We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE TO RELAX”
Review of Tenorio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenorio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is just awesome, the architecture is beatiful. We were greeted by a pleasant young man who showed us around, then one of the owners welcomed us with delicious drinks. The bungalows are design with a perfect view of the volcano, the rooms are clean and very french, everything here breaths peace and rest. I would love to spend more time but we could not, I highly recommend this place and is close to the aguas celestes which if you come to Costa Rica and do not see that you missed the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VICKI0869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had stayed at Tenorio Lodge two and a half years ago, and decided to return for a couple of nights as part of our three week trip this summer. It can sometimes be a mistake to go back to somewhere you really liked, but we found Tenorio Lodge to be as wonderful as it had been the first time. The bungalows are beautiful, very well designed with lots of light and space,and very clean and comfortable. Franck and Christine made us very welcome and took time to point out some of the many birds that are attracted to the lovely gardens and feeding station on the deck outside the restaurant The little town of Biajua is just a five minute drive away, and Tenorio and Miravalles Volcanoes are easily accessible from the lodge. The recently formed Tenorio National Park is the place to go to see the amazing Rio Celeste, but there are lots of other attractions locally..

Room Tip: Our room was on the lwer level with great views of Tenorio Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robnalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautifully situated for views of the Tenorio volcano from our room this Lodge is under the very watchful eye and personal supervision of the French owner. It is also well situated for excursions to the many local attractions as well as having its own self-guided trails from which we gained excellent views of a Sloth and a troupe of Howler Monkeys together with many birds. Our own excursion was to El Cagno Negro and this boat trip takes you through the most amazing natural reserve, with Boat Billed Herons; Cayman; Emerald Basilisks and too much wild life to name.

Room Tip: Choose a 'chalet' on the front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room could have been a
little cooler and had better cross ventilation, although it was spacious and very nicely kept. The owners and staff were very nice. The grounds are delightful. Food was average. Location is good for hiking, etc. in the Tenorio Volcano area.

Room Tip: We were in room 8. I understand that the recently built rooms (Numbers greater than 8) have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on our tour through Costa Rica. There were 7 of us and we all agreed it was the best accommodation on the trip and wished we had another night here before moving on!

The lodge is perfectly located on a hillside in the heart of the rainforest. Very inviting -when we arrived we were met with a welcome drink and the lovely french owner Christine.

The rooms were beautiful, modern and clean - your own individual cabin with huge glass windows with amazing views and sounds of the rainforest surrounding you. Bathroom was very spacious too and i thought the private window in the shower was a nice touch!

The main lodge housed the restaurant and verandah, which was perfect for a relaxing drink, with a lovely cool breeze in the evening!

A good breakfast with a bit of a bird show as they have bird tables on the balcony which many beautiful birds visit.

A wonderful stay, would highly recommend to everyone!




  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AneesaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Little did we realize what an international experience it would be at Tenoria Lodge. The owners are French so not only was I able to speak Spanish with the staff I was able to dust off a bit of French too.

The lodge is small and you get very personalized attention from Christine, the owner, as well as her staff. For primarily English speakers Carlos was a great help. The overall feeling of the place is low key and relaxed with service provided with a genuine smile.

We had the best homemade toasted bread for breakfast served with two delicious fruit butters: peach and banana. After being served bread with a fruit plate the staff then cooked us a breakfast of our choice. We are vegetarians and dinner was a collection of veggies, rice, potatoes, and cheese. One night we had a very tasty garbanzo bean dish. We had bought a bottle of wine in town and there was no problem asking Carlos to open it for us for dinner.

The grounds are gorgeous complete with a Jacuzzi. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a great mountain breeze at night. This is important as there are no ceiling fans. Each room does come with a stand up tower fan.

The Tenoria Lodge is also at a great location. It is right off the main road through the area. To get to some of the other lodges area you need to drive on dirt/rocky roads that make for difficult traveling to and from.

Room Tip: Easy to find and right off the main road. All rooms are separate bungalows and easy to access. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A non-fussy but very attractive lodging. Rooms have little in them save a comfortable bed and a great view of the volcano (plus your own private greenery) through huge windows.

The staff and owners are very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was fine. Dinner was okay but others had suggested we go into Bijagua to dine -- prices better and more variety. We were only there one night, so can't comment on the alternative.

It is about 3 Km to turn-off to the park, and then there's a rather rough road to negotiate to get to the walk. The staff at the Lodge arranged for us to be picked up by a shuttle that spared us the ordeal of driving a non 4-wheel drive and risking the tires/axel, undercarriage, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
2.9 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
714 reviews
6 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
831 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
552 reviews
12.6 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
788 reviews
22 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenorio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenorio Lodge

Address: Camino del retiro, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: $169 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenorio Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Tenorio and Miravalles volcanoes at an altitude of 1,640 ft, each one of our 12 bungalows has an exceptional view towards the Tenorio volcano. Rooms are spacious, elegant, and perfectly set out for your greatest comfort. Built on our 17 acres property, in the middle of Heliconias gardens, of fruit trees and tropical vegetation surrounding two natural ponds, the Lodge was designed to offer its guests quietness, relaxation, and serenity. In this peaceful environment, along our trails, you will observe hundreds of birds, learn about native trees or take a dip in one of our two red cedar hot tubs. Among the activities we suggest, you should visit the heart of the Tenorio Volcano's National Park, the "Rio Celeste", well known for its astonishing and enchanting turquoise-blue colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tenorio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenorio Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing