtain the remote (after few calls). Went into shower and the water pressure seems to be extremely low that the maintenance guy can't do anything...we had to use bidet to take our bath (yesss cold water all the way). At 10pm I requested for iron and iron board. After waited like 45- 1 hr, I call again and was promised by the operator that she will call back to notify.It doesn't happen, I redial the number and they didn't pickup my call, while waiting I called the hotel using my personal hand phone and it was picked up after 3 rings. WOW.. the operator ignore you when they unable to fulfill your request!!! I immediately lodge complain and to my surprise the operator raise her voice telling me they just swap shift and she know nothing about what had happened to me. I didn't change hotel... is change shift my fault????? I would advice those who want to stay in this horrible place to look at all the comments. The owner should consider changing the entire management team of this hotel as they totally don;t know how to manage one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alkepong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience when you stayed with us recently. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and am very sorry that the services rendered not up to our expectation.

Rest assured, this is not standard of service that the hotel is renowned for and I have taken the time to personally discuss the issues highlighted with the team members, ensuring the team focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.
Once again, our sincerest apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When I reached at the hotel, I was impressed on the luxury and grand feeling of the hotel outlook. Then I went to queue for the hotel check in. The check in queue was quite long, and there is lack of staff working at the counter. I was standing in the line for more than 30 minutes before my turn. This is not a service that should be provided by a 5-stars hotel.

After my check in, I went straight to my room. The overall environment of the hotel is clean and cosy. The room condition is great, and there is no complaint about the cleanliness. However, I found that most of the TV channel is not available.

The hotel located near to The Mines shopping mall. You can even take a cruise all the way to the mall. It is quite special.

Overall, I think the hotel is not bad, but if you compare it with another 5-star hotel, I think Palace of the Golden Horses still got space for improvement.

Room Tip: Get a room facing lake so that got better view and more windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Nevertheless, we have taken immediate actions from your comments and rest assures the comments on TV channels and check in process was improved.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

SO, SO, SO BAD !!! I don't know how this hotel has a 5 star rating ???? We were given the wrong room at our midnight check-in & 1/2 an hour later after complaining that we wanted what we had booked & payed for they shifted us to a suite (this was the only room available )
The suite was old , had stains on the furniture , smelt like stale cigarette smoke & the toilet & spa bath were so old & stained it was just gross !!!!! So disappointing . The hotel was like a ghost town as it became pretty obvious this was not a popular place to stay ! No taxi's are ever at reception ! so we waited 45 minutes both times we went into the city & on our way back both taxi drivers got lost as they had never been to the hotel ! Our stay got progressively worse with shocking service (when you could find someone ) & the hotel itself was so rundown & dirty, we saw room service dishes with old food piled up lying in the corridor for 2 days !!! . Just when we think it can't get any worse my daughter has a nasty accident at the pool & we spend the rest of the day & night at the Hospital . My husband tells reception we are checkin out early & all they say is you won't be getting a refund !! (we never asked ) Not one staff member asked about our daughter's well being! WORST HOTEL EVER !!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience when you attended the event recently. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and am very sorry that the services rendered not up to our expectation.

Rest assured, this is not standard of service that the hotel is renowned for and I have taken the time to personally discuss the issues highlighted with the team members, ensuring the team focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.
Once again, our sincerest apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Francis Alberto
Manager, Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sri Kembangan
1.2 mi away
Philea Mines Beach Resort
Philea Mines Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
19 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
590 reviews
5.3 mi away
Palm Garden IOI Resort City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
8.9 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#6 of 9 in Putrajaya
236 reviews
5.3 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#1 of 9 in Putrajaya
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan, Selangor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing