We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Celeste Mountain Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tenorio Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casitas Tenorio B&B(Bijagua de Upala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sueno Celeste B&B(Bijagua de Upala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Verde Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cataratas Bijagua Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Volcanes(Bijagua de Upala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
85
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrio celestelovely familypublic busfresh breadthe ownernational parkother gueststhe riverhosteldormitoryfrogshammockssupermarketgardenbijaguakmtranquil
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 94 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

I was staying for 2 nights and it was great! The Hostel is directly in Front of the Bus stop Bijagua so when You travel by bus you dont have to walk more than 10m to the hostel. The dormitory was clean and comfortable. The Family runs the hostel for 5 years now and they are really Nice and personal. I Loved to Chat with them in the evening. The kitchen is very big and really clean but it has no oven... But whatever you need is there. Although it doesn't say it in the description we had bread and jam free for breakfast which is enough for me... I Loved the stay At the Hostel and really enjoyed the trips to the Nacional Park and the Río Celeste. There is also a Place where You Can swim in the River outside the national park. Just ask they will Show You the way.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank philine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Director Comercial at Rio Celeste Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear Philine,

We hope you are well.

Many thanks for taking your time for write us.

We are glad that you staying in our house was wonderfull.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

If you want to find the best place to stay when you decide to visit Rio Celeste and the Tenorio National Park, that's the perfect solution!!!!
You will be warmly welcome by the most beautiful and friendly costarican family I ever met, from the abuela to the grand son...everyone will make your stay unforgettable! Professional and sincere, they helped me from the booking to the end of my stay...and more!
I easily booked through WhatsApp, no credit card requested...they trust you and you trust them from the beginning! I got there on my own, by bus from Liberia, I love travel with Ticos on public bus, everyone loves to share their life with yours!
I booked a bed in a 8 beds dorm, which was superclean like the 2 common bathrooms, one of them with HOT WATER shower! something rare to find if you travel around Costa Rica.
I was also very lucky with the other guests that shares my dorm...Spanish, Swizterland, Germans, ...everyone with the same PURA VIDA way of travelling! We had a lot of fun, during the evenings, having dinner all together in the patio, with hammocks, really nice atmosphear! Moreover, the Fauna and Flora of the garden in Rio Celeste Backpackers is something unique...I saw different species of Frogs, hummingbirds, squirrels, Monkeys.......Even without leaving the Hostal it seems to be already in a national park! Then, the morning I decided to visit Rio Celeste and the Owner took us by his car for a really reasonable price both way, the 9 km of street that lead to the park, wich by the way I will describe in another review, because it's so amazing that I will need another 10000 words to describe it!
I'm still in touch with the Family by whatsApp, they are so nice, they are unique, like Rio Celeste!
I definitely recomend you to stay in Rio Celeste Backpacker to find la Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claudia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Front Office Manager at Rio Celeste Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Hi Gina,

I hope you are well.

Many thanks for your comment, we are glad that you really enjoyed your vacations in our hostel.

We hope that you coming again.

Take Care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

What a great homey experience my friend and I had with this family. The dorms were super clean and they were really informative and accommodating. Their home is beautiful. It was really nice to be able to fall asleep to the nighttime rain. We met a really awesome new friend who we ended up traveling together for the next few days!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veganitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Director Comercial at Rio Celeste Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Dear guest, thank you for visit us and for your review. We are so glad that you stayed in our house was amazing. We hope that you come back. Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016

I felt like staying with a family, not like being in a hostel. I got welcomed with a coffee, and even if they couldn`t speak english at all, they were very patient and interested. The house is clean, i could use the kitchen, was invited to eat with them, in the morning they provided a small breakfast..and they helped me with going to Rio Celeste and my further travel plans. It was a really lovely stay...i would definitely recommend to go there!

Yo me he sentido como estar con una familia no es como un hostal normal. La familia es muy amable, ayudable y hospitable! La casa es muy limpia y fue possible para usar su cocina. Ellos me invitaron para un almuerzo y me ayudaron mucho con todos! yo solo puedo recommiendar pasar su tiempo alli y hacer una experiencia muy buena!
Muchas Gracias y muchos saludos de Alemannia!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Verena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Director Comercial at Rio Celeste Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016
Google Translation

Hola Verena, para nosotros fue un placer tenerla en nuestro hostel, esperamos haya disfrutado bastante y ojala puedas volver a visitarnos! Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2016

I stayed 2 nights with a friend to visit Rio Celeste. We slept in the 8 bed dorm, I can recommend booking by phone, so it is cheaper than using Hostelworld, Airbnb or other pages. We paid 15 dollar per night and breakfast was already included. Everything is clean, the hosts are very friendly and even offered coffee in the afternoon and a little tour in the garden to show us the animals (frogs, birds,..). The best thing was that they helped us to find a different place to go than Rio Celeste as the park was closed because it had rained a lot. Altough we did not see Rio Celeste, we had a wonderful time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabofe97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Director Comercial at Rio Celeste Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Guest, Greetings from Bijagua, We are very thankful for the time you took to give us your opinion. We are glad to hear your stay here was a good experience! We hope that you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews