We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee on Eastern Shore”
Review of The Aproneers - CLOSED

The Aproneers
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a group of like minded locals who all have one thing in common: a love for real food. This love comes from the ethos of living to eat, not eating to live. Real food to us is made by people who respect the produce they use, while understanding the true impact they make. We are always open to ideas, suggestion and discussion so feel free to have a chat with us when in store!
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Love the great choice of salads, breads & especially the coffee. Love the bigger area for seating.
The staff are all very friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TassieAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aproneers, Manager at The Aproneers, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Hi Tassie Aussie

Thanks for your review! We've just added an extra ten tables, so now there is even more room for our customers!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Aproneers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Last sunday my husband walked in to check if there was a table available for us. A few minutes later none of the 5 staff even looked at him. I understand that sundays for breakfast are the most busiest time but not excuse for the lack of first contact. Even thou we still wanted to try the breakfast there ( we would love to support our local cafe) so this sunday we called them and we've made a booking with one hour in advance. Again when we walked in, this time with 2 young kids, no acknowledgement from the staff till we asked about our booking and guess what they forgot it and apart from the plane sorry no one tried to sort the problem and it seemed to be a lack of care factor. I occasionally go to the shop to buy coffee or a snack on weekdays but i would not return. Call me old fashion but the first impression and customer service is very important.

1  Thank ccbaubr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aproneers, Manager at The Aproneers, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear ccbaubr

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns.
We certainly appreciate any feedback, both positive and negative as it allows us the focus on areas we are doing well in and those we need to improve. We certainly apologise for the delay in acknowledging you and the inconvenience caused to yourself and your family.

As you noted, Sundays are our busiest day, and although staff members try to acknowledge everyone that enters the store as soon as possible, occasionally with the sheer volume of people in the store it is difficult to do so. Customers with a booking, or after a table, usually wait by the door until floor staff can attend to them. Unfortunately, if it is an unusually busy day like the last two Sundays, service may not be immediate as we would like it to be.

We have addressed this issue with the duty supervisor for the day with whom you spoke. The supervisor was going to resolve the issue and find a table for you, but was informed not to as you left the store.

We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about this incident. It would be greatly appreciated if you would be kind enough to please phone the store on 62434 720 or email info@aproneers.com.

Many thanks,
The Aproneers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have now been to Aproneers on different once for a Dinner , then on another occasion for Breakfast. The dinner was for my wine and food club and it was a great even with a degustation menu. The highlight of which was Pork Belly, but it was a hard decision as all other course were great. I recently had breakfast with a group of friend's , and the food was again good , the menu offered a wide range and very reasonable priced.
My only small negative comment , was even though we had booked, the staff had to reorganise tables to make up our table, but this was not a great deal, just something that could have been done with planning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank winedrinker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aproneers, Manager at The Aproneers, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear winedrinker45

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Pork Belly for the Beef & Burgundy degustation evening! Here’s a little hint… keep an eye on our future brunch menus!

We would like to take this opportunity to explain the table organization of the day. We have limited seating in the café and we try to accommodate all guests who wish to dine with us. Reservation signs are put out on the tables at least one hour prior to a reservation to indicate that the table needs to be vacated by the stated time.

The floor staff also inform guests who sit at a reserved table that they must vacate the table 5 -10 minutes before the booking. If it is not feasible for them to order and eat within that timeframe, we will not offer a reserved table as an option. If our floor manager does decide that there is ample time for guests to sit at a reserved table before the time of the booking, they will be informed to vacate the table 5-10 minutes prior to the reserved time.

That being said, when some guests are enjoying the company of friends they loose track of time and stay over the allocated timeslot, despite being gently reminded by our team members that the table is booked.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to yourself and your group and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast!

Thanks again for visiting us and we hope to see you in-store soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

What a wait for such mediocre coffee. I waited forever for service which apparently serving someone was a real pain for the girl who was just too busy for me. I waited for over 10 mins while 2 young men chatted away having a great laugh making my flat white & chai. The coffee is rubbish. I though with the amount of effort that has been spent on displays and local produce would mean they were serious about good coffee. Apparently not.

I found the service the most arrogant in lindisfarne. It's sad when I had a better coffee and better service experience in Banjos.

Won't be coming back - will definitely never recommend.

Cafés are supposed to be about the customers experience. Not about pretentious service and crap coffee. Good luck in the future, you're really gonna need it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paddy710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aproneers, Manager at The Aproneers, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Paddy710

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We encourage both positive and negative feedback in order for The Aproneers to continue to grow and succeed. We are very disappointed to hear about your recent unfavorable review of our store, as quality coffee, friendly and efficient service, great food and a positive experience is what we strive for all of our customers to experience at The Aproneers.

It is very disappointing that you did not enjoy our coffee. We use the award winning Villino Synergy blend, a consistent quality product which regularly receives glowing compliments. Our baristas are also all trained by this company, so it is very unusual for our customers to not enjoy this usually great product.

In regards to your review, it is difficult to pinpoint when you were in the store and why you received slow service. If there were two baristas on the coffee machine, we must assume it was on a Saturday or Sunday during our peak busy period. We regularly serve between 80- 120 brunches per day on the weekends, which may explain why the service staff were slow to take your order.

Each coffee made takes approximately one minute to prepare and serve, grinding the coffee, pouring the shot and stretching the milk is a time consuming process. Depending on the number of orders placed in the queue, there often is five to ten minute wait during the peak trade periods with dine in orders and takeaway orders.

Again, we are sorry that you have not had a pleasant experience with us. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with you in more detail. If you have the time, please email the store on info@aproneers.com.au or phone 63434 720. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Regards,
The Aproneers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went for a quick look and coffee and thoroughly enjoyed the great coffee and food options available. I like the food miles option and sustainable thinking behind the products well done

Thank SNTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aproneers, Manager at The Aproneers, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We're please that you enjoyed the coffee- we use award winning Villino Synergy blend, a Tasmanian owned and operated company, which is available to take home also! Our rating system allows us to rate all of the products we bring into the store based on food miles, packaging, the business type and the ingredients used in order for us to assess whether it meets our criteria of real + sustainable + food. Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aproneers also viewed

Lindisfarne, Clarence
 
Lindisfarne, Clarence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing