We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Above Usual Hotel Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A step or 2 up from a pub meal, the Beltana has been beautifully renovated.

With a lovely view of the river and Tasman Bridge, it's a nice spot to sit and enjoy lunch. With solid food, friendly service and a good wine list it's well worth a visit.

The drawback was the weirdly designed menu. First off, it doesn't look like a menu - brown paper folded up on the table. 3 people walked in to have a look at the menu whilst I was there and no-one figured where/what it was. Took the waitress to rush over and show an unfolded one.

Might be a groovy menu doing it that way, but just seems a little non-intuitive (that's my word for "stupid").

And the way the menu was set out means it was rather hard to follow. So "non-intuitive" (!) in fact, that the waitress had to explain it to me. And I'm very, very smart (just ask me).

Aside from that, nice food, friendly service (thanks Moira) and good view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Yesterday I had one of the best lunches I've had for a while and I've been having some pretty good one.

What was different was that it was DIFFERENT. Imaginative menu catering for any taste. Generous but not huge serves. Why hotels feel they have to turn us into gourmands rather than gourmets I don't know.

We started with the freshly baked bread with both garlic and black truffle butter - I could have dined on that alone!

We then shared two small serves on a Board. That is a lovely Board of tapas size serves. We had the Ocean with some of the best salmon and calamari I have ever had. The prawns though were a bit of a disappointment - they had that frozen taste some times found in prawns. Our other Board was one with Middle Eastern dips - really interesting and while I'm sure those of Middle Eastern descent may not have totally appreciate the mixture we certainly did.

And to end Bombe Alaska - makes me want to go to Alaska. Yummy.

I really want to go back and try more from the unusual, both in presentation and variety, menu

If you are in Hobart do yourself a favour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somewhere O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a find........fantastic food, great, friendly service, but don't forget to make a booking, it is very popular. Cannot wait to go back to Tasmania to have another wonderful meal here. Try the "Ocean Board".......beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamorousthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We dined here shortly after the renovations were completed, and were very disappointed in the food, service and lack of value for money. Now, months later, we revisited and were not disappointed. The service was attentive but not fawning, the food was excellent. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

As locals we were very pleased to see the Beltana undergo extensive renovations and weren't disappointed when we dined there recently. Fabulous decor and views of the Derwent river, a sophisticated menu and wine list, and friendly attentive staff will ensure we will return very soon. No hesitation in recommending this establishment, but book in advance for weekends as word is spreading and it took a couple of attempts for us to secure a table for a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Beltana Hotel has been renovated and they have instilled a new restaurant,
and Fab chefs. We had an all time best evening here on New Years eve.
View of the bridge lit up in all its glory, fireworks.
Staff that were as attentive as any serious restaurant in Hobart.
Recommended
Solid

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is a great place to have a meal and just relax. The meals are of a high standard and very well priced. One can also have a flutter on the gambling machines or keno. The complex also has a bottle shop at the rear next to the carpark.
If you want a great well priced meal and drinks this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
City View Motel
City View Motel
#1 of 1 in Montagu Bay
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tower Motel
Tower Motel
#45 of 47 in Hobart
118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Mornington Hobart
2.3 mi away
Waterfront Lodge Motel
Waterfront Lodge Motel
#41 of 55 in Hobart
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltana Hotel-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltana Hotel-Motel

Address: 160 East Derwent Hwy, Lindisfarne, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Lindisfarne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Price Range: $66 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beltana Hotel-Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beltana Hotel, a modern venue that provides breathtaking views of Hobart's iconic Mount Wellington and Derwent River. Beltana Hotel has served as a historical part of Lindisfarne's entertainment history and continues with that today. Offering a cutting edge Sports Bar, a feast of sporting information for any fan, a private Gaming Room and our award winning restaurant filling the gap in the Eastern Shore market for good food, good wine and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beltana Hotel-Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltana Hotel-Motel Lindisfarne, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing