We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced room, nice restaurant...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced room, nice restaurant...”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the restaurant area and the food was really nice and creative. The menu was quite different to a lot of places I have been lately and would easily go back for the food. Unfortunately we went on Sunday and it shut at 3pm.

However, we also stayed a night upstairs. While the room was comfortable enough it was nothing special. Outside our window was a nice view of the ducting system, which can't always be helped but still impacts on the overall experience. The room was quite old and tired looking so hopefully, if they rake in a bit more cash, some renovations can be made.

It is easy for early morning airport journeys and not far from Hobart. We payed $100 for one night, in my opinion this is over-priced for what you get in return for your money. I would only stay again for one night and for no more than $70.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBonChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had been to the Beltana Hotel before and it was a little run down, but the owners have spent some big bucks and given the hotel and dining area a huge face lift.
The dining area is really nice, with good views out over the river and the Tasman Bridge. The roof in part of the dining can even be opened weather permitting.
We were quite impressed with the menu and the wait staff were really on the ball and gave the place an "I want to come back feel".

The food was really good and a reasonable helping and good value for the money.

The only negative thing was that we found it quite noisy, but it was packed full, so I guess you couldn't expect too much else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington Peninsula
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Last minute decision to call in on a Friday night....all tables were reserved however Leigh managed to find us a table for 2 anyway
Menu really out of the norm in what you generally find in a hotel
Great choices and even though they were working to capacity wait from order to table was not too long

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A step or 2 up from a pub meal, the Beltana has been beautifully renovated.

With a lovely view of the river and Tasman Bridge, it's a nice spot to sit and enjoy lunch. With solid food, friendly service and a good wine list it's well worth a visit.

The drawback was the weirdly designed menu. First off, it doesn't look like a menu - brown paper folded up on the table. 3 people walked in to have a look at the menu whilst I was there and no-one figured where/what it was. Took the waitress to rush over and show an unfolded one.

Might be a groovy menu doing it that way, but just seems a little non-intuitive (that's my word for "stupid").

And the way the menu was set out means it was rather hard to follow. So "non-intuitive" (!) in fact, that the waitress had to explain it to me. And I'm very, very smart (just ask me).

Aside from that, nice food, friendly service (thanks Moira) and good view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Yesterday I had one of the best lunches I've had for a while and I've been having some pretty good one.

What was different was that it was DIFFERENT. Imaginative menu catering for any taste. Generous but not huge serves. Why hotels feel they have to turn us into gourmands rather than gourmets I don't know.

We started with the freshly baked bread with both garlic and black truffle butter - I could have dined on that alone!

We then shared two small serves on a Board. That is a lovely Board of tapas size serves. We had the Ocean with some of the best salmon and calamari I have ever had. The prawns though were a bit of a disappointment - they had that frozen taste some times found in prawns. Our other Board was one with Middle Eastern dips - really interesting and while I'm sure those of Middle Eastern descent may not have totally appreciate the mixture we certainly did.

And to end Bombe Alaska - makes me want to go to Alaska. Yummy.

I really want to go back and try more from the unusual, both in presentation and variety, menu

If you are in Hobart do yourself a favour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somewhere O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a find........fantastic food, great, friendly service, but don't forget to make a booking, it is very popular. Cannot wait to go back to Tasmania to have another wonderful meal here. Try the "Ocean Board".......beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamorousthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We dined here shortly after the renovations were completed, and were very disappointed in the food, service and lack of value for money. Now, months later, we revisited and were not disappointed. The service was attentive but not fawning, the food was excellent. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,216 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
1.1 mi away
City View Motel
City View Motel
#1 of 1 in Montagu Bay
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltana Hotel-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltana Hotel-Motel

Property: Beltana Hotel-Motel
Address: 160 East Derwent Hwy, Lindisfarne, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Lindisfarne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beltana Hotel-Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beltana Hotel-Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltana Hotel-Motel Lindisfarne, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing