We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place - fantastic food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a place - fantastic food!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I stopped by for lunch, after visiting the Bijagua de Upala. It's only 5 km away.

The meal was fantastic, and very affordable. One of the best we had in Costa Rica.

It's such a beautiful location, away from the crowds. The hotel is beautiful - we really wish we were able to spend more time there. We really appreciate that they take an environmentally friendly approach to the hotel. The next time we visit, we will definitely book a few nights here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    105
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
197
295
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burlington vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a pleasant time. Beautiful location, inventive food and private jungle trails. However, what really capped it off was the relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff. Joel, the owner, was an exceedingly charming and interesting host. We spend more than 100 days a year in hotels all over the world, and this was one of my favorite stays in many years. Thanks to all at Celeste.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dayvmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenden, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Celeste Mountain Lodge was a surprise and a delight! A beautiful site and such nice people!! The location is remote, while also easily accessible from Bijagua. It was cloudy but not rainy while we were there -- cloud foresty, for sure. The accommodations are open, airy and environmentally friendly, exactly what we were looking for. And the food is, honestly, just incredible! So different and delicious. Plus we loved the big tables where we met other guests from all over the world. We'd made reservations for two nights but stayed three. Memorable day trips to the national park, Bijagua, Cano Negro. And each evening full of nice, incredibly interesting people and really, really good food. I'd go back right now if I could!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent two nights at the lodge at the end of our trip, staying with our 8 year old and older teenagers. The lodge is set in beautiful tropical gardens with uninterrupted views of the forests and volcanos. All of the bedrooms share these great views, with floor to ceiling windows. The rooms were fairly basic, but clean and tidy. The lodge was possibly not quite as smart as the website suggested, but perfectly suited to the setting.
The living dining areas of the lodge are very cool, with long canteen style tables and an open plan kitchen. There are also sofa areas and a bar looking out across the forest. The hotel was very quiet during our stay, but all the guests chatted with each other and it would be a good choice for single travellers.
The food was one of the highlights of our stay. Interesting and delicious! Our packed lunch was wrapped in banana leaves, which the kids thought was great!
The area is very quiet, being a few miles drive from the nearest small town. It probably wouldn't suit those looking for nightlife! The kids enjoyed the small pool inside the building.
We would recommend the night hike from the hotel and all loved seeing the bright green and blue tree frogs in the hotel's pond! We also had a great day tubing on the Rio Frio and horse riding to the Tenorio National Park, where we walked with the Guide Winston up to the waterfall and blue lagoon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size with the same views, set out on a row. We didn't hear any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

All hotels have unique qualities, but the Celeste Mountain Lodge is loaded with them. It is located right in the volcanic area in an unspoiled part of a beautiful country, away from the hordes of tourists at Manual Antonio and the Guanacaste beaches. Daytime and nighttime temperatures are very comfortable, so air conditioning is not necessary. What makes the Celeste Mountain Lodge particularly attractive to many guests is its construction from ecofriendly and totally recycled material. Joel, the owner, is helpful, friendly and attentive. The food is excellent; everyone eats together from whatever has been prepared that day (but special dietary needs can be accommodated).

I find, however, some disadvantages. First, the road up to the hotel is atrocious, filled with stones and potholes -- one certainly needs a four-wheel drive vehicle. Second, while the rooms have a beautiful view overlooking volcanoes, there are no chairs in the room, nor do the rooms have balconies. If you want to read a book and not lie on your bed, you have to go to a common area, where there is very uncomfortable seating available, I found. Thirdly, Joel requests that you only consume drinks you have purchased from the bar of the hotel, but this bar is very poorly stocked. A minor point -- I guess he has recycled what look like old fire-escape stairs that are used to go up and down, but they are very noisy. And there is no swimming pool, but there is a Jacuzzi.

So you decide what is more important with the Celeste Mountain Lodge -- the advantages or the disadvantages.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Celeste Mountain Lodge, a relaxed and very friendly place with outstanding food, amazing views, fantastic birding and hiking. Joel is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. We liked the eco-friendly approach to tourism and the contemporary architecture. Hiking the 2km long private rainforest trail is a treat. The lodge is ideally located to explore the whole area including the beautiful Tenorio National Park and the charming little village of Bijagua. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Celeste Mountain Lodge is a great place to re-connect with nature (and dis-connect from your laptop and phone!). The hotel is in perfect symbiosis with the environment, the food absolutely amazing (viva the Chef!) and Joel a great host. We did several treks, all recommended by Joel who perfectly understands the need of his guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
3.2 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
786 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,311 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
735 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celeste Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celeste Mountain Lodge

Property: Celeste Mountain Lodge
Address: Access Road To Nat'l Park Tenorio / Rio Celeste | 4 kms east of Bijagua, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celeste Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celeste Mountain Lodge is a responsible tourism establishment, located in Bijagua de Upala, the door to the Volcano Tenorio National Park and its amazing Rio Celeste (Blue River). An authentic rural area, of great natural beauty, with lots of forest and lots to do, yet so accessible! Celeste Mountain Lodge is unique for its concept and profound sustainable philosophy, its innovations, its details and original decoration, comtemporary architecture in minimalist style integrated in the environment. Surrounded by primary rainforest and hosting its own trail, you will be impressed by its fauna and flora, excellent birdwatching, impressive views onto 2 volcanoes, own own Cuisine fusion and our friendly service, casual, warm and efficient. Share a vision of the world and tourism with ethics, refined simplicity, personality, peace and nature in an unforgettable place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celeste Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celeste Mountain Hotel Bijagua De Upala
Celeste Mountain Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing