We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of La Carolina Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bijagua de Upala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Carolina Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a special place this is. Such a treat. A picturesque working farm and a wonderful cultural experience. The non english staff couldn't have been more welcoming and attentive. It's truly amazing to watch these ladies master the meals on their wood burning stove. Pretty much everything was prepared fresh. Most of the food came from this farm or the neighboring farms. YUMM!
Rustic cabins are clean & cozy. Beds are comfy w/netting. The hiking opportunities are abundant both on the farm and a short drive away, giving plenty of opportunity to observe birds, colorful frogs, tyras, coatis, kinkajous, sloths, monkeys........... Then there's the farm animals... What a pleasure to see such well cared for, robust, horses and cattle.
As the sun goes down (early), the candle girls arrive and light the candles @ the cabins, along the paths, in the dining area, around the hot tub. Everywhere. Perfect!
The clever wood burning hot tub is a wonderful way to close out an active day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gngc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

The drive to La Carolina alone was magnificent!! Pulling up to the hacienda, I could see I was in for a special few days and I was very correct.. Although we could barely understand each other, the staff was so kind and helpful-the cabin I stayed in was right down by the river and was so gorgeous-when they light up the pathways with candles at night, it is just magical. I went horseback riding twice and at one point our group came upon an injured falcon in the grass-Alejandro gathered it up and brought it back to the lodge to strengthen it up before another guest drove it back to San Jose for care-that is just one beautiful memory I was lucky enough to be a part of at this special, special place..Also-they have a great lake on property and a paddle boat for some great bird watching!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogwalker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was a blast,very hard to get there, you need a 4 by 4,but once you there you love it! is PURA VIDA!!!!! the cabin by the river is the bast,everything is nature and fresh the food was the bast nothing fancy but delicious we was there for 2 days I hope to go back for four, that will do. I just hope the road will b better.

Room Tip: the honeymooner cabana close to the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lusantos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

La Carolina Lodge brings you back to the days when Costa Rica was pura vida! The staff is like family, the food cooked on a wood burning stove and fresh squeezed juices are a party for your taste buds! The gardens overflow with colorful flowers and green pastures keep the horses healthy and strong. Stay overnight and hit the magical rio celeste waterfall at 8AM after a hearty Tico breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaujm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We wish that we had more time here! We spent two nights. After coming from the hot Guanacaste coast the shady jungle and lush pastures were delightful. I was a little wary at the drive on the bumpy road and as it was our first experience with Costa Rica rural dirt roads and we went very slowly after the turn off in Bijagua. But on arriving at La Carolina lodge I experienced a kind of peace that I had not experienced in a really long time. I don't know really where to begin, as our stay there was completely wonderful. We had the "honeymoon cabin" with the private hot tub and hammock on the porch looking out over the crystal stream. The bed was very comfortable--we used the mosquito net, though it probably wasn't necessary, it was very romantic. At night the candles are lit on the path ways and on our porch. Gorgeous.
We enjoyed every bit of our meals and the company of the other guests. One of our lunches when we were the only guests seemed a little less than the previous day--which was too bad because we were very hungry after our hike at Rio Celeste. While eating meals we watched pretty little colorful birds eating at fruit that was put out for them. Seemingly on cue, a pair of Toucans appeared. We went horseback riding both days with Alejandro--who was an excellent guide and horseman. The ride was stunning through the pastures among the grazing horses and beautiful cattle and we came across howler monkeys. You could tell that a lot of care had been taken with the ranch animals. We also had Alejandro guide us on the hike to Rio Celeste which was great. We loved the informality, and enjoyed the calm and slow pace. This was certainly a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fidel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at La Carolina Lodge. We were here 8 years ago and it has grown more beautiful and the meals are more varied. They actually have a pastry chef come in every day to prepare delicious desserts! We rode horses when we felt like it; the horses are wonderfully trained using gentle methods; when they aren't being ridden they get to roam through lots of pasture with plently of grass. This contributes to their being relaxed and reliable. They don't have that pent-up energy you see in a lot of American horses who don't get enough freedom. The pasture land all around is just naturally stuffing. Within the lodge acreage the landscaping is beautifully done. The staff there really have it together and make you feel welcome. We traveled husband, wife (me) and our daughter in her 20's. There is a lot to do in the area. We didn't fish but understand the fishing is exceptional. The LaCarolina website doesn't do it justice. I understand they will post a new website this year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really didn't know where to go. My friend suggested La Carolina Lodge, a little bit of magic. Bill and Karien make you feel like your one of the family. The waterfall, the horseback riding, the staff, the hot tub, the food all make this magic. Their two kids are just a treat. If you want to do something they will get it done. I can't imagine going back to Costa Rica without stopping by to say hello.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tmac1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
3.1 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
813 reviews
3.3 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
98 reviews
23.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carolina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carolina Lodge

Address: San Miguel | Bijagua, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Carolina Hotel Province Of Guanacaste
Hotel La Carolina
La Carolina Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing