We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant place, defenately not suitable for business trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace of the Golden Horses
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The arrival to the hotel is impressive, but that's it. The service in check-in was slow and I avtually had to wait to get a room even though my arrival was around 4pm and room booked couple of weeks before.

The room was dirty and outdated. The door was broken so that even the staff members were strugling to open it. The bathroom had hair in the bathtub and shower looked uninviting and dirty as well. The wall tiles were falling off. The tv channels mostly didn't work and you had to re-login to the internet constantly.

In the morning it took 10 minutes to walk to the breakfast. Not really something you want to do on business trip. My room was located so that I had to go outside to access the breakfast room part of the hotel. They didn't seem to have enough food for everybody so lot of trays were left empty or collected away once finished.

I wish I never need to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RmenziesPGH, General Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas where we have failed and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

Dear Nouname

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant room, breakfast experience and the challenges you have endured, rest assured appropriate measures has been taken since your last visit in March and would be seeing positive results with the completion of our room’s refurbishment soon.
We understand your perception about our hotel has been marred but we sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to make amends and let us welcome you back,please do not hesistate to contact me of your next visit: rmenzies@pgh.mines.com.my.

Be Well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 709 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is breathtaking and the grounds immaculately kept. We were fortunate to be able to attend Ramadan feast in the restaurant during our stay. What a fabulous experience. We would definitely come back to this hotel and would recommend it to others. Thankyou, from the Stokes Family

Room Tip: Choose a room with views of the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b0ris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just returned from a week at POGHs.
Great location with waterway boat access to the Mines shopping centre and shuttle service into Petronas Towers if you want to go into the city centre.
Day trip down to Mallaca was only 600RM in our own taxi, full day with a very knowledgable local driver.
The resort is a spectacular building with some amazing outlooks onto beautifully kept grounds.
Staff where very helpful and happy people to deal with. Locals welcomed us into their Ramadan breaking of the fast dinners which were simply incredible.
The traditional music by the live band in the Carousel was great fun, and we just missed out on cheering Lee Chong Wei to a gold medal with Eddy and the boys at the bar.
Great jobs folks, keep smiling
Oki & Dui from Melbourne

Room Tip: Enjoy a whole different culture in safe, clean, happy surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel as part of a RCI exchange. This was our first visit to Malaysia and we thought Kuala Lumpur would offer us a good taste of the country. First we were alarmed to discover how far from the city the hotel is. Don't worry we will make the best of it and we did! Not with any help from the hotel.
The room was lovely and had a good outlook. The service of the room was good too and any problems we had were attended to in a timely way. The staff were friendly and helpful to the extent of their ability. But the systems they were working with were flawed. There was an almost complete lack of tourist information in the foyer. Just as well we had our iPad and wi-fi was available though cumbersome compared with other hotels we have stayed in. Trip Advisor became our front desk.
The shuttle to KL was not big enough or frequent enough and one driver was erratic. The Carousel buffet was fun for one day but we were staying seven. Fortunately we found out we could order a la carte.
There was nothing to do during the day except the pool and the mall, neither of which were up to standard. The pool towels were scrappy and the mall uninteresting. As I said we would make the best of it and we really enjoyed our fist visit to Malaysia.

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank magfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is certainly an amazing Hotel .We have stayed in K.L a few times but from now on we will definately forget all the other Hotels and stay at the Palace .All the staff are extremely friendly . The buffet at night is amazing and breakfast is certainly a treat .Anyone who is not happy here shouldn't 'leave their home .
Kevin & Rhonda

Room Tip: Be Polite and ask for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinStiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week. We found it very acceptable. It is about 25mins from the centre of KL but we liked that as it had a great outlook over a lake and golf course and it was good to be away from the city centre. There is a regular free shuttle to and from Kl that can be booked. We used this 4-5 times and found it efficient. We would especially like to mention how great the Duty Manager Hema Latha was. The Malaysian football team were staying at the hotel the same time and we have a football crazy grandson, so we bought him a football shirt and Hema arranged for all the team to sign it! We were there during Ramadan and the evening buffet was amazing. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Room overlooking lake best and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You would never be able to guess how many horse statues/lights/paintings etc this hotel has - but in saying that it is done very tastefully. The rooms are very spacious and clean - its a great hotel if your looking for something a little different and for one night. The grounds of the palace are great for a morning or evening stroll. Downside is your right on the freeway-so make sure to ask for a room on the opposite side. the palace is pretty spectacular looking when arriving at night - but this hotel is not located right in the heart of kuala lumpur. We picked up a car at the airport and stopped there for one night befor driving to the Cameron highlands...hence it was a perfect stop over hotel for us.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sri Kembangan
1.2 mi away
Philea Mines Beach Resort
Philea Mines Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
19 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
591 reviews
5.3 mi away
Palm Garden IOI Resort City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
8.9 mi away
Dorsett Putrajaya
Dorsett Putrajaya
#6 of 9 in Putrajaya
236 reviews
5.3 mi away
Le Meridien Putrajaya
Le Meridien Putrajaya
#1 of 9 in Putrajaya
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan, Selangor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing