We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilze
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Holland for my partners 30th birthday. We stayed in a beautiful luxury superior room which had a jacuzzi hot tub, it was excellent value for money and the food in the restaurant although slightly pricey worth every euro! The hotel was very full on our first night and unfortunately I hardly slept walls must be very thin because I heard everything going on in the room next door starting at 2am until 5am. I would have reported this to reception to get moved but the walk to reception in the dark outside put me off! The second night we slept really well with no interference from any neighbours, regardless to the lack of sleep on the first night we will stay again and will hope for quiet neighbours!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrown0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    73
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
77
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

we booked the "efteling arrangement" which combines a stay at the hotel, with tickets to the amusement park "de efteling".
it is a nice hotel. although it is big, you don't feel "lost". We enjoyed the pool: deep pool for adults = good for swimming "lanes". Undeep pool fit for kids +6 and a little puddle pool for the small ones. we did not use the wellness, but we could see they had a lot to offer: group lessons of gym, sauna, jacuzzi, fitness... Breakfast was amazing: fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, all kinds of eggs, breads, yoghurt, cereals... We have a lovely, big room with terrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stay here a lot as it is close to the office in the Netherlands. The hotel was a bit tired but the newly renovated rooms are much better. For this business trip I stayed in the wing with the 'Superior Rooms'. Really comfortable and spacious with great bed and quiet too always important when you have to work. Only disadvantage is that if it rains there is a walk to the restaurant and bar in the main building. Others reviewers have written and I agree that the restaurant is very good though if you are there for a few days take a short drive to Breda the centre around the market square offers some great restaurants in a pretty setting. All in all though a nice hotel with friendly staff at a reasonable price plus the ability to make coffee in the room, not always available in European hotels but something I really appreciate after a long drive. I would be happy to take my wife there which is high praise:)

Room Tip: I personally think if you are traveling with your partner the superior room is worth the extra to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

stayed here for one night in a standard economy room. Room was very large, bathroom dated but adequate and spotless. Eventhough Hotel situated very close to major highway, nothing could be heard either in hotel or room. Staff was friendly and polite as always. Breakfast buffet was very good with a variety of choices. Will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miekesAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
313 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed on two different extended stays, four years apart. I would return again. We had the same room on both visits. Just happened that way. No advanced reservation was necessary. It felt so familiar. The room was in the original building on the second floor, a short walk to the cocktail lounge. The restaurant is outstanding, although better on the first trip. A large menu choice for lunch and dinner. Afternoon tea, in the sun room. Breakfast buffet is the best throughout the Netherlands. Welcomeing Christmas tree in the Main lobby and helpful, friendly, attentive staff, throughout the location. Ginger cookies on trays throughout the hotel. Prices are average during Christmas time. Just a great place. Can't wait to go back, again. Guests staying in the main building don't pay to use pool, spa, gym etc. Only draw back, no porter service to your car with luggage.

Room Tip: The main building is the original hotel. Rooms are older, spacious, clean, comfortable and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, in a superiour room with a wellness bath. It was on the top floor, so had a nice big balcony. There are 2 buildings, and we stayed in the one that didnt have the restaurant, bar, reception. So we had to walk a bit to get there. Enough parking spaces close to which ever room you are in. The bar closed a bit early and the hotel is not very close to nightlife; you would have to take a cab. Everything was clean and the beds were good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The rooms are a bit tired and decorated 60s style. They may even date back to then! But the room was well appointed and large and had a separate bath and shower. No air conditioning and no windows. The only possible ventilation was the door leading out to the balcony. But the balcony was a shared walk way so was not secure. Good breakfast and nice staff and very convenient for the air base.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzywac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilze
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Ibis Tilburg
#4 of 8 in Tilburg
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge Du Bonheur
#2 of 8 in Tilburg
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
#3 of 8 in Tilburg
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg
Address: Klein Zwitserland 8, 5126 TA Gilze, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Gilze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg, given its central location (near Tilburg and Breda), facilities and large capacity, is considered as the leading hotel in the Midden-Brabant region. For both the business oriented guest, as well as the leisure guests, the hotel offers everything for a comfortable and memorable stay. In addition to a choice out of 210 affordable rooms, suites and hotel apartments, the hotel offers a wellness / fintness center, hotel casino and an excellent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing