We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room and great host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge room and great host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Beautiful view from the front verandah really sets the scene. Great room, great location (5 mins to town) and very helpful host. Recommended and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabawockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
77
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Very well kept BnB in Lindisfarne which is only 10 min drive to the city. Rooms have a view over the bay and are clean, tidy and very comfortable, especially the bed. Breakfast was great and room rate very good. I'll definitely stay here again when in Tassie next. Stan was very accommodating and relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were lovely. I think the Ethel Pearce room was my favourit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Lovely old house with sensational views of the Tasman Bridge and Hobart. A really good base for accessing Hobart attractions. Stan could not have been more helpful.
Really good breakfast and only 10-15 minutes from Salamanca (the market is great)

Room Tip: Own access is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

Visited Hobart for 4days with my spouse and found my stay Orana House the best decision we have ever made in this trip! Has had wonderful, quiet and restful sleep every single night, even though there is a tyreshop close as seen on Google Maps, you won't hear a thing! Location is very pleasent with an esplanade with beautiful view just a stone throw away. We rented a car and travelling was really easy, it's just 10 minutes drive to Hobart over the Tasman bridge, and 15 minutes drive to the airport made this place very accessible. Although, some drivers may not be as forgiving, as we were shouted at with vulgarity for no aparrent reason.

Orana House has a very homely feel and is very welcoming every day when return from our tours. We stayed at the Norman Pearce room and it's just clean, cosy with ample amenities. Made going home rather hard. Enjoyed the breakfast and Stan's hospitality.

Loved the freshly made muffins that was always ready for in our incomings and outgoing. A recommended stay location while visiting Tassie. i give it A+++++.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonjontai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Orana House is an historic family home located in Lindisfarne, a 10 minute drive from Hobart's CBD. We found the B&B to be very comfortable and clean. Breakfast each morning was served in a beautiful breakfast room and was self-service (continental breakfast). It was the small touches that made all the difference to us. There was a communal living room with TV, DVD player, free internet and a crackling fire. Our double share bedroom also had a digital TV, however we had limited reception so couldn't really use it. The location was a bit inconvenient without a car to drive into the CBD, but our host was more than happy to drop us into the city, and we soon figured out the bus service and it wasn't a long walk. We have no regrets about staying at Orana House and would recommend it to someone who wants to stay in a piece of history, rather than just a standard B&B.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed at this Bed & Breakfast with a friend for four nights in the middle of October. The bedrooms were large with good sized bathrooms and beds very comfortable. Stanislav (originally from Prague) was most helpful in every way and we had great chats at breakfast about the sights of Tasmania. The breakfast was always something to look forward to with a great choice of cereal, toast, croissants and fruit. Stanislav did offer
a cooked breakfast but we declined.
Our rooms each had a door opening out onto a verandah with a lovely view of the Tasman bridge. We had a walk before breakfast each morning - nice houses and gardens looking towards the water in the area. The location of the B & B is ideal for touring Tasmania with easy access onto the West Derwent Highway and easier exit off - just immediately past the fruit shop on the left as you start to go up on a left hand bend. There is a small sign - when you leave the highway it is next right into Lowelly Road and it is on the right. We toured much of Tasmania in the five days and didn't have the feeling of back tracking. My friend particularly liked Richmond an easy half hour drive away. Enjoy!


acooked breakfast but we declined..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briand2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed at Orana House for two nights in December 2007 in the River View Room. The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable with an ensuite. There was a TV, tea and coffee facilities and a beautiful bay window that looks over the river.

The breakfast (included in the tariff) was also superb and the breakfast room had a lovely atmosphere. Cereal and toast was provided as well as a fully cooked meal and home made yogurt!

The hosts were friendly and we struck up a conversation with another travelling couple in the relaxing lounge at the B&B.

Compared to other B&B's and hotels in Hobart, Orana house was very reasonably priced, especially considering the standard of the accommodation.

  • Liked — the breakfast and the bay window
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Beltana Hotel-Motel
#2 of 2 in Lindisfarne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
3.0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Lowelly Rd, Lindisfarne, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Lindisfarne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orana Hotel Heritage
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast Lindisfarne, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing