We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel with peaceful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel ARA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwijndrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Ludvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Hotel with peaceful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with very beautiful surroundings and direct access to paved bicycle road. The rooms are quite big and comfortable, but lack of air-con makes them very warm in summer time. The door to the corridor lacks any kind of insulation so one gets easily disturbed in the room by people in the corridor.
Good restaurant with very good food, but a bit on the pricey side.
Very nice gym, sauna and pool facilities.
Internet is available for 120 minutes for free but has some limitations, vouchers for better Internet is available to purchase at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    167
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
245
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent hotel. Fantastic breakfast. Eat outside when the weather is good. Cycles available for hire with miles of cycle paths straight from the hotel door. We stayed in the junior suite which was huge with a nice seating area. It even had a nespresso machine with a box full of coffee capsules.
Friendly, extremely helpful staff.
Free wifi for 120 minutes a day. Dordrecht is a lovely old town. You can take the waterbus from Zwijndrecht ( 5 min by car) to go there or change in Dordrecht on the waterbus to Rotterdam, Kinderdijk ( the windmills), Biesbos ( national park with beavers) etc
The only minus point is that the A/C cannot cope and the room can become very hot. The balcony on the riverside is continuous, so we did not feel comfortable leaving the doors open at night.

Room Tip: Always choose a room on the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during my business stay in the area, and found it very comfortable. There were big and modern rooms with very spacious batrooms. The big size bed was really nice, and the view from the panoramic windows was to a park in front of the hotel. There you could also see the barges and ships passing through in the close by canal. The breakfast was served in a nice and modern restaurant, and I did not miss anything. The staff was friendly, and I recommend this hotel for anyone in need of comfort, space, silence and a good night sleep :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dag-Morten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located a bit from everything, but close enough to Dordrecht to be useful for business visits. Rooms are spacious and nice, restaurant reasonably good.
In summer the rooms are hot, as there is no A/C. The people in the reception are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of July after a long ferry journey. We were pleasantly greeted by friendly and helpful staff and had a very pleasant nights stay.
Our room was large, clean and very comfortable.
The hotel offers a good range of free toileteries and we had an excellent light meal and drinks out on the terrace.
We enjoyed a walk along the river next to the hotel and would have taken advantage of the bike rental available on site if we had stayed longer.
The swimming pool and sauna were very clean and quiet just right for an early morning dip! The location for us was perfect for a one night stay but I could imagine that if you were staying for longer you may find it a little out of the way.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the car park which would find but requesting a riverside room would give a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floozysooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
228 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a car so chose to stay initially due to the hotel having a free car park on site, but it turned out to be a slice of luxury! Loved the friendly staff, excellent layout of everything, the swimming pool which was heated just right, the sauna, the huge breakfast, the super comfy beds, the luxurious room and bathroom, the lift to the room, and the view of the river from the spacious balcony. Can't say enough about this great place. We liked it so much we booked an extra night.

The location was far from the city centre but that was not a problem as we had a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was in a beautiful setting (quite remote but we were on a cycling trip & it was perfect for that), the rooms were lovely with huge bathrooms, all the public rooms were nice, we had a lovely dinner & breakfast, the staff were friendly & helpful and accommodating of our late night games in the bar – everything was perfect (except our bar bill – we perhaps should have drunk less  ) - & all for a very reasonable price

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have river view, its great to watch the traffic on the water, but you can also do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGeddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwijndrecht
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
4.1 mi away
Van der Valk Ridderkerk
Van der Valk Ridderkerk
#1 of 1 in Ridderkerk
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
7.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
4.5 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
7.6 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel ARA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel ARA

Property: Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Address: Veerweg 10, 3336 LM Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Zwijndrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwijndrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel ARA 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ARA is a hidden treasure along the Oude Maas. It's a surprising location with a unique and fantastic aspect in a green environment and still only a 10 minutes trip from Dordrecht and Rotterdam. In all its diversity ARA offers you the perfect accommodation. Hotel ARA has more than 80 spacious hotel rooms available, of which 6 are splendid suites, all arranged very comfortably. 29 rooms have a magnificent view of the Oude Maas. For relaxation we offer you a large indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun bed and fitness area. You can make excellent trips close by on one of our rental bikes or jog kilometres along the many paths following the river or through the countryside. Next to the hotel there is a large parking lot with 240 free parking spaces. With its cosy appearance Hotel ARA's restaurant is the sparkling centre of the hotel. Our menu offers a large selection of dishes. We work according to traditional methods with each day fresh products. For groups of up to 35 people we have a 3 course menu with 5 selections of entrees and main courses. For the warmer months of the year we have available a very spacious patio with a stunning view of the Oude Maas. During good weather, lunch is always on the patio! Hotel ARA is located very centrally in nature at only 7 minutes from the A16. It is very accessible form Rotterdam (14 km), the Rotterdam-Den Haag airport (28 km), Dordrecht (9 km), and Breda (33 km). Hotel ARA is the ideal location for meetings, company events, parties, dinners, teambuilding sessions and trainings. No matter what your goal is, you can set it up in one of our 8 meeting spaces varying from 40 m2 up to 340 m2. Our largest hall has its own patio and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel ARA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Zwijndrecht
Van Der Valk Hotel ARA Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing